The National Institute for Genealogical Studies

LEADERS IN ONLINE GENEALOGY EDUCATION

The National Institute for Genealogical Studies - LEADERS IN ONLINE GENEALOGY EDUCATION

Join Us For Student Presentations!

Image courtesy of jannoon028 at freedigitalphotos-net

Image courtesy of jannoon028 at freedigitalphotos-net

We have a couple of student presentations coming up. We hope you can join us to show your  support!

The National Institute for Genealogical Studies course, Lecturing Skills Including Preparation, teaches the skills needed to present genealogical-related lectures. It is a “hands on” course where the student presents a lecture via our Virtual Learning Room. We invite you to participate and hear your fellow student. This is a 30-minute lecture, followed by a 10-minute Question & Answer period and a short poll to provide the student with feedback on their skills. Please come and support your fellow students!

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Join us on Wednesday, November 8th at 7:00 PM EDT when Marilyn Simleness presents “From Hobbyist to Professional: Turning Retirement into Redirection

 

Used with permission of Marilyn Simleness

Used with permission of Marilyn Simleness

Presenter: Marilyn Simleness is a transitional genealogist specializing in American Midwest and German, particularly Ostfriesland, research, in writing personal and family histories, and in educating youth.

Presentation Description: Is there life after retirement? Learn how one retired teacher turned her passion for genealogy into a new career path and began one of the greatest adventures of her life.

Time zones:
Wednesday, November 8th – 7:00 PM Eastern; 6:00 PM Central; 4:00 PM Pacific;
Thursday, November 9th – midnight in London, England; 11:00 AM in Sydney, Australia

MEETING LOCATION: http://genealogicalstudies.adobeconnect.com/lecturing/
(NOTE: No user name or password required. Please type in your first and last name; then click “Enter as a Guest”.)

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Join us on Friday, November 10th at 2:00 PM EST when Doug Eborn presents “Genealogy Education Opportunities in the Digital Age.”

Doug Eborn. Used with permission.

Doug Eborn. Used with permission.

Presenter: For forty years, Doug Eborn has been involved in genealogy. He has served as a FHC Director and Board Member of the Utah Genealogical Association.

Presentation Description: Genealogists by nature are inquisitive people, learning all they can about research. This lecture will explore the many opportunities that are available to genealogists online and in person.

Time zones:
Friday, November 10th – 2:00 PM Eastern; 1:00 PM Central; 11:00 AM Pacific; 7:00 PM in London, England;
Saturday, November 11th – 6:00 AM in Sydney, Australia

MEETING LOCATION: http://genealogicalstudies.adobeconnect.com/lecturing/
(NOTE: No user name or password required. Please type in your first and last name; then click “Enter as a Guest”.)

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

We would like to thank Kathy Holland for hosting these student presentation.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Remember, to join a Virtual Meeting … anyone can participate. Hope to see you there!

To enter the Virtual Learning Room for a session you would like to attend, please click on the Location link or enter the Location URL into your browser. (No user name or password required; “Enter as a Guest”)

NOTE: Please sign in with your first AND last names when joining a Virtual Meeting. This will help everyone differentiate between individuals with the same name. (No user name or password required. Please type in your first and last name; then click “Enter as a Guest”.)

Leave a Reply