The National Institute for Genealogical Studies

LEADERS IN ONLINE GENEALOGY EDUCATION

The National Institute for Genealogical Studies - LEADERS IN ONLINE GENEALOGY EDUCATION

August 2017 Virtual Meetings

“Month” by arztsamui/Courtesy of Freedigitalphotos.net

“Month” by arztsamui/Courtesy of Freedigitalphotos.net

We have a great line up of virtual meetings for August. Hope you can join us!

Do you have any questions about your courses or research? Join us for a virtual meeting applicable to your question. Even if you don’t have questions you are welcome to just listen, lurk and learn! We don’t mind in the least.

Help us help you … we want your questions for the virtual meetings! Do you have a specific question about your course(s) and/or your genealogy research that you would like answered at a virtual meeting you plan to attend? By submitting your question ahead of the virtual meeting, the instructor can be better prepared.

Guidelines for submitting your questions:

1. Email: degroot@genealogicalstudies.com

2. Subject line: Virtual Meeting Question

3. Body of the email is to include:

a) State your question or problem. Be specific and short!

b) If your question pertains to a course, give the full title of the course. If your question is specific to course content, please include the module number and section name. (These details are important for the instructor to understand what you are asking.)

c) If your question pertains to researching a specific record group, include the location (i.e. country, state/province, county, and town/city) and time period.

Be aware, to have your questions answered at the next appropriate virtual meeting, you will need to email us at least four days in advance of the virtual meeting. Keep in mind, depending on the number of questions submitted and discussion on hand they may be answered at the next scheduled virtual meeting.

Below is the virtual meetings schedule for the month of August. Mark your calendars for sessions applicable to your area of studies or research.
NOTE: Times given are Eastern Daylight Time.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Tuesday, August 15th at 7:00 PM EDT – Methodology virtual meeting with Brenda Wheeler

Time zones:
Tuesday, August 15th – 7:00 PM Eastern; 6:00 PM Central; 4:00 PM Pacific;
Wednesday, August 16th – midnight in London, England; 9:00 AM in Sydney, Australia

MEETING LOCATION: http://genealogicalstudies.adobeconnect.com/methodology/
(NOTE: No user name or password required. Please type in your first and last name; then click “Enter as a Guest”.)

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Wednesday, August 16th at 1:00 PM EDT – Scottish Records virtual meeting with Sheena Tait

Time zones:
Wednesday, August 16th – 1:00 PM Eastern; noon Central; 10:00 AM Pacific; 6:00 PM in London, England;
Thursday, August 17th – 3:00 AM in Sydney, Australia

MEETING LOCATION: http://genealogicalstudies.adobeconnect.com/scottish/
(NOTE: No user name or password required. Please type in your first and last name; then click “Enter as a Guest”.)

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Wednesday, August 16th at 8:00 PM EDT – DNA virtual meeting with Shannon Combs-Bennett

This session is appropriate for students registered in/working on the DNA stream, Forensic Genealogy, Genetics & Medical Family History, Organising a One-Name Study, and Organising a One-Place Study courses, although all are welcome. The focus of this Virtual Meeting is the DNA testing process and how DNA can be use in genealogy research. Join Shannon to ask questions about these courses and/or your DNA research.

Time zones:
Wednesday, August 16th – 8:00 PM Eastern; 7:00 PM Central; 5:00 PM Pacific;
Thursday, August 17th – 1:00 AM in London, England; 10:00 AM in Sydney, Australia

MEETING LOCATION: http://genealogicalstudies.adobeconnect.com/dna/
(NOTE: No user name or password required. Please type in your first and last name; then click “Enter as a Guest”.)

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Thursday, August 17th at 3:00 PM EDT – Analysis & Skills Mentoring-Part 2 ARTICLE REVIEW virtual meeting with Gena Philibert-Ortega

This Virtual Meeting is more appropriate for students registered in this course. Please follow the directions found in your course material and read the article “Organizing Meager Evidence to Reveal Lineages: An Irish Example—Geddes of Tyrone” by Thomas W. Jones (NGSQ Vol. 89, No.2, June, 2001).

Time zones:
Thursday, August 17th – 3:00 PM Eastern; 2:00 PM Central; noon Pacific; 8:00 PM in London, England;
Friday, August 18th – 5:00 AM in Sydney, Australia

MEETING LOCATION: http://genealogicalstudies.adobeconnect.com/asarticle2/
(NOTE: No user name or password required. Please type in your first and last name; then click “Enter as a Guest”.)

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Thursday, August 17th at 7:00 PM EDT – Internet Tools virtual meeting with Gena Philibert-Ortega

This session is appropriate for students registered in/working on the Connecting Family: Online and Virtually, Google for the Wise Genealogist, and Social Media Tools for the Wise Genealogist courses, although all are welcome.

Time zones:
Thursday, August 17th – 7:00 PM Eastern; 6:00 PM Central; 4:00 PM Pacific;
Friday, August 18th – midnight in London, England; 9:00 AM in Sydney, Australia

MEETING LOCATION: http://genealogicalstudies.adobeconnect.com/internettools/
(NOTE: No user name or password required. Please type in your first and last name; then click “Enter as a Guest”.)

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Thursday, August 17th at 8:30 PM EDT – American Records virtual meeting with Gena Philibert-Ortega

Time zones:
Thursday, August 17th – 8:30 PM Eastern; 7:30 PM Central; 5:30 PM Pacific;
Friday, August 18th – 1:30 AM in London, England; 10:30 AM in Sydney, Australia

MEETING LOCATION: http://genealogicalstudies.adobeconnect.com/american/
(NOTE: No user name or password required. Please type in your first and last name; then click “Enter as a Guest”.)

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Tuesday, August 22nd at 4:00 PM EDT – English Records virtual meeting with Brenda Wheeler

Time zones:
Tuesday, August 22nd – 4:00 PM Eastern; 3:00 PM Central; 1:00 PM Pacific; 9:00 PM in London, England;
Wednesday, August 23rd – 6:00 AM in Sydney, Australia

MEETING LOCATION: http://genealogicalstudies.adobeconnect.com/english/
(NOTE: No user name or password required. Please type in your first and last name; then click “Enter as a Guest”.)

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Wednesday, August 23rd at 7:00 PM EDT – Analysis & Skills Mentoring-GENERAL virtual meeting with Gena Philibert-Ortega

Time zones:
Wednesday, August 23rd – 7:00 PM Eastern; 6:00 PM Central; 4:00 PM Pacific;
Thursday, August 24th – midnight in London, England; 9:00 AM in Sydney, Australia

MEETING LOCATION: http://genealogicalstudies.adobeconnect.com/asgeneral/
(NOTE: No user name or password required. Please type in your first and last name; then click “Enter as a Guest”.)

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Wednesday, August 23rd at 8:30 PM EDT – Methodology virtual meeting with Gena Philibert-Ortega

Time zones:
Wednesday, August 23rd – 8:30 PM Eastern; 7:30 PM Central; 5:30 PM Pacific;
Thursday, August 24th – 1:30 AM in London, England; 10:30 AM in Sydney, Australia

MEETING LOCATION: http://genealogicalstudies.adobeconnect.com/methodology/
(NOTE: No user name or password required. Please type in your first and last name; then click “Enter as a Guest”.)

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

LISTEN ON THE GO!
Want to listen to the student presentation but will not be at your computer? No problem! You can download the FREE Adobe Connect Mobile App from the iTunes App Store (for iPod/iPhone/iPad), from the Google Play Store (for Androids), or from Blackberry World (for Blackberry).

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

See the calendar of future Virtual Meetings sessions at www.genealogicalstudies.com; in the top menu choose INFORMATION and then VIRTUAL LEARNING ROOM in the drop-down menu.

If you have not attended a Virtual Meeting before, read the Instructions available at www.genealogicalstudies.com/instructions.pdf. If this URL does not open, please go to www.genealogicalstudies.com, click on Information in the top menu bar, and then Virtual Learning Room in the drop down menu. The link to the Instructions (in PDF format) will be at the top right of the page (you may need to scroll over to the right side of the page).

Leave a Reply