The National Institute for Genealogical Studies

LEADERS IN ONLINE GENEALOGY EDUCATION

The National Institute for Genealogical Studies - LEADERS IN ONLINE GENEALOGY EDUCATION

March 2017 Virtual Meeting Calendar

March by arztsamui/Courtesy of Freedigitalphotos.net

March by arztsamui/Courtesy of Freedigitalphotos.net

Do you have any questions about your courses or research? Join us for a virtual meeting applicable to your question during March. Even if you don’t have questions you are welcome to just listen, lurk and learn! We don’t mind in the least.

GENEALOGY TIP for March…attend National Institute virtual meetings to challenge yourself to…
a) learn a new technology.
b) communicate with someone new who has a similar interest.
c) learn a new research technique.

Below is the virtual meetings schedule for the month of March. Mark your calendars for sessions applicable to your area of studies or research.

Times given are Eastern Daylight Time.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Monday, March 13th at 7:00 PM EDT – Student discussion with Shannon Bennett about the Creating Genealogy Programs for Adults & the Younger Generation course.
Join Shannon  to ask questions about this course and creating genealogy programs.

Time zones:
Monday, March 13th – 7:00 PM Eastern; 6:00 PM Central; 4:00 PM Pacific; 11:00 PM in London, England;
Tuesday, March 14th – 10:00 AM in Sydney, Australia

MEETING LOCATION: http://genealogicalstudies.adobeconnect.com/professional/
(NOTE: No user name or password required. Please type in your first and last name; then click “Enter as a Guest”.)

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Saturday, March 18th at 8:00 AM EDT – All American courses with Gena Philibert-Ortega
Join Gena to ask questions about the American record courses and/or your research.

Time zones:
Saturday, March 18th – 8:00 AM Eastern; 7:00 AM Central; 5:00 AM Pacific; 12:00 PM in London, England;
Sunday, March 19th – 12:30 AM in Sydney, Australia

MEETING LOCATION: http://genealogicalstudies.adobeconnect.com/american/
(NOTE: No user name or password required. Please type in your first and last name; then click “Enter as a Guest”.)

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Saturday, March 18th at 9:00 AM EDT – All Analysis and Skills Mentoring Program – GENERAL with Gena Philibert-Ortega
This Virtual Meeting is appropriate for students registered in the Analysis and Skills Mentoring courses. Students registered in the Skills: Transcribing, Abstracting, Extracting, Skill-Building: Breaking Down Brick Walls, Skill-Building: Evidence Analysis, and Skill-Building: Nuts & Bolts of Reporting are also welcome to join. Topics for discussion include course procedure, evidence analysis, Genealogical Proof Standard (GPS), citations, ethics, timelines, transcriptions, abstractions, extractions, proof summaries and more.

Time zones:
Saturday, March 18th – 9:00 AM Eastern; 8:00 AM Central; 6:00 AM Pacific; 1:00 PM in London, England;
Sunday, March 19th – Midnight in Sydney, Australia

MEETING LOCATION: http://genealogicalstudies.adobeconnect.com/asgeneral/
(NOTE: No user name or password required. Please type in your first and last name; then click “Enter as a Guest”.)

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

 

Saturday, March 18th at 4:30 PM EDT – All English courses with Brenda Wheeler
Join Brenda to ask questions about the English record courses and/or your research.

Time zones:
Saturday, March 18th – 4:30 PM Eastern; 3:30 PM Central; 1:30 PM Pacific; 8:30 PM in London, England;
Sunday, March 19th – 7:30 AM in Sydney, Australia

MEETING LOCATION: http://genealogicalstudies.adobeconnect.com/english/
(NOTE: No user name or password required. Please type in your first and last name; then click “Enter as a Guest”.)

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Sunday, March 19th at 2:00 PM EDT – All Methodology courses with Gena Philibert-Ortega
This session is appropriate for ALL students no matter which country you are researching in. Join us to ask questions or to discuss organizing, skill-building, strategies, effective searching and recording, proving it, transcribing, abstracting, extracting, copyright, and much more.

Time zones:
Sunday, March 19th – 2:00 PM Eastern; 1:00 PM Central; 11:00 AM Pacific; 6:00 PM in London, England;
Monday, March 20th – 5:00 AM in Sydney, Australia

MEETING LOCATION: http://genealogicalstudies.adobeconnect.com/methodology/
(NOTE: No user name or password required. Please type in your first and last name; then click “Enter as a Guest”.)

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Sunday, March 19th at 3:30 PM EDT – Internet Tools with Gena Philibert-Ortega
This session is appropriate for students registered in/working on the Connecting Family: Online and Virtually, Google for the Wise Genealogist, and Social Media Tools for the Wise Genealogist courses, although all are welcome. Join Gena to ask questions about these courses and/or your Internet searches.

Time zones:
Sunday, March 19th – 3:30 PM Eastern; 2:30 PM Central; 12:30 PM Pacific; 7:30 PM in London, England;
Monday, March 20th – 6:30 AM in Sydney, Australia

MEETING LOCATION: http://genealogicalstudies.adobeconnect.com/internettools/
(NOTE: No user name or password required. Please type in your first and last name; then click “Enter as a Guest”.)

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Tuesday, March 21st at 4:00 AM EDT – All Methodology courses with Brenda Wheeler
This session is appropriate for ALL students no matter which country you are researching in. Join us to ask questions or to discuss organizing, skill-building, strategies, effective searching and recording, proving it, transcribing, abstracting, extracting, copyright, and much more.

This Virtual Meeting is available for the convenience of our Australasia students; however, everyone is welcome to participate! It is applicable to all students no matter what country you are researching in.

Time zones:
Tuesday, March 21st – 4:00 AM Eastern; 3:00 AM Central; 1:00 AM Pacific; 8:00 AM in London, England; 7:00 PM in Sydney, Australia

MEETING LOCATION: http://genealogicalstudies.adobeconnect.com/methodology/
(NOTE: No user name or password required. Please type in your first and last name; then click “Enter as a Guest”.)

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Wednesday, March 22nd at 10:00 AM EDT – All Canadian courses with Kathryn Lake Hogan
Join Kathryn to ask questions about the Canadian record courses and/or your research.

Time zones:
Wednesday, March 22nd – 10:00 AM Eastern; 9:00 AM Central; 7:00 AM Pacific; 2:00 PM in London, England;
Thursday, March 23rd – 1:00 AM in Sydney, Australia

MEETING LOCATION: http://genealogicalstudies.adobeconnect.com/canadian/
(NOTE: No user name or password required. Please type in your first and last name; then click “Enter as a Guest”.)

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Wednesday, March 22nd at 4:00 PM EDT – Analysis and Skills Mentoring Program-Part 3 – ARTICLE REVIEW with Gena Philibert-Ortega
This Virtual Meeting is more appropriate for students registered in this course. Please follow the directions found in your course material and read the article “Identification through Signatures: Using Complex Direct Evidence to Sort Colwills of Cornwall” by Ronald A. Hill (NGSQ Vol. 87, No. 3, September, 1999).

Time zones:
Wednesday, March 22nd – 4:00 PM Eastern; 3:00 PM Central; 1:00 PM Pacific; 8:00 PM in London, England;
Thursday, March 23rd – 7:00 AM in Sydney, Australia

MEETING LOCATION: http://genealogicalstudies.adobeconnect.com/asarticle3/
(NOTE: No user name or password required. Please type in your first and last name; then click “Enter as a Guest”.)

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Wednesday, March 22nd at 7:00 PM EDT – Analysis and Skills Mentoring Program-Part 1 – ARTICLE REVIEW with Gena Philibert-Ortega
This Virtual Meeting is more appropriate for students registered in this course. Please follow the directions found in your course material and read the article “Heritage Books and Family Lore: A Jackson Test in Missouri and Idaho” by Connie Lenzen (NGSQ Vol. 86, No. 1, March, 1998).

Time zones:
Wednesday, March 22nd – 7:00 PM Eastern; 6:00 PM Central; 4:00 PM Pacific; 11:00 PM in London, England;
Thursday, March 23rd – 10:00 AM in Sydney, Australia

MEETING LOCATION: http://genealogicalstudies.adobeconnect.com/asarticle1/
(NOTE: No user name or password required. Please type in your first and last name; then click “Enter as a Guest”.)

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Tuesday, March 28th at Noon EDT – Student discussion with Shannon Bennett about the Business Skills: Creating a Business course; hosted by Gena Philibert-Ortega
Join Shannon and Gena to ask questions about this course .

Time zones:
Tuesday, February 28th – Noon Eastern; 11:00 AM Central; 9:00 AM Pacific; 5:00 PM in London, England;
Wednesday, March 29th – 3:00 AM in Sydney, Australia

MEETING LOCATION: http://genealogicalstudies.adobeconnect.com/professional/
(NOTE: No user name or password required. Please type in your first and last name; then click “Enter as a Guest”.)

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

LISTEN ON THE GO!
Want to listen to the student presentation but will not be at your computer? No problem! You can download the FREE Adobe Connect Mobile App from the iTunes App Store (for iPod/iPhone/iPad), from Google Play (for Androids), or from Blackberry World (for Blackberry).

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

See the calendar of future Virtual Meetings sessions at www.genealogicalstudies.com; in the top menu choose INFORMATION and then VIRTUAL LEARNING ROOM in the drop-down menu.

If you have not attended a Virtual Meeting before, read the Instructions available at www.genealogicalstudies.com/instructions.pdf. If this URL does not open, please go to www.genealogicalstudies.com, click on Information in the top menu bar, and then Virtual Learning Room in the drop down menu. The link to the Instructions (in PDF format) will be at the top right of the page (you may need to scroll over to the right side of the page)

Leave a Reply