The National Institute for Genealogical Studies

LEADERS IN ONLINE GENEALOGY EDUCATION

The National Institute for Genealogical Studies - LEADERS IN ONLINE GENEALOGY EDUCATION

Virtual Meetings This Week

Image courtesy of Stoonn at FreeDigitalPhotos.net

Image courtesy of Stoonn at FreeDigitalPhotos.net

We have some great virtual meetings scheduled for Thursday (Arpil 20) and Saturday (April 22) this week.

You can enhance your learning experience by joining a virtual meeting and asking questions. Even if you don’t have questions you are welcome to just listen, lurk, and learn! We don’t mind in the least.

NOTE: Times given are Eastern Daylight Time.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

On Thursday, April 20th at 1:00 PM EDT join Gena Philibert-Ortega for the Internet Tools virtual meeting. This session is appropriate for students registered in/working on the Connecting Family: Online and Virtually, Google for the Wise Genealogist, and Social Media Tools for the Wise Genealogist courses, although all are welcome. Gena will be available to answer questions about these courses and/or your Internet searches.

Time zones:
Thursday, April 20th – 1:00 PM Eastern; Noon Central; 10:00 AM Pacific; 6:00 PM in London, England;
Friday, April 21st – 3:00 AM in Sydney, Australia

MEETING LOCATION: http://genealogicalstudies.adobeconnect.com/internettools/
(NOTE: No user name or password required. Please type in your first and last name; then click “Enter as a Guest”.)

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Next on Thursday, April 20th at 2:30 PM EDT Gena Philibert-Ortega will host the Analysis and Skills Mentoring Program – GENERAL session. This Virtual Meeting is appropriate for students registered in the Analysis and Skills Mentoring courses. Students registered in the Skills: Transcribing, Abstracting, Extracting, Skill-Building: Breaking Down Brick Walls, Skill-Building: Evidence Analysis, and Skill-Building: Nuts & Bolts of Reporting are also welcome to join. Topics for discussion include course procedure, evidence analysis, Genealogical Proof Standard (GPS), citations, ethics, timelines, transcriptions, abstractions, extractions, proof summaries and more.

Time zones:
Thursday, April 20th – 2:30 PM Eastern; 1:30 PM Central; 11:30 AM Pacific; 7:30 PM in London, England;
Friday, April 21st – 4:30 AM in Sydney, Australia

MEETING LOCATION: http://genealogicalstudies.adobeconnect.com/asgeneral/
(NOTE: No user name or password required. Please type in your first and last name; then click “Enter as a Guest”.)

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

In the evening of Thursday, April 20th at 7:00 PM EDT Brenda Wheeler is hosting the English virtual meeting. Join Brenda to ask questions about the English record courses and/or your research.

Time zones:
Thursday, April 20th – 7:00 PM Eastern; 6:00 PM Central; 4:00 PM Pacific;
Friday, April 21st – Midnight in London, England; 9:00 AM in Sydney, Australia

MEETING LOCATION: http://genealogicalstudies.adobeconnect.com/english/
(NOTE: No user name or password required. Please type in your first and last name; then click “Enter as a Guest”.)

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

The final session for Thursday, April 20th is at 8:30 PM EDT with Brenda Wheeler hosting the Analysis and Skills Mentoring Program-Part 2 – ARTICLE REVIEW. This Virtual Meeting is more appropriate for students registered in this course. Please follow the directions found in your course material and read the article “Organizing Meager Evidence to Reveal Lineages: An Irish Example—Geddes of Tyrone” by Thomas W. Jones (NGSQ Vol. 89, No.2, June, 2001).

Time zones:
Thursday, April 20th – 8:30 PM Eastern; 7:30 PM Central; 5:30 PM Pacific;
Friday, April 21st – 1:30 AM in London, England; 10:30 AM in Sydney, Australia

MEETING LOCATION: http://genealogicalstudies.adobeconnect.com/asarticle2/
(NOTE: No user name or password required. Please type in your first and last name; then click “Enter as a Guest”.)

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

On Saturday, April 22nd at 7:00 PM EDT Brenda Wheeler is back to host the Methodology virtual meeting.

The Methodology virtual meeting is appropriate for ALL students no matter which country you are researching in. Join us to ask questions or to discuss organizing, skill-building, strategies, effective searching and recording, proving it, transcribing, abstracting, extracting, copyright, and much more.

Time zones:
Saturday, April 22nd – 7:00 PM Eastern; 6:00 PM Central; 4:00 PM Pacific;
Sunday, April 23rd – Midnight in London, England; 9:00 AM in Sydney, Australia

MEETING LOCATION: http://genealogicalstudies.adobeconnect.com/methodology/
(NOTE: No user name or password required. Please type in your first and last name; then click “Enter as a Guest”.)

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

LISTEN ON THE GO!
Want to listen to the student presentation but will not be at your computer? No problem! You can download the FREE Adobe Connect Mobile App from the iTunes App Store (for iPod/iPhone/iPad), from the Google Play Store (for Androids), or from Blackberry World (for Blackberry).

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

See the calendar of future Virtual Meetings sessions at www.genealogicalstudies.com; in the top menu choose INFORMATION and then VIRTUAL LEARNING ROOM in the drop-down menu.

If you have not attended a Virtual Meeting before, read the Instructions available at www.genealogicalstudies.com/instructions.pdf. If this URL does not open, please go to www.genealogicalstudies.com, click on Information in the top menu bar, and then Virtual Learning Room in the drop down menu. The link to the Instructions (in PDF format) will be at the top right of the page (you may need to scroll over to the right side of the page).

Leave a Reply