The National Institute for Genealogical Studies

LEADERS IN ONLINE GENEALOGY EDUCATION

The National Institute for Genealogical Studies - LEADERS IN ONLINE GENEALOGY EDUCATION

September 2017 Virtual Meetings

Month by arztsamui/Courtesy of Freedigitalphotos.net

Month by arztsamui/Courtesy of Freedigitalphotos.net

Now that summer is pretty much over in the Northern Hemisphere, it is time to get back to a routine–schedule time for researching, studying, and virtual meetings. We have a great line up of virtual meetings for September. Hope you can join us!

Do you have any questions about your courses or research? Join us for a virtual meeting applicable to your question. Even if you don’t have questions you are welcome to just listen, lurk and learn! We don’t mind in the least.

Help us help you … we want your questions for the virtual meetings! Do you have a specific question about your course(s) and/or your genealogy research that you would like answered at a virtual meeting you plan to attend? By submitting your question ahead of the virtual meeting, the instructor can be better prepared.

Guidelines for submitting your questions:

1. Email: degroot@genealogicalstudies.com

2. Subject line: Virtual Meeting Question

3. Body of the email is to include:

a) State your question or problem. Be specific and short!

b) If your question pertains to a course, give the full title of the course. If your question is specific to course content, please include the module number and section name. (These details are important for the instructor to understand what you are asking.)

c) If your question pertains to researching a specific record group, include the location (i.e. country, state/province, county, and town/city) and time period.

Be aware, to have your questions answered at the next appropriate virtual meeting you will need to email us at least four days in advance of the virtual meeting. Keep in mind, depending on the number of questions submitted and discussion on hand they may be answered at the next scheduled virtual meeting.

Below is the virtual meetings schedule for the month of September. Mark your calendars for sessions applicable to your area of studies or research. NOTE: Times given are Eastern Daylight Time.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Thursday, September 14th at 7:00 PM EDT – Analysis & Skills Mentoring-Part 1 ARTICLE REVIEW virtual meeting with Gena Philibert-Ortega

This Virtual Meeting is more appropriate for students registered in this course. Please follow the directions found in your course material and read the article “Heritage Books and Family Lore: A Jackson Test in Missouri and Idaho” by Connie Lenzen (NGSQ Vol. 86, No. 1, March, 1998).

Time zones:
Thursday, September 14th – 7:00 PM Eastern; 6:00 PM Central; 4:00 PM Pacific;
Friday, September 15th – midnight in London, England; 9:00 AM in Sydney, Australia

MEETING LOCATION: http://genealogicalstudies.adobeconnect.com/asarticle1/
(NOTE: No user name or password required. Please type in your first and last name; then click “Enter as a Guest”.)

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Saturday, September 16th at 9:00 AM EDT – Analysis & Skills Mentoring-GENERAL virtual meeting with Gena Philibert-Ortega

This Virtual Meeting is appropriate for students registered in the Analysis and Skills Mentoring courses. Students registered in the Skills: Transcribing, Abstracting, Extracting, Skill-Building: Breaking Down Brick Walls, Skill-Building: Evidence Analysis and Evaluation Using Case Studies, and Skill-Building: Nuts & Bolts of Reporting are also welcome to join. Topics for discussion include course procedure, evidence analysis, Genealogical Proof Standard (GPS), citations, ethics, timelines, transcriptions, abstractions, extractions, proof summaries and more.

Time zones:
Saturday, September 16th – 9:00 AM Eastern; 8:00 AM Central; 6:00 AM Pacific; 2:00 PM in London, England; 11:00 PM in Sydney, Australia

MEETING LOCATION: http://genealogicalstudies.adobeconnect.com/asgeneral/
(NOTE: No user name or password required. Please type in your first and last name; then click “Enter as a Guest”.)

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Saturday, September 16th at 10:00 AM EDT – Analysis & Skills Mentoring-Part 3 ARTICLE REVIEW virtual meeting with Gena Philibert-Ortega

This Virtual Meeting is more appropriate for students registered in this course. Please follow the directions found in your course material and read the article “Identification through Signatures: Using Complex Direct Evidence to Sort Colwills of Cornwall” by Ronald A. Hill (NGSQ Vol. 87, No. 3, September, 1999).

Time zones:
Saturday, September 16th – 10:00 AM Eastern; 9:00 AM Central; 7:00 AM Pacific; 3:00 PM in London, England;
Sunday, September 17th – midnight in Sydney, Australia

MEETING LOCATION: http://genealogicalstudies.adobeconnect.com/asarticle3/
(NOTE: No user name or password required. Please type in your first and last name; then click “Enter as a Guest”.)

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Saturday, September 16th at 11:30 AM EDT – American Records virtual meeting with Gena Philibert-Ortega

Time zones:
Saturday, September 16th – 11:30 AM Eastern; 10:30 AM Central; 8:30 AM Pacific; 4:30 PM in London, England;
Sunday, September 17th – 1:30 AM in Sydney, Australia

MEETING LOCATION: http://genealogicalstudies.adobeconnect.com/american/
(NOTE: No user name or password required. Please type in your first and last name; then click “Enter as a Guest”.)

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Sunday, September 17th at 11:30 AM EDT – Internet Tools virtual meeting with Gena Philibert-Ortega

This session is appropriate for students registered in/working on the Connecting Family: Online and Virtually, Google for the Wise Genealogist, and Social Media Tools for the Wise Genealogist courses, although all are welcome.

Time zones:
Sunday, September 17th – 11:30 AM Eastern; 10:30 AM Central; 8:30 AM Pacific; 4:30 PM in London, England;
Monday, September 18th – 1:30 AM in Sydney, Australia

MEETING LOCATION: http://genealogicalstudies.adobeconnect.com/internettools/
(NOTE: No user name or password required. Please type in your first and last name; then click “Enter as a Guest”.)

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Sunday, September 17th at 1:00 PM EDT – Methodology virtual meeting with Gena Philibert-Ortega

This Virtual Meeting is appropriate for ALL students no matter which country you are researching in. Join this session to ask questions about the courses or to discuss organizing, skill-building, strategies, effective searching and recording, proving it, transcribing, abstracting, extracting, copyright, and much more.

Time zones:
Sunday, September 17th – 1:00 PM Eastern; noon PM Central; 10:00 AM Pacific; 6:00 PM in London, England;
Monday, September 18th – 3:00 AM in Sydney, Australia

MEETING LOCATION: http://genealogicalstudies.adobeconnect.com/methodology/
(NOTE: No user name or password required. Please type in your first and last name; then click “Enter as a Guest”.)

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Sunday, September 17th at 7:00 PM EDT – English Records virtual meeting with Brenda Wheeler

Time zones:
Sunday, September 17th – 7:00 PM Eastern; 6:00 PM Central; 4:00 PM Pacific;
Monday, September 18th – midnight in London, England; 9:00 AM in Sydney, Australia

MEETING LOCATION: http://genealogicalstudies.adobeconnect.com/english/
(NOTE: No user name or password required. Please type in your first and last name; then click “Enter as a Guest”.)

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Sunday, September 17th at 8:30 PM EDT – Irish Records virtual meeting with Brenda Wheeler

Time zones:
Sunday, September 17th – 8:30 PM Eastern; 7:30 PM Central; 5:30 PM Pacific;
Monday, September 18th – 1:30 AM in London, England; 10:30 AM in Sydney, Australia

MEETING LOCATION: http://genealogicalstudies.adobeconnect.com/irish/
(NOTE: No user name or password required. Please type in your first and last name; then click “Enter as a Guest”.)

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Monday, September 18th at 3:00 PM EDT – Canadian virtual meeting with Kathryn Lake Hogan

During this session, after questions are answered about the Canadian Records courses, Kathryn will discuss Canadian Newspapers with the session attendees.

Time zones:
Monday, September 18th – 3:00 PM Eastern; 2:00 PM Central; noon Pacific; 8:00 PM in London, England;
Tuesday, September 19th – 5:00 AM in Sydney, Australia

MEETING LOCATION: http://genealogicalstudies.adobeconnect.com/canadian/
(NOTE: No user name or password required. Please type in your first and last name; then click “Enter as a Guest”.)

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Tuesday, September 19th at 5:00 AM EDT – Methodology virtual meeting with Brenda Wheeler

This Virtual Meeting is appropriate for ALL students no matter which country you are researching in. Join this session to ask questions about the courses or to discuss organizing, skill-building, strategies, effective searching and recording, proving it, transcribing, abstracting, extracting, copyright, and much more.

NOTE: This session has been set up for the convenience of our students in Australasia.

Time zones:
Tuesday, September 19th – 5:00 AM Eastern; 4:00 AM Central; 2:00 AM Pacific; 10:00 AM in London, England; 7:00 PM in Sydney, Australia

MEETING LOCATION: http://genealogicalstudies.adobeconnect.com/methodology/
(NOTE: No user name or password required. Please type in your first and last name; then click “Enter as a Guest”.)

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

LISTEN ON THE GO!
Want to listen to the student presentation but will not be at your computer? No problem! You can download the FREE Adobe Connect Mobile App from the iTunes App Store (for iPod/iPhone/iPad), from the Google Play Store (for Androids), or from Blackberry World (for Blackberry).

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

See the calendar of future Virtual Meetings sessions at www.genealogicalstudies.com; in the top menu choose INFORMATION and then VIRTUAL LEARNING ROOM in the drop-down menu.

If you have not attended a Virtual Meeting before, read the Instructions available at www.genealogicalstudies.com/instructions.pdf. If this URL does not open, please go to www.genealogicalstudies.com, click on Information in the top menu bar, and then Virtual Learning Room in the drop down menu. The link to the Instructions (in PDF format) will be at the top right of the page (you may need to scroll over to the right side of the page).

 

Leave a Reply