The National Institute for Genealogical Studies

LEADERS IN ONLINE GENEALOGY EDUCATION

The National Institute for Genealogical Studies - LEADERS IN ONLINE GENEALOGY EDUCATION

Virtual Meetings This Week

Image courtesy of jannoon028 at freedigitalphotos-net

Image courtesy of jannoon028 at freedigitalphotos-net

We have a few virtual meetings scheduled for this week. Hope you can join us!

You can enhance your learning experience by joining a virtual meeting regarding your studies and asking questions. Even if you don’t have questions you are welcome to just listen, lurk and learn! We don’t mind in the least.

NOTE: Times given are Eastern Standard Time.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Starting off the week is Gena Philibert-Ortega with the Analysis & Skills Mentoring-Part 1 ARTICLE REVIEW virtual meeting on Tuesday, January 16th at 10:00 AM EST.

This Virtual Meeting is more appropriate for students registered in this course. Please follow the directions found in your course material and read the article “Heritage Books and Family Lore: A Jackson Test in Missouri and Idaho” by Connie Lenzen (NGSQ Vol. 86, No. 1, March, 1998).

Time zones:
Tuesday, January 16th – 10:00 AM Eastern; 9:00 AM Central; 7:00 AM Pacific; 3:00 PM in London, England;
Wednesday, January 17th – 2:00 AM in Sydney, Australia

MEETING LOCATION: http://genealogicalstudies.adobeconnect.com/asarticle1/
(NOTE: No user name or password required. Please type in your first and last name; then click “Enter as a Guest”.)

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Next on Tuesday, January 16th at 11:30 AM EST Gena Philibert-Ortega will host the Analysis & Skills Mentoring-GENERAL virtual meeting.

This Virtual Meeting is appropriate for students registered in the Analysis and Skills Mentoring courses. Students registered in the Skills: Transcribing, Abstracting, Extracting, Skill-Building: Breaking Down Brick Walls, Skill-Building: Evidence Analysis and Evaluation Using Case Studies, and Skill-Building: Nuts & Bolts of Reporting are also welcome to join. Topics for discussion include course procedure, evidence analysis, Genealogical Proof Standard (GPS), citations, ethics, timelines, transcriptions, abstractions, extractions, proof summaries and more.

Time zones:
Tuesday, January 16th – 11:30 AM Eastern; 10:30 AM Central; 8:30 AM Pacific; 4:30 PM in London, England;
Wednesday, January 17th – 3:30 AM in Sydney, Australia

MEETING LOCATION: http://genealogicalstudies.adobeconnect.com/asgeneral/
(NOTE: No user name or password required. Please type in your first and last name; then click “Enter as a Guest”.)

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Then on Wednesday, January 17th at 5:00 PM EST Brenda Wheeler will host the English Records virtual meeting. Join Brenda to ask questions about the English records courses and/or your research.

Time zones:
Wednesday, January 17th – 5:00 PM Eastern; 4:00 PM Central; 2:00 PM Pacific; 10:00 PM in London, England;
Thursday, January 18th – 9:00 AM in Sydney, Australia

MEETING LOCATION: http://genealogicalstudies.adobeconnect.com/english/
(NOTE: No user name or password required. Please type in your first and last name; then click “Enter as a Guest”.)

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Gena Philibert-Ortega returns on Thursday, January 18th at 10:00 AM EST for the Methodology virtual meeting.

This Virtual Meeting is appropriate for ALL students no matter which country you are researching in. Join this session to ask questions about the courses or to discuss organizing, skill-building, strategies, effective searching and recording, proving it, transcribing, abstracting, extracting, copyright, and much more.

Time zones:
Thursday, January 18th – 10:00 AM Eastern; 9:00 AM Central; 7:00 AM Pacific; 3:00 PM in London, England;
Friday, January 19th – 2:00 AM in Sydney, Australia

MEETING LOCATION: http://genealogicalstudies.adobeconnect.com/methodology/
(NOTE: No user name or password required. Please type in your first and last name; then click “Enter as a Guest”.)

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

LISTEN ON THE GO!
Want to listen to the student presentation but will not be at your computer? No problem! You can download the FREE Adobe Connect Mobile App from the iTunes App Store (for iPod/iPhone/iPad), from the Google Play Store (for Androids), or from Blackberry World (for Blackberry).

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

See the calendar of future Virtual Meetings sessions at www.genealogicalstudies.com; in the top menu choose INFORMATION and then VIRTUAL LEARNING ROOM in the drop-down menu.

If you have not attended a Virtual Meeting before, read the Instructions available at www.genealogicalstudies.com/instructions.pdf. If this URL does not open, please go to www.genealogicalstudies.com, click on Information in the top menu bar, and then Virtual Learning Room in the drop down menu. The link to the Instructions (in PDF format) will be at the top right of the page (you may need to scroll over to the right side of the page).

Leave a Reply