The National Institute for Genealogical Studies

LEADERS IN ONLINE GENEALOGY EDUCATION

The National Institute for Genealogical Studies - LEADERS IN ONLINE GENEALOGY EDUCATION

Virtual Meetings for January 22-27, 2018

Communicator Modern Electronic Device On Wood Background by blackzheep

Communicator Modern Electronic Device On Wood Background by blackzheep

We have the final virtual meetings for January 2018 scheduled for Thursday, Friday and Saturday. Hope you can join us.

You can enhance your learning experience by joining a virtual meeting regarding your studies and research. Even if you don’t have questions you are welcome to just listen, lurk and learn! We don’t mind in the least.
NOTE: Times given are Eastern Standard Time.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

On Thursday, January 25th at 1:00 PM EST Gena Philibert-Ortega will be hosting the Internet Tools virtual meeting. This session is appropriate for students registered in/working on the Connecting Family: Online and Virtually, Google for the Wise Genealogist, and Social Media Tools for the Wise Genealogist courses, although all are welcome.

Time zones:
Thursday, January 25th – 1:00 PM Eastern; Noon Central; 10:00 AM Pacific; 6:00 PM in London, England;
Friday, January 26th – 5:00 AM in Sydney, Australia

MEETING LOCATION: http://genealogicalstudies.adobeconnect.com/internettools/
(NOTE: No user name or password required. Please type in your first and last name; then click “Enter as a Guest”.)

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Then at 2:30 PM EST on Thursday, January 25th Gena Philibert-Ortega will host the American Records virtual meeting. Join Gena to ask her questions about these records courses and/or your research.

Time zones:
Thursday, January 25th – 2:30 PM Eastern; 1:30 PM Central; 11:30 AM Pacific; 7:30 PM in London, England;
Friday, January 26th – 6:30 AM in Sydney, Australia

MEETING LOCATION: http://genealogicalstudies.adobeconnect.com/american/
(NOTE: No user name or password required. Please type in your first and last name; then click “Enter as a Guest”.)

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

On Friday, January 26th at 5:00 PM EST Brenda Wheeler will host the Methodology virtual meeting. This session has been set up for the convenience of our students in Australia and New Zealand; however, all students are welcome to join in.

This Virtual Meeting is appropriate for ALL students no matter which country you are researching in. Join this session to ask questions about the courses or to discuss organizing, skill-building, strategies, effective searching and recording, proving it, transcribing, abstracting, extracting, copyright, and much more.

Time zones:
Friday, January 26th – 5:00 PM Eastern; 4:00 PM Central; 2:00 PM Pacific; 10:00 PM in London, England;
Saturday, January 27th – 9:00 AM in Sydney, Australia

MEETING LOCATION: http://genealogicalstudies.adobeconnect.com/methodology/
(NOTE: No user name or password required. Please type in your first and last name; then click “Enter as a Guest”.)

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

The last session for January is at 11:00 AM EST on Saturday, January 27th with Gena Philibert-Ortega hosting the Professional Development virtual meeting.
This Virtual Meeting is more appropriate for students registered in the Professional Development courses, although serious-minded genealogist and those considering starting their own genealogy business are welcome. Discussions at this virtual meeting will be at the advanced level.

Time zones:
Saturday, January 27th – 11:00 AM Eastern; 10:00 AM Central; 8:00 AM Pacific; 4:00 PM in London, England;
Sunday, January 28th – 3:00 AM in Sydney, Australia

MEETING LOCATION: http://genealogicalstudies.adobeconnect.com/professional/
(NOTE: No user name or password required. Please type in your first and last name; then click “Enter as a Guest”.)

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

LISTEN ON THE GO!
Want to listen to the student presentation but will not be at your computer? No problem! You can download the FREE Adobe Connect Mobile App from the iTunes App Store (for iPod/iPhone/iPad), from the Google Play Store (for Androids), or from Blackberry World (for Blackberry).

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

See the calendar of future Virtual Meetings sessions at www.genealogicalstudies.com; in the top menu choose INFORMATION and then VIRTUAL LEARNING ROOM in the drop-down menu.

If you have not attended a Virtual Meeting before, read the Instructions available at www.genealogicalstudies.com/instructions.pdf. If this URL does not open, please go to www.genealogicalstudies.com, click on Information in the top menu bar, and then Virtual Learning Room in the drop down menu. The link to the Instructions (in PDF format) will be at the top right of the page (you may need to scroll over to the right side of the page).

Leave a Reply