The National Institute for Genealogical Studies

LEADERS IN ONLINE GENEALOGY EDUCATION

The National Institute for Genealogical Studies - LEADERS IN ONLINE GENEALOGY EDUCATION

Research Using Internet Tools

The National Institute for Genealogical Studies offers comprehensive online education to enhance your genealogical knowledge and provide skill building research techniques. Whether you are just starting your family research, or you are interested in pursuing one of our Certificates in Genealogical Studies programs, you will need to learn the basics of navigating the Internet environment. These courses go beyond genealogical methodology or basic computer skills as they lay the foundation for successful online research. They are a must for every family historian.
Three Basic Courses

Google for the Wise Genealogist 
This course explores Google programs and how they can be used to research family history. Google is the best non-genealogy, genealogy website there is!

Social Media Tools for Genealogists 
By using social media tools, you can connect with researchers worldwide, find distant relations, curate content, and share your research. This course provides you with just some of the tools you will need to help you take advantage of various websites and demonstrates how social media is all about sharing, education, mobility and yes, networking.

Connecting Family Online & Virtually
Computers and the Internet have revolutionized the way families communicate. This course highlights specific ways to use your computer and the Internet to build and strengthen family ties while conducting your family research. By exploring various topics, participants will discover ways to find long lost cousins and stay in touch with distant relatives.

Monthly Virtual Meetings

Our Monthly Virtual Meetings are a way for students and guests to communicate with the National Institute for Genealogical Studies’ instructors in a fun and interactive way and provides a place to ask questions about courses and/or research. Whether you are curious, or even if you have already completed all three of courses, these meetings provide valuable tips and suggestions for finding and using online resources to assist us in our research. The current schedule will list all of the upcoming virtual meetings. These sessions are FREE and you do not have to be a current or past student to attend. Attendees do not need a User Name or a Password. Just type in your first and last name, along with your geographic location; then click “Enter as a Guest” to access the meeting room.

For more information about courses and events, check back to our blog and watch for social media posts on Facebook and Twitter.

Visit our website for a complete list of online courses offered by the National Institute for Genealogical Studies.

Contact information:
1 (800) 580-0165
www.GenealogicalStudies.com
blog.GenealogicalStudies.com
admin@GenealogicalStudies.com

Student Lounge Bonus Sessions

We are once again opening our National Institute for Genealogical Studies Student Lounge this week for discussion. Please see below for the Pop-up session topics and times.

During your time spent in the Student Lounge, we ask that you PLEASE KEEP THE DISCUSSION ABOUT GENEALOGY AND THE ONLINE COURSES ONLY. We are all dealing with enough stress. This is a time to enjoy your family history, courses, and learn genealogy from others.
Gena Philibert-Ortega and/or Sue de Groot will be monitoring the Student Lounge during the scheduled hours and will be inactive as they still have work to do. As time permits in the workday, Gena or Sue may pop into the Virtual Learning Room to answer questions and give a small presentation.

Please join us in the Student Lounge at https://adobe.ly/39vDrLo. When signing in, select “Enter as a Guest” and enter your first name along with your geographical location.

The Student Lounge Bonus sessions schedule is as follows:
Tuesday, April 14th
Time zones: Eastern – 9 AM to 6 PM; Central – 8 AM to 5 PM; Mountain – 7 AM to 4 PM; Pacific – 6 AM to 3 PM; London, England – 2 PM to 11 PM; Sydney, Australia – 11 PM to 8 AM on Wednesday, April 15th

Wednesday, April 15th
Time zones: Eastern – 9 AM to 6 PM; Central – 8 AM to 5 PM; Mountain – 7 AM to 4 PM; Pacific – 6 AM to 3 PM; London, England – 2 PM to 11 PM; Sydney, Australia – 11 PM to 8 AM on Thursday, April 16th

Thursday, April 16th
Time zones: Eastern – 9 AM to 4:30 PM; Central – 8 AM to 3:30 PM; Mountain – 7 AM to 2:30 PM; Pacific – 6 AM to 1:30 PM; London, England – 2 PM to 9:30 PM; Sydney, Australia – 11 PM to 6:30 AM on Friday, April 17th

Pop-Up Session Topics:
Finding Images To Tell The Story of Your Ancestor’s Lives with Gena Philibert-Ortega
Tuesday, April 14th – Time zones: Eastern: 2 PM; Central: 1 PM; Mountain: Noon; Pacific: 11 AM; London, England: 7 PM; Wednesday, April 15th – Sydney, AU: 4 AM.

Transcribing … Basics with Sue de Groot
Wednesday, April 15th – Time zones: Eastern: 2 PM; Central: 1 PM; Mountain: Noon; Pacific: 11 AM; London, England: 7 PM; Thursday, April 16th – Sydney, AU: 4 AM

Finding Your Genealogy in Digitized Books with Gena Philibert-Ortega
Thursday, April 16th – Time zones: Eastern: 2 PM; Central: 1 PM; Mountain: Noon; Pacific: 11 AM; London, England: 7 PM; Friday, April 17th – Sydney, AU: 4 AM

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
We hope to see you in the Student Lounge. And, please keep yourself and your family safe — follow the recommendations of your country’s government.
Happy Researching!

Note: Facebook Event here 

See complete list of Virtual Meetings here.

April Virtual Meetings

Our Monthly Virtual Meetings are a way for students and guests to communicate with the National Institute for Genealogical Studies’ instructors in a fun and interactive way and provides a place to ask questions about courses and/or research. These sessions are FREE and you do not have to be a current or past student to attend.

Attendees: NO USER NAME or PASSWORD REQUIRED. Please type in your first and last name, along with your geographic location; then click “Enter as a Guest” April Virtual Meetings

Thursday, April 16th – Australian Virtual Meeting with Kerry Farmer
Time zones – Eastern: 5 AM; Central: 4 AM; Mountain: 3 AM; Pacific: 2 AM; London, England: 10 AM; Sydney, Australia: 7 PM.
MEETING LOCATION:
https://genealogicalstudies.adobeconnect.com/australian/

Saturday, April 18th – Canadian Virtual Meeting with Cheryl Levy
Time zones – Eastern: 10 AM; Central: 9 AM; Mountain: 8 AM; Pacific: 7 AM; London, England: 3 PM; Sunday, April 19th – Sydney, Australia: Midnight.
MEETING LOCATION:
https://genealogicalstudies.adobeconnect.com/canadian/

Tuesday, April 21st – Methodology Virtual Meeting with Gena Philibert-Ortega
Time zones: – Eastern: 2:30 PM; Central: 1:30 PM; Mountain: 12:30 PM; Pacific: 11:30 AM; London, England: 7:30 PM; Wednesday, April 22nd – Sydney, Australia: 4:30 AM.
MEETING LOCATION:
https://genealogicalstudies.adobeconnect.com/methodology/

Tuesday, April 21st – Analysis & Skills Mentoring Program-Part 3 – ARTICLE REVIEW with Gena Philibert-Ortega
Time zones: – Eastern: 4 PM; Central: 3 PM; Mountain: 2 PM; Pacific: 1 PM; London, England: 9 PM; Wednesday, April 22nd – Sydney, Australia: 6 AM.
MEETING LOCATION:
https://genealogicalstudies.adobeconnect.com/asarticle3/

Wednesday, April 22nd – STUDENT LOUNGE 
Time zones – Eastern: 10 AM; Central: 9 AM; Mountain: 8 AM; Pacific: 7 AM; London, England: 3 PM; Thursday, April 23rd – Sydney, Australia: Midnight.
MEETING LOCATION:
https://genealogicalstudies.adobeconnect.com/lounge/

Wednesday, April 22nd – American Virtual Meeting with Gena Philibert-Ortega
Time zones – Eastern: 1 PM; Central: Noon; Mountain: 11 AM; Pacific: 10 AM; London, England: 6 PM; Thursday, April 23rd – Sydney, Australia: 3 AM.
MEETING LOCATION:
https://genealogicalstudies.adobeconnect.com/american/

Wednesday, April 22nd – Internet Tools Virtual Meeting with Gena Philibert-Ortega
Time zones: – Eastern: 2:30 PM; Central: 1:30 PM; Mountain: 12:30 PM; Pacific: 11:30 AM; London, England: 7:30 PM; Thursday, April 23rd – Sydney, Australia: 4:30 AM.
MEETING LOCATION:
https://genealogicalstudies.adobeconnect.com/internettools/

Saturday, April 25th – Analysis & Skills Mentoring Program – GENERAL with Gena Philibert-Ortega
Time zones – Eastern: 10 AM; Central: 9 AM; Mountain: 8 AM; Pacific: 7 AM; London, England: 3 PM; Sunday, April 26th – Sydney, Australia: Midnight.
MEETING LOCATION:
https://genealogicalstudies.adobeconnect.com/asgeneral/

Sunday, April 26th – English Virtual Meeting with Brenda Wheeler
Time zones – Eastern: 8 PM; Central: 7 PM; Mountain: 6 PM; Pacific: 5 PM; Monday, April 27th – London, England: 1 AM; Sydney, Australia: 10 AM.
MEETING LOCATION:
https://genealogicalstudies.adobeconnect.com/english/

Monday, April 27thMethodology Virtual Meeting with Brenda Wheeler
Time zones – Eastern: 5 AM; Central: 4 AM; Mountain: 3 AM; Pacific: 2 AM; London, England: 10 AM; Sydney, Australia: 7 PM.
MEETING LOCATION:
https://genealogicalstudies.adobeconnect.com/methodology/ 

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Calendar of Virtual Meetings is at www.genealogicalstudies.com;
Read the Instructions at www.genealogicalstudies.com/instructions.pdf.

Student Lounge Open Again This Week

We are opening our National Institute for Genealogical Studies Student Lounge again this week and again we will be having a discussion each day the Student Lounge is open … please see below for the topics, descriptions, and dates/times.

During your time spent in the Student Lounge, we ask that you PLEASE KEEP THE DISCUSSION ABOUT GENEALOGY AND THE ONLINE COURSES ONLY. We are all dealing with enough stress. This is a time to enjoy your family history, courses, and learn genealogy from others.

Gena Philibert-Ortega and/or Sue de Groot will be monitoring the Student Lounge during the scheduled hours and will be inactive as they still have work to do. As time permits in the workday, Gena or Sue may pop into the Virtual Learning Room to answer questions or even give a small presentation.

Please join us in the Student Lounge at https://adobe.ly/39vDrLo. When signing in, select “Enter as a Guest” and enter your first name along with your geographical location.

The Student Lounge schedule is as follows:
Tuesday, April 7th
Time zones: Eastern – 9 AM to 6 PM; Central – 8 AM to 5 PM; Mountain – 7 AM to 4 PM; Pacific – 6 AM to 3 PM; London, England – 2 PM to 11 PM; Sydney, Australia – 11 PM to 8 AM on Wednesday, April 8th

Wednesday, April 8th
Time zones: Eastern – 9 AM to 6 PM; Central – 8 AM to 5 PM; Mountain – 7 AM to 4 PM; Pacific – 6 AM to 3 PM; London, England – 2 PM to 11 PM; Sydney, Australia – 11 PM to 8 AM on Thursday, April 9th

Thursday, April 9th
Time zones: Eastern – 9 AM to 4:30 PM; Central – 8 AM to 3:30 PM; Mountain – 7 AM to 2:30 PM; Pacific – 6 AM to 1:30 PM; London, England – 2 PM to 8:30 PM; Sydney, Australia – 11 PM to 6:30 AM on Friday, April 10th

Pop-up Session Discussions this week will be as follows:
Tips for Navigating your Student Briefcase with Sue de Groot
Tuesday, April 7th – Time zones: Eastern 2 PM; Central 1 PM; Mountain Noon; Pacific 11 AM; London, England 7 PM; Sydney, AU on Wednesday, April 8th 4 AM

Mastering the FamilySearch Catalog with Gena Philibert-Ortega
Wednesday, April 8th – Time zones: Eastern 2 PM; Central 1 PM; Mountain Noon; Pacific 11 AM; London, England 7 PM; Sydney, AU on Thursday, April 9th 4:00 AM

Source Citations… Some Basics with Sue de Groot
Thursday, April 9th – Time zones: Eastern 2 PM; Central 1 PM; Mountain Noon; Pacific 11 AM; London, England 7 PM; Sydney, AU on Friday, April 10th 4:00 AM

We hope to see you in the Student Lounge. And, please keep yourself and your family safe — follow the recommendations of your country’s government. Happy Researching!

Note: Facebook Event here 

See complete list of Virtual Meetings here.

An Invitation to Our Student Lounge

We are all experiencing uncertain times and many of us are practicing social distancing and self-isolation. Many genealogists, as well as our students, are taking advantage of this extra time to work on family history and the National Institute’s online courses.

To help you at this time, we have decided to open our Student Lounge to a broader audience to give you the ability to communicate with those that have like-minded interests… family history and especially our National Institute’s courses. During your time spent in the Student Lounge, we ask that you PLEASE KEEP THE DISCUSSION ABOUT GENEALOGY AND THE ONLINE COURSES ONLY. We are all dealing with enough stress and do not want to add to it. This is a time to enjoy your family history, courses, and learn genealogy from others.

The sessions will be monitored during the Student Lounge hours. Please note that this is an opportunity for attendees to interact. As time permits, monitors will pop into the Virtual Learning Room to answer questions. There will be a Question of the Day posted to encourage conversation, PLUS note the information for a Special Discussion Session each day at 2 PM EDT.

Please join us in the Student Lounge. When signing in, select “Enter as a Guest” and enter your first name along with your geographical location. See you there!

Student Lounge hours for this week are:
Tuesday, March 31st
Time zones: Eastern – 9 AM to 6 PM; Central – 8 AM to 5 PM; Mountain – 7 AM to 4 PM; Pacific – 6 AM to 3 PM; London, England – 2 PM to 11 PM; Sydney, Australia – Midnight to 9 AM on Wednesday, April 1st

Wednesday, April 1st
Time zones: Eastern – 9 AM to 6 PM; Central – 8 AM to 5 PM; Mountain – 7 AM to 4 PM; Pacific – 6 AM to 3 PM; London, England – 2 PM to 11 PM; Sydney, Australia – Midnight to 9 AM on Thursday, April 2nd

Thursday, April 2nd
Time zones: Eastern – 9 AM to 4:30 PM; Central – 8 AM to 3:30 PM; Mountain – 7 AM to 2:30 PM; Pacific – 6 AM to 1:30 PM; London, England – 2 PM to 8:30 PM; Sydney, Australia – Midnight to 7:30 AM on Friday, April 3rd

Topics of Special Discussion Sessions:
Tips for Navigating your Student Briefcase with Sue de Groot 
Tuesday, March 31st – Time zones: Eastern – 2 PM; Central – 1 PM; Mountain – Noon; Pacific – 11 AM; London, England – 7 PM; Sydney, AU Wednesday, April 1st – 5 AM

Fun & Games with Sue & Gena
Wednesday, April 1st – Time zones: Eastern – 2 PM; Central – 1 PM; Mountain – Noon; Pacific – 11 AM; London, England – 7 PM; Sydney, AU Thursday, April 2nd – 5 AM

Methodology Tips with Gena Philbert-Ortega
Thursday, April 2nd – Time zones: Eastern – 2 PM; Central – 1 PM; Mountain – Noon; Pacific – 11 AM; London, England – 7 PM; Sydney, AU Friday, April 3rd – 5 AM

We hope you will join the discussion with our students. Please keep yourself and your family safe — follow the recommendations of your country’s government. Happy Researching!

Note: Facebook Event here 

See complete list of Virtual Meetings here.

Sunday’s Virtual Meetings

This is a reminder we have several virtual meetings scheduled for Sunday. Hope you can join us!

via Canva.com

You can enhance your learning experience by joining a virtual meeting regarding your studies and asking questions. Even if you don’t have questions you are welcome to just listen, lurk and learn! We don’t mind in the least.

Remember, these Virtual Meetings are NOT mandatory. They are a fun and interactive way to ask questions about the courses and/or research at a relevant session.

NOTE: Times given are Eastern Standard Time. To check the current time and date, Log In to your Student Briefcase and click on “Time at Home Office” near the top right of the page.

Sunday, November 17th – Scottish courses with Sheena Tait   
Time zones:
Sunday, November 17th – 2:00 PM Eastern; 1:00 PM Central; 11:00 AM Pacific; 7:00 PM in London, England;
Monday, November 18th – 6:00 AM in Sydney, Australia
MEETING LOCATION: http://genealogicalstudies.adobeconnect.com/scottish/

Sunday, November 17th – Analysis and Skills Mentoring Program-Part 2 – ARTICLE REVIEW with Brenda Wheeler           
Time zones:
Sunday, November 17th – 7:00 PM Eastern; 6:00 PM Central; 4:00 PM Pacific; Monday, November 18th – Midnight in London, England; 11:00 AM in Sydney, Australia
MEETING LOCATION: http://genealogicalstudies.adobeconnect.com/asarticle2/

Sunday, November 17th – Methodology courses with Brenda Wheeler
Note: This Virtual Meeting is for the convenience of our Australasia students; however, everyone is welcome.
Time zones:
Sunday, November 17th – 8:30 PM Eastern; 7:30 PM Central; 5:30 PM Pacific; Monday, November 18th – 1:30 AM in London, England; 12:30 PM in Sydney, Australia
MEETING LOCATION: http://genealogicalstudies.adobeconnect.com/methodology/

%d bloggers like this: