The National Institute for Genealogical Studies

LEADERS IN ONLINE GENEALOGY EDUCATION

The National Institute for Genealogical Studies - LEADERS IN ONLINE GENEALOGY EDUCATION

January 2018 Virtual Meetings

Month by arztsamui/Courtesy of Freedigitalphotos.net

Happy New Year!!!… We hope everyone had an enjoyable holiday season. Now, it’s time to get back to studying and working on family history!

Do you have any questions about your courses or research? Join us for a virtual meeting applicable to your question. Even if you don’t have questions you are welcome to just listen, lurk and learn! We don’t mind in the least. Everyone is welcome to attend!

Below is the virtual meetings schedule for the month of January. Mark your calendars for sessions applicable to your area of studies or research.
NOTE: Times given are Eastern Standard Time.
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Saturday, January 13th at 11:00 AM EST – Canadian virtual meeting with Kathryn Lake Hogan

Time zones:
Saturday, January 13th – 11:00 AM Eastern; 10:00 AM Central; 8:00 AM Pacific; 4:00 PM in London, England;
Sunday, January 14th – 3:00 AM in Sydney, Australia

MEETING LOCATION: http://genealogicalstudies.adobeconnect.com/canadian/
(NOTE: No user name or password required. Please type in your first and last name; then click “Enter as a Guest”.)

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Tuesday, January 16th at 10:00 AM EST – Analysis & Skills Mentoring-Part 1 ARTICLE REVIEW virtual meeting with Gena Philibert-Ortega

This Virtual Meeting is more appropriate for students registered in this course. Please follow the directions found in your course material and read the article “Heritage Books and Family Lore: A Jackson Test in Missouri and Idaho” by Connie Lenzen (NGSQ Vol. 86, No. 1, March, 1998).

Time zones:
Tuesday, January 16th – 10:00 AM Eastern; 9:00 AM Central; 7:00 AM Pacific; 3:00 PM in London, England;
Wednesday, January 17th – 2:00 AM in Sydney, Australia

MEETING LOCATION: http://genealogicalstudies.adobeconnect.com/asarticle1/
(NOTE: No user name or password required. Please type in your first and last name; then click “Enter as a Guest”.)

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Tuesday, January 16th at 11:30 AM EST – Analysis & Skills Mentoring-GENERAL virtual meeting with Gena Philibert-Ortega

This Virtual Meeting is appropriate for students registered in the Analysis and Skills Mentoring courses. Students registered in the Skills: Transcribing, Abstracting, Extracting, Skill-Building: Breaking Down Brick Walls, Skill-Building: Evidence Analysis and Evaluation Using Case Studies, and Skill-Building: Nuts & Bolts of Reporting are also welcome to join. Topics for discussion include course procedure, evidence analysis, Genealogical Proof Standard (GPS), citations, ethics, timelines, transcriptions, abstractions, extractions, proof summaries and more.

Time zones:
Tuesday, January 16th – 11:30 AM Eastern; 10:30 AM Central; 8:30 AM Pacific; 4:30 PM in London, England;
Wednesday, January 17th – 3:30 AM in Sydney, Australia

MEETING LOCATION: http://genealogicalstudies.adobeconnect.com/asgeneral/
(NOTE: No user name or password required. Please type in your first and last name; then click “Enter as a Guest”.)

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Wednesday, January 17th at 5:00 PM EST – English Records virtual meeting with Brenda Wheeler

Time zones:
Wednesday, January 17th – 5:00 PM Eastern; 4:00 PM Central; 2:00 PM Pacific; 10:00 PM in London, England;
Thursday, January 18th – 9:00 AM in Sydney, Australia

MEETING LOCATION: http://genealogicalstudies.adobeconnect.com/english/
(NOTE: No user name or password required. Please type in your first and last name; then click “Enter as a Guest”.)

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Thursday, January 18th at 10:00 AM EST – Methodology virtual meeting with Gena Philibert-Ortega

This Virtual Meeting is appropriate for ALL students no matter which country you are researching in. Join this session to ask questions about the courses or to discuss organizing, skill-building, strategies, effective searching and recording, proving it, transcribing, abstracting, extracting, copyright, and much more.

Time zones:
Thursday, January 18th – 10:00 AM Eastern; 9:00 AM Central; 7:00 AM Pacific; 3:00 PM in London, England;
Friday, January 19th – 2:00 AM in Sydney, Australia

MEETING LOCATION: http://genealogicalstudies.adobeconnect.com/methodology/
(NOTE: No user name or password required. Please type in your first and last name; then click “Enter as a Guest”.)

 

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Friday, January 19th at 7:00 PM EST – Australian Records virtual meeting with Kerry Farmer

Time zones:
Friday, January 19th – 7:00 PM Eastern; 6:00 PM Central; 4:00 PM Pacific;
Saturday, January 20th – Midnight in London, England; 11:00 AM in Sydney, Australia

MEETING LOCATION: http://genealogicalstudies.adobeconnect.com/australian/
(NOTE: No user name or password required. Please type in your first and last name; then click “Enter as a Guest”.)

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Sunday, January 21st at 4:00 PM EST – Analysis & Skills Mentoring-Part 3 ARTICLE REVIEW virtual meeting with Brenda Wheeler

This Virtual Meeting is more appropriate for students registered in this course. Please follow the directions found in your course material and read the article “Identification through Signatures: Using Complex Direct Evidence to Sort Colwills of Cornwall” by Ronald A. Hill (NGSQ Vol. 87, No. 3, September, 1999).

Time zones:
Sunday, January 21st – 4:00 PM Eastern; 3:00 PM Central; 1:00 PM Pacific; 9:00 PM in London, England;
Monday, January 22nd – 8:00 AM in Sydney, Australia

MEETING LOCATION: http://genealogicalstudies.adobeconnect.com/asarticle3/
(NOTE: No user name or password required. Please type in your first and last name; then click “Enter as a Guest”.)

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Sunday, January 21st at 5:30 PM EST – Irish Records virtual meeting with Brenda Wheeler

Time zones:
Sunday, January 21st – 5:30 PM Eastern; 4:30 PM Central; 2:30 PM Pacific; 10:30 PM in London, England;
Monday, January 22nd – 9:30 AM in Sydney, Australia

MEETING LOCATION: http://genealogicalstudies.adobeconnect.com/irish/
(NOTE: No user name or password required. Please type in your first and last name; then click “Enter as a Guest”.)

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Thursday, January 25th at 1:00 PM EST – Internet Tools virtual meeting with Gena Philibert-Ortega

This session is appropriate for students registered in/working on the Connecting Family: Online and Virtually, Google for the Wise Genealogist, and Social Media Tools for the Wise Genealogist courses, although all are welcome.

Time zones:
Thursday, January 25th – 1:00 PM Eastern; Noon Central; 10:00 AM Pacific; 6:00 PM in London, England;
Friday, January 26th – 5:00 AM in Sydney, Australia

MEETING LOCATION: http://genealogicalstudies.adobeconnect.com/internettools/
(NOTE: No user name or password required. Please type in your first and last name; then click “Enter as a Guest”.)

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Thursday, January 25th at 2:30 PM EST – American Records virtual meeting with Gena Philibert-Ortega

Time zones:
Thursday, January 25th – 2:30 PM Eastern; 1:30 PM Central; 11:30 AM Pacific; 7:30 PM in London, England;
Friday, January 26th – 6:30 AM in Sydney, Australia

MEETING LOCATION: http://genealogicalstudies.adobeconnect.com/american/
(NOTE: No user name or password required. Please type in your first and last name; then click “Enter as a Guest”.)

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Friday, January 26th at 5:00 PM EST – Methodology virtual meeting with Brenda Wheeler

This Virtual Meeting is appropriate for ALL students no matter which country you are researching in. Join this session to ask questions about the courses or to discuss organizing, skill-building, strategies, effective searching and recording, proving it, transcribing, abstracting, extracting, copyright, and much more.

Note: This session has been set up for the convenience of our students in Australia and New Zealand; however, all students are welcome to join in.

Time zones:
Friday, January 26th – 5:00 PM Eastern; 4:00 PM Central; 2:00 PM Pacific; 10:00 PM in London, England;
Saturday, January 27th – 9:00 AM in Sydney, Australia

MEETING LOCATION: http://genealogicalstudies.adobeconnect.com/methodology/
(NOTE: No user name or password required. Please type in your first and last name; then click “Enter as a Guest”.)

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Saturday, January 27th at 11:00 AM EST – Professional Development virtual meeting with Gena Philibert-Ortega

This Virtual Meeting is more appropriate for students registered in the Professional Development courses, although serious-minded genealogist and those considering starting their own genealogy business are welcome. Discussions at this virtual meeting will be at the advanced level.

Time zones:
Saturday, January 27th – 11:00 AM Eastern; 10:00 AM Central; 8:00 AM Pacific; 4:00 PM in London, England;
Sunday, January 28th – 3:00 AM in Sydney, Australia

MEETING LOCATION: http://genealogicalstudies.adobeconnect.com/professional/
(NOTE: No user name or password required. Please type in your first and last name; then click “Enter as a Guest”.)

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

LISTEN ON THE GO!
Want to listen to the student presentation but will not be at your computer? No problem! You can download the FREE Adobe Connect Mobile App from the iTunes App Store (for iPod/iPhone/iPad), from the Google Play Store (for Androids), or from Blackberry World (for Blackberry).

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

See the calendar of future Virtual Meetings sessions at www.genealogicalstudies.com; in the top menu choose INFORMATION and then VIRTUAL LEARNING ROOM in the drop-down menu.

If you have not attended a Virtual Meeting before, read the Instructions available at www.genealogicalstudies.com/instructions.pdf. If this URL does not open, please go to www.genealogicalstudies.com, click on Information in the top menu bar, and then Virtual Learning Room in the drop down menu. The link to the Instructions (in PDF format) will be at the top right of the page (you may need to scroll over to the right side of the page).

Leave a Reply