The National Institute for Genealogical Studies

LEADERS IN ONLINE GENEALOGY EDUCATION

The National Institute for Genealogical Studies - LEADERS IN ONLINE GENEALOGY EDUCATION

July 2017 Virtual Meetings

Month by arztsamui/Courtesy of Freedigitalphotos.net

Month by arztsamui/Courtesy of Freedigitalphotos.net

We have a great line up of virtual meetings for July, including a student presentation!

Do you have any questions about your courses or research? Join us for a virtual meeting applicable to your question. Even if you don’t have questions you are welcome to just listen, lurk and learn! We don’t mind in the least.

Help us help you … we want your questions for the virtual meetings! Do you have a specific question about your course(s) and/or your genealogy research that you would like answered at a virtual meeting you plan to attend? By submitting your question ahead of the virtual meeting, the instructor can be better prepared.

Guidelines for submitting your questions:

1. Email: degroot@genealogicalstudies.com

2. Subject line: Virtual Meeting Question

3. Body of the email is to include:

a) State your question or problem. Be specific and short!

b) If your question pertains to a course, give the full title of the course. If your question is specific to course content, please include the module number and section name. (These details are important for the instructor to understand what you are asking.)

c) If your question pertains to researching a specific record group, include the location (i.e. country, state/province, county, and town/city) and time period.

Be aware, to have your questions answered at the next appropriate virtual meeting, you will need to email us at least four days in advance of the virtual meeting. Keep in mind, depending on the number of questions submitted and discussion on hand they may be answered at the next scheduled virtual meeting.

Below is the virtual meetings schedule for the month of July. Mark your calendars for sessions applicable to your area of studies or research.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

NOTE: Times given are Eastern Daylight Time.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Tuesday, July 11th at 5:00 AM EDT – Australian Records virtual meeting with Kerry Farmer

Time zones:
Tuesday, July 11th – 5:00 AM Eastern; 4:00 AM Central; 2:00 AM Pacific; 10:00 AM in London, England; 7:00 PM in Sydney, Australia

MEETING LOCATION: http://genealogicalstudies.adobeconnect.com/australian/
(NOTE: No user name or password required. Please type in your first and last name; then click “Enter as a Guest”.)

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Thursday, July 13th at 4:00 PM EDT – English Records virtual meeting with Brenda Wheeler

Time zones:
Thursday, July 13th – 4:00 PM Eastern; 3:00 PM Central; 1:00 PM Pacific; 9:00 PM in London, England;
Friday, July 14th – 6:00 AM in Sydney, Australia

MEETING LOCATION: http://genealogicalstudies.adobeconnect.com/english/
(NOTE: No user name or password required. Please type in your first and last name; then click “Enter as a Guest”.)

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Saturday, June 15th at 4:00 PM EDT – Analysis & Skills Mentoring-Part 3 ARTICLE REVIEW virtual meeting with Brenda Wheeler

This Virtual Meeting is more appropriate for students registered in this course. Please follow the directions found in your course material and read the article “Identification through Signatures: Using Complex Direct Evidence to Sort Colwills of Cornwall” by Ronald A. Hill (NGSQ Vol. 87, No. 3, September, 1999).

Time zones:
Saturday, June 15th – 4:00 PM Eastern; 3:00 PM Central; 1:00 PM Pacific; 9:00 PM in London, England;
Sunday, July 16th – 6:00 AM in Sydney, Australia

MEETING LOCATION: http://genealogicalstudies.adobeconnect.com/asarticle3/
(NOTE: No user name or password required. Please type in your first and last name; then click “Enter as a Guest”.)

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Saturday, June 15th at 6:00 PM EDT – Methodology virtual meeting with Brenda Wheeler

NOTE: This session has been set up for the convenience of our students in Australasia.

Time zones:
Saturday, June 15th – 6:00 PM Eastern; 5:00 PM Central; 3:00 PM Pacific; 10:00 PM in London, England;
Sunday, July 16th – 8:00 AM in Sydney, Australia

MEETING LOCATION: http://genealogicalstudies.adobeconnect.com/methodology/
(NOTE: No user name or password required. Please type in your first and last name; then click “Enter as a Guest”.)

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Tuesday, July 18th at 5:00 PM EDT – Lecturing Skills Student Presentation hosted by Kathy Holland; Student presenter: Sandra Blanchette

Description:
“History, Geography and Genealogy – Tracing the Boundaries”
Shedding light on Repositories through Historical Events and Boundary changes for the Gaspe Basin and the Gaspe Peninsula can help break down Brick Walls.

Presenter:
Sandra Blanchette, specialises in discovering ancestors from the Gaspe Basin and the Gaspe Peninsula. She is currently completing 3 certificates with the National Institute for Genealogical Studies.

Time zones:
Tuesday, July 18th – 5:00 PM Eastern; 4:00 PM Central; 2:00 PM Pacific; 10:00 PM in London, England;
Wednesday, July 19 – 7:00 AM in Sydney, Australia

MEETING LOCATION: http://genealogicalstudies.adobeconnect.com/lecturing/
(NOTE: No user name or password required. Please type in your first and last name; then click “Enter as a Guest”.)

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Wednesday, July 26th at 10:00 AM EDT – Methodology virtual meeting with Gena Philibert-Ortega

Time zones:
Wednesday, July 26th – 10:00 AM Eastern; 9:00 AM Central; 7:00 AM Pacific; 3:00 PM in London, England;
Thursday, July 27th – Midnight in Sydney, Australia

MEETING LOCATION: http://genealogicalstudies.adobeconnect.com/methodology/
(NOTE: No user name or password required. Please type in your first and last name; then click “Enter as a Guest”.)

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Wednesday, July 26th at 11:30 AM EDT – Analysis & Skills Mentoring-Part 1 ARTICLE REVIEW virtual meeting with Gena Philibert-Ortega

This Virtual Meeting is more appropriate for students registered in this course. Please follow the directions found in your course material and read the article “Heritage Books and Family Lore: A Jackson Test in Missouri and Idaho” by Connie Lenzen (NGSQ Vol. 86, No. 1, March, 1998).

Time zones:
Wednesday, July 26th – 11:30 AM Eastern; 10:30 AM Central; 8:30 AM Pacific; 4:30 PM in London, England;
Thursday, July 27th – 1:30 AM in Sydney, Australia

MEETING LOCATION: http://genealogicalstudies.adobeconnect.com/asarticle1/
(NOTE: No user name or password required. Please type in your first and last name; then click “Enter as a Guest”.)

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Thursday, July 27th at 10:00 AM EDT – Analysis & Skills Mentoring-GENERAL virtual meeting with Gena Philibert-Ortega

Time zones:
Thursday, July 27th – 10:00 AM Eastern; 9:00 AM Central; 7:00 AM Pacific; 3:00 PM in London, England;
Friday, July 28th – Midnight in Sydney, Australia

MEETING LOCATION: http://genealogicalstudies.adobeconnect.com/asgeneral/
(NOTE: No user name or password required. Please type in your first and last name; then click “Enter as a Guest”.)

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Thursday, July 27th at 11:00 AM EDT – Internet Tools virtual meeting with Gena Philibert-Ortega

Time zones:
Thursday, July 27th – 11:00 AM Eastern; 10:00 AM Central; 8:00 AM Pacific; 4:00 PM in London, England;
Friday, July 28th – 1:00 AM in Sydney, Australia

MEETING LOCATION: http://genealogicalstudies.adobeconnect.com/internettools/
(NOTE: No user name or password required. Please type in your first and last name; then click “Enter as a Guest”.)

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Thursday, July 27th at 12:30 PM EDT – American Records virtual meeting with Gena Philibert-Ortega

Time zones:
Thursday, July 27th – 12:30 PM Eastern; 11:30 AM Central; 9:30 AM Pacific; 5:30 PM in London, England;
Friday, July 28th – 2:30 AM in Sydney, Australia

MEETING LOCATION: http://genealogicalstudies.adobeconnect.com/american/
(NOTE: No user name or password required. Please type in your first and last name; then click “Enter as a Guest”.)

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Saturday, July 29th at 10:00 AM EDT – Canadian Records virtual meeting with Kathryn Lake-Hogan

Time zones:
Saturday, July 29th – 10:00 AM Eastern; 9:00 AM Central; 7:00 AM Pacific; 3:00 PM in London, England;
Sunday, July 30th – Midnight in Sydney, Australia

MEETING LOCATION: http://genealogicalstudies.adobeconnect.com/canadian/
(NOTE: No user name or password required. Please type in your first and last name; then click “Enter as a Guest”.)

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Saturday, July 29th at 2:00 PM EDT – Professional Development virtual meeting with Gena Philibert-Ortega

Note: This Virtual Meeting is more appropriate for students registered in the Professional Development courses, although serious-minded genealogist and those considering starting their own genealogy business are welcome. Discussions at this virtual meeting will be at the advanced level.

Time zones:
Saturday, July 29th – 2:00 PM Eastern; 1:00 PM Central; 11:00 AM Pacific; 7:00 PM in London, England;
Sunday, July 30th – 4:00 AM in Sydney, Australia

MEETING LOCATION: http://genealogicalstudies.adobeconnect.com/professional/
(NOTE: No user name or password required. Please type in your first and last name; then click “Enter as a Guest”.)

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

LISTEN ON THE GO!
Want to listen to the student presentation but will not be at your computer? No problem! You can download the FREE Adobe Connect Mobile App from the iTunes App Store (for iPod/iPhone/iPad), from the Google Play Store (for Androids), or from Blackberry World (for Blackberry).

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

See the calendar of future Virtual Meetings sessions at www.genealogicalstudies.com; in the top menu choose INFORMATION and then VIRTUAL LEARNING ROOM in the drop-down menu.

If you have not attended a Virtual Meeting before, read the Instructions available at www.genealogicalstudies.com/instructions.pdf. If this URL does not open, please go to www.genealogicalstudies.com, click on Information in the top menu bar, and then Virtual Learning Room in the drop down menu. The link to the Instructions (in PDF format) will be at the top right of the page (you may need to scroll over to the right side of the page).

Leave a Reply