The National Institute for Genealogical Studies

LEADERS IN ONLINE GENEALOGY EDUCATION

The National Institute for Genealogical Studies - LEADERS IN ONLINE GENEALOGY EDUCATION

Keeping in Touch – March 2021

Do you have a question about your courses or your research? Communication is so important in genealogy in order to keep abreast of constantly evolving information. The same is true within The National Institute for Genealogical Studies. As a student of The National Institute, there are various ways you can communicate with us and your fellow students (see below).

We want all of our students to enjoy their learning experience. Please do not worry or fret over your courses by yourself. We are here to help you!

**** NOTE: Our social media accounts are NOT monitored regularly. If you need an answer quickly, please do the old-fashion thing, pick up the phone. We can be reached at 1-800-580-0165, ext. #1 (North America) or 416-861-0165. Please leave a message if no one answers. We will call back.

#1 By email to The National Institute 
**** NOTE: When contacting us, please INCLUDE your FIRST & LAST NAME, and the full COURSE TITLE including the COUNTRY, if it is a records course. It is also helpful if you include the module number and section title you are referring to. ****
i) admin@genealogicalstudies.com –  for general questions;
ii) alert@genealogicalstudies.com – to advise us of broken links in your course materials and assignments–Please GIVE SPECIFIC DETAILS; i.e., provide the COURSE NAME, MODULE NUMBER, WEBSITE NAME, and URL;
iii) exam@genealogicalstudies.com – questions pertaining to your course exam.

#2 By email to a fellow student 
When you view a fellow student’s public assignment SUBMISSION/ANSWER and you would like to contact them about something in their posting, simply click on the envelope icon to the right of the student’s name. A new window will open where you can type your message. For privacy reasons, you will not see the recipient’s email address and they have the option to reply or not.

#3 Attend a Virtual Meeting 
VIRTUAL MEETINGS ARE THE BEST PLACE TO COMMUNICATE with an instructor and fellow students. Anyone can participate! You do not have to be registered in the course to attend. When attending virtual meetings, please bring questions applicable to the topic being discussed.

Watch for our emails outlining upcoming virtual meetings dates and times. Or visit our website at www.genealogicalstudies.com, click on Information in the top menu bar, and then Virtual Learning Room for the full schedule.

#4 Follow The National Institute’s Blog 
Go to http://blog.genealogicalstudies.com/ and scroll down. On the right-hand side of the page, you will see Subscribe to Blog via Email. In the text box, enter your email address and click on the Subscribe button. Once subscribed, you will receive an email each time we post an article. Each blog article includes a link to write a comment or share via social media. Look for these options at the end of each blog post.

#5 Follow us on Twitter 
Once signed into your Twitter account, search for us on Twitter by our Twitter name @GeneaStudies. On our Twitter page, click on the Follow button to subscribe to our tweets. Not a member of Twitter? No problem, just go to Twitter www.twitter.com and join. Membership is free.

#6 Follow The National Institute on Facebook 
To follow us on Facebook, you must be a member. To join Facebook, go to www.facebook.com and sign up. Find us on Facebook at www.facebook.com/geneastudies and click on the Like button on the top right of our page.

#7 Follow us on Pinterest 
To follow us on Pinterest, you must be a member. To join Pinterest, go to www.pinterest.ca and sign up. Find us on Pinterest at www.pinterest.ca/GeneaStudies/boards/. Click on the Follow button to view our various boards.

#8 Join a GenealogyWise group to communicate with your fellow students 
Go to www.genealogywise.com/ and Sign Up. There are groups set up for each of The National Institute’s country streams; i.e., American, Australian, Canadian, Eastern European, English, German, Irish, Italian, and Scottish, as well as Methodology, DNA, Librarianship, Alumni, and First Timer FAQs.

#9 Follow GenealogyWise on Facebook 
To follow us on Facebook, you must be a member. To join Facebook, go to www.facebook.com and sign up. Find us on Facebook at www.facebook.com/GenealogyWise and click on the Like button on the top right of our page.

#10 Follow GenealogyWise on Twitter 
Once signed into your Twitter account, search for GenealogyWise on Twitter by our Twitter name @GenealogyWise. On our Twitter page, click on the Follow button to subscribe to our tweets. Not a member of Twitter? No problem, just go to Twitter www.twitter.com and join. Membership is free.

#11 Consultation with an instructor ($) 
If you want to have a one-on-one consultation with an instructor, this can be arranged. Please email admin@genealogicalstudies.com to request an appointment. When emailing, please provide some information as to what course and some background details you would like to discuss so we can recommend a consultation with an appropriate instructor. The consultation with an instructor is available for a modest fee.

#11 Join your fellow students in the STUDENT LOUNGE Virtual Meeting 
We have made a Virtual Meeting room available to our students once a month.
Pop into the “Student Lounge” for a genealogy coffee break and talk family history with your fellow students. The time is yours to chat, ask questions, or just listen.

Watch for our emails outlining upcoming virtual meetings dates and times. Or visit our website at www.genealogicalstudies.com, click on Information in the top menu bar, and then Virtual Learning Room for the full schedule.

Good luck with your studies and research!

Sincerely,
Sue de Groot, PLCGS
National Institute for Genealogical Studies
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
This message is especially for our students at The National Institute for Genealogical Studies, leaders in genealogy education since 1997.
—————————————————-
Visit our website for a complete list of online courses offered by The National Institute for Genealogical Studies. Check our Course Calendar here.
Follow us on Social Media: BlogFacebookTwitter, Pinterest.
*Note: Please be aware our social media accounts are monitored regularly, but NOT 24/7. If you have any questions, please contact the office directly.

Contact information:
1 (800) 580-0165
Email: admin@GenealogicalStudies.com
Website: www.GenealogicalStudies.com
Blog: blog.GenealogicalStudies.com

LEADERS IN ONLINE GENEALOGY EDUCATION

October Virtual Meetings

Have questions about your courses or your research? Virtual Meetings are a way for you to communicate with an instructor. These meetings are NOT mandatory, but a fun & interactive way to ask questions about courses/research. 

NOTE: No user name or password required. Please type in your first and last name; then click “Enter as a Guest”.  

Image courtesy of arztsamui at FreeDigitalPhotos.net

Below are the September scheduled sessions. Join us!

Wednesday, October 16th – Analysis and Skills Mentoring Program – GENERAL with Gena Philibert-Ortega
Time zones:
Wednesday, October 16th – 10:00 AM Eastern; 9:00 AM Central; 7:00 AM Pacific; 3:00 PM in London, England;
Thursday, October 17th – 1:00 AM in Sydney, Australia
MEETING LOCATION: http://genealogicalstudies.adobeconnect.com/asgeneral/

Wednesday, October 16th – Internet Tools with Gena Philibert-Ortega
Time zones:
Wednesday, October 16th – 11:30 AM Eastern; 10:30 AM Central; 8:30 AM Pacific; 4:30 PM in London, England;
Thursday, October 17th – 2:30 AM in Sydney, Australia
MEETING LOCATION: http://genealogicalstudies.adobeconnect.com/internettools/

Wednesday, October 16th – American courses with Gena Philibert-Ortega
Time zones:
Wednesday, October 16th – 1:30 PM Eastern; 12:30 PM Central; 10:30 AM Pacific; 6:30 PM in London, England;
Thursday, October 17th – 4:30 AM in Sydney, Australia
MEETING LOCATION: http://genealogicalstudies.adobeconnect.com/american/

Thursday, October 17th – Analysis and Skills Mentoring Program-Part 3 – ARTICLE REVIEW with Gena Philibert-Ortega
Time zones:
Thursday, October 17th – 1:30 PM Eastern; 12:30 PM Central; 10:30 AM Pacific; 6:30 PM in London, England;
Friday, October 18th – 4:30 AM in Sydney, Australia
MEETING LOCATION: http://genealogicalstudies.adobeconnect.com/asarticle3/

Thursday, October 17th – Methodology courses with Gena Philibert-Ortega
Time zones:
Thursday, October 17th – 3:00 PM Eastern; 2:00 PM Central; Noon Pacific; 8:00 PM in London, England;
Friday, October 18th – 6:00 AM in Sydney, Australia
MEETING LOCATION: http://genealogicalstudies.adobeconnect.com/methodology/

Thursday, October 17th – STUDENT LOUNGE
Time zones:
Thursday, October 17th – 5:00 PM Eastern; 4:00 PM Central; 2:00 PM Pacific; 10:00 PM in London, England;
Friday, October 18th – 8:00 AM in Sydney, Australia
MEETING LOCATION: http://genealogicalstudies.adobeconnect.com/lounge/

Saturday, October 19th – Professional Development courses with Gena Philibert-Ortega
Time zones:
Saturday, October 19th – 11:00 AM Eastern; 10:00 AM Central; 8:00 AM Pacific; 4:00 PM in London, England;
Sunday, October 20th – 1:00 AM in Sydney, Australia
MEETING LOCATION: http://genealogicalstudies.adobeconnect.com/professional/

Friday, October 25th – English courses with Brenda Wheeler
Time zones:
Friday, October 25th – 6:00 PM Eastern; 5:00 PM Central; 3:00 PM Pacific; 11:00 PM in London, England;
Saturday, October 26th – 9:00 AM in Sydney, Australia
MEETING LOCATION: http://genealogicalstudies.adobeconnect.com/english/

Friday, October 25th – Methodology courses with Brenda Wheeler
Note: This Virtual Meeting is for the convenience of our Australasia students; however, everyone is welcome.
Time zones:
Friday, October 25th – 7:30 PM Eastern; 6:30 PM Central; 4:30 PM Pacific;
Saturday, October 26th – 12:30 AM in London, England; 10:30 AM in Sydney, Australia
MEETING LOCATION: http://genealogicalstudies.adobeconnect.com/methodology/

Saturday, October 26th – Canadian courses with Cheryl Levy
Time zones:
Saturday, October 26th – 10:00 AM Eastern; 9:00 AM Central; 7:00 AM Pacific; 3:00 PM in London, England;
Sunday, October 27th – 1:00 AM in Sydney, Australia
MEETING LOCATION: http://genealogicalstudies.adobeconnect.com/canadian/ 

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Calendar of Virtual Meetings is at www.genealogicalstudies.com; top menu > INFORMATION > VIRTUAL LEARNING ROOM.             

If you have not attended a Virtual Meeting before, read the Instructions at www.genealogicalstudies.com/instructions.pdf.           

September Virtual Meetings

Have questions about your courses or your research? Virtual Meetings are a way for you to communicate with an instructor. These meetings are NOT mandatory, but a fun & interactive way to ask questions about courses/research. 

NOTE: No user name or password required. Please type in your first and last name; then click “Enter as a Guest”.  

Month by arztsamui/Courtesy of Freedigitalphotos.net

Below are the September scheduled sessions. Join us!

Thursday, September 12th – Canadian courses with Cheryl Levy    

Time zones:      

Thursday, September 12th – 7:00 PM Eastern; 6:00 PM Central; 4:00 PM Pacific;                

Friday, September 13th – Midnight in London, England; 9:00 AM in Sydney, Australia             

MEETING LOCATION: http://genealogicalstudies.adobeconnect.com/canadian/

 

Saturday, September 14th – Analysis and Skills Mentoring Program – GENERAL with Gena Philibert-Ortega            

Time zones:    

Saturday, September 14th – 10:00 AM Eastern; 9:00 AM Central; 7:00 AM Pacific; 3:00 PM in London, England;            

Sunday, September 15th – Midnight in Sydney, Australia     

MEETING LOCATION: http://genealogicalstudies.adobeconnect.com/asgeneral/    

 

Saturday, September 14th – Internet Tools with Gena Philibert-Ortega                         

Time zones:                     

Saturday, September 14th – 11:30 AM Eastern; 10:30 AM Central; 8:30 AM Pacific; 4:30 PM in London, England;                      

Sunday, September 15th – 1:30 AM in Sydney, Australia               

MEETING LOCATION: http://genealogicalstudies.adobeconnect.com/internettools/        

 

Sunday, September 15th – DNA courses with Shannon Combs Bennett    

Time zones:      

Sunday, September 15th – 7:00 PM Eastern; 6:00 PM Central; 4:00 PM Pacific;                

Monday, September 16th – Midnight in London, England; 9:00 AM in Sydney, Australia             

MEETING LOCATION: http://genealogicalstudies.adobeconnect.com/DNA/

 

Sunday, September 15th – English courses with Brenda Wheeler                

Time zones:           

Sunday, September 15th – 9:00 PM Eastern; 8:00 PM Central; 6:00 PM Pacific;          

Monday, September 16th – 2:00 AM in London, England; 11:00 AM in Sydney, Australia             

MEETING LOCATION: http://genealogicalstudies.adobeconnect.com/english/     

 

Sunday, September 15th – Methodology courses with Brenda Wheeler         

Note: This Virtual Meeting is for the convenience of our Australasia students; however, everyone is welcome.           

Time zones:             

Sunday, September 15th – 11:00 PM Eastern; 10:00 PM Central; 8:00 PM Pacific;      

Monday, September 16th – 4:00 AM in London, England; 1:00 PM in Sydney, Australia                         

MEETING LOCATION: http://genealogicalstudies.adobeconnect.com/methodology/          

 

Tuesday, September 17th – Scottish courses with Sheena Tait    

Time zones:      

Tuesday, September 17th – 3:00 PM Eastern; 2:00 PM Central; Noon Pacific; 8:00 PM in London, England;

Wednesday, September 18th – 5:00 AM in Sydney, Australia             

MEETING LOCATION: http://genealogicalstudies.adobeconnect.com/scottish/

 

Wednesday, September 18th – Irish courses with Brenda Wheeler    

Time zones:      

Wednesday, September 18th – 8:00 AM Eastern; 7:00 AM Central; 5:00 AM Pacific; 1:00 PM in London, England; 10:00 PM in Sydney, Australia             

MEETING LOCATION: http://genealogicalstudies.adobeconnect.com/irish/

 

Thursday, September 19th – Analysis and Skills Mentoring Program-Part 2 – ARTICLE REVIEW with Brenda Wheeler          

Time zones:            

Thursday, September 19th – 8:00 AM Eastern; 7:00 AM Central; 5:00 AM Pacific; 1:00 PM in London, England; 10:00 PM in Sydney, Australia             

MEETING LOCATION: http://genealogicalstudies.adobeconnect.com/asarticle2/

 

Thursday, September 19th – Analysis and Skills Mentoring Program-Part 1 – ARTICLE REVIEW with Gena Philibert-Ortega          

Time zones:            

Thursday, September 19th – 6:30 PM Eastern; 5:30 PM Central; 3:30 PM Pacific; 11:30 PM in London, England;                           

Friday, September 20th – 8:30 AM in Sydney, Australia             

MEETING LOCATION: http://genealogicalstudies.adobeconnect.com/asarticle1/

 

Sunday, September 22nd – American courses with Gena Philibert-Ortega                

Time zones:           

Sunday, September 22nd – 6:00 PM Eastern; 5:00 PM Central; 3:00 PM Pacific; 11:00 PM in London, England;                

Monday, September 23rd – 8:00 AM in Sydney, Australia            

MEETING LOCATION: http://genealogicalstudies.adobeconnect.com/american/

 

Sunday, September 22nd – Methodology courses with Gena Philibert-Ortega             

Time zones:              

Sunday, September 22nd – 7:30 PM Eastern; 6:30 PM Central; 4:30 PM Pacific;                            

Monday, September 23rd – 12:30 AM in London, England; 9:30 AM in Sydney, Australia                 

MEETING LOCATION: http://genealogicalstudies.adobeconnect.com/methodology/        

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Calendar of Virtual Meetings is at www.genealogicalstudies.com; top menu > INFORMATION > VIRTUAL LEARNING ROOM.             

If you have not attended a Virtual Meeting before, read the Instructions at www.genealogicalstudies.com/instructions.pdf.           

 

%d bloggers like this: