The National Institute for Genealogical Studies

LEADERS IN ONLINE GENEALOGY EDUCATION

The National Institute for Genealogical Studies - LEADERS IN ONLINE GENEALOGY EDUCATION

Midwestern Roots 2019 Conference

The Midwestern Roots Conference will be taking place July 18th-20th and we here at The National Institute for Genealogical Studies are excited. Why are we excited? Because we will be attending!

We enjoy meeting with our current students, those who have graduated, and new students. No matter where you are at in your genealogy education, we have courses for you. I’m sure you have questions for us so please stop by our booth and visit with Angela Rodesky she will be more than happy to answer all of your questions.

Plus, while there don’t forget to register for your FREE complimentary course just for attending the conference.

Time is Ticking Away!!

Our Summer Time Surprise isn’t forever. It will be over soon. Make sure you don’t miss out.

  •  25% off 1 course package (maximum savings $862.50) with  code: pk2019ss at checkout.

Or

  • 50% off 1 course (maximum savings $80.00) with code: sc2019ss at checkout.

Problems registering for a course or a course package? We’re here to help!  Give us a call at   1-800-580-0165  ext 3. You may even email us at media@genealogicalstudies.com (Any voicemail or email received from midnight to midnight will qualify for the discount.)

Your Summer Surprise!!

A surprise gift just for you! For one day only (24 hours) you can save:

25% off 1 course package (maximum savings $862.50) with code: pk2019ss at checkout.

or

50% off 1 course (maximum savings $80.00) with code: sc2019ss at checkout.

Problems registering for a course or a course package? We’re here to help! Give us a call at 1-800-580-0165 ext 3. You may also email us at admin@genealogicalstudies.com and media@genealogicalstudies.com (Any voicemail or email received from midnight to midnight will qualify for the discount.)

Please note: Once you register for and pay for the course, it will show up in the future course area of your student briefcase immediately after the payment is processed. The same is true for the course package. If they do not show up, please call or email us right away.

If finances are a little tight, call the number above and ask about The National Institute payment plan. The Institute does not charge interest, nor service fees, and you can spread the payments over several months.

Remember! This offer is for 24 hours only.

Tomorrow is the BIG Day!!

 

 

 

 

 

 

Are you ready?  

Tomorrow we reveal your surprise!

July 2019 Conferences

June conferences have come to a close and now we are looking at the month of July. We here at The National Institute for Genealogy Studies will be attending a few conferences this month. So, if any of these are on your calendar please stop by our booth, say hi and visit for a while.

Month by arztsamui/Courtesy of Freedigitalphotos.net

  1.  1. July 18th – July 20th –  Midwestern Roots at the Marriot East in Indianapolis, IN
  2. 2. July 29th – August 2nd – 39th IAJGS International Conference on Jewish Genealogy at the Hilton Cleveland Downtown in Cleveland, OH

Have You Heard the News?

 

 

 

 

 

 

Our Summer Surprise reveal will happen at midnight on July 11th.

Summer Surprise!!


 

 

 

 

We have a Summer Surprise! Watch this space for the reveal on July 11th.

2019 Ontario Genealogical Society Annual Conference

OGS Conference

Canada’s largest annual gathering of family historians, the Ontario Genealogical Society’s Annual Conference, will be in London, Ontario from June 21st to the 23rd at the London Convention Center.

via Ontario Genealogical Society

So many activities are planned… Opening Ceremonies begin Friday evening, followed by a jam-packed program with lecture streams for Saturday and Sunday. Don’t forget about Marketplace, as it is a vital stop for attendees to network with OGS branches, OGS special interest groups, and vendors alike.

There’s something for everyone at this conference…

Do you have ancestors from England, Ireland, Scotland, The United States, Eastern Europe, The Netherlands, Spain, Mexico, or Southern America and naturally Canada?  There are lectures on each of these countries!

Do you know what treasures can be found at Library & Archives Canada or in the US Holocaust Memorial Museum, or how to plan a trip to your ancestral village? Yup! There will be lectures on these topics also.

Do you know how to share your family history findings through blogging, publishing or using YouTube, or what about holding a virtual family reunion? Lots of information about newspapers records, death & burial records, English asylum records & health records in Canada, WW1 and vets.

You are right, there will be sessions on each of these topics.

And naturally, no conference would be complete without figuring out what you need to know about Y-DNA, Y-Haplogroups, and DNA matches.

While at the conference, you might also meet many students from The National Institute for Genealogical Studies’ program. Half of the presenters at this year’s conference are either students, past and current, graduates, consultants or authors for our course materials. You may have taken a course prepared by Ruth Blair PLCGS, Kirsty Gray, Marian Press, John Reid or Glenn Wright, or you may have attended our Canadian virtual meetings lead by Kathryn Lake Hogan PLCGS. John Boeren from The Netherlands is in our 2019 Graduation class! Others have taken courses in the past.

Drop by The National Institute for Genealogical Studies’ booth in Marketplace to say hi, and meet the newest addition to our team, Angela Rodesky.

For more details: https://conference2019.ogs.on.ca/

June 2019 Virtual Meetings

Have questions about your courses or your research? Virtual Meetings are a way for you to communicate with an instructor. These meetings are NOT mandatory, but a fun & interactive way to ask questions about courses/research. Below are the June scheduled sessions. Join us!

“Month” by arztsamui/Courtesy of Freedigitalphotos.net

Wednesday, June 12th at 8:00 PM EDT – Canadian courses with Kathryn Lake Hogan         Time zones:
Wednesday, June 12th – 8:00 PM Eastern; 7:00 PM Central; 5:00 PM Pacific;    Thursday, June 13th – 1:00 AM in London, England; 10:00 AM in Sydney, Australia
MEETING LOCATION: http://genealogicalstudies.adobeconnect.com/canadian/
(Note: “Enter as a Guest”)

Thursday, June 13th at 5:00 AM EDT – Methodology courses with Brenda Wheeler
Time zones:
Thursday, June 13th – 5:00 AM Eastern; 4:00 AM Central; 2:00 AM Pacific; 10:00 AM in London, England; 7:00 PM in Sydney, Australia
MEETING LOCATION: http://genealogicalstudies.adobeconnect.com/methodology/
(Note: “Enter as a Guest”)

Saturday, June 15th at 10:00 AM EDT – American Record courses with Gena Philibert-Ortega
Time zones:
Saturday, June 15th – 10:00 AM Eastern; 9:00 AM Central; 7:00 AM Pacific; 3:00 PM in London, England;
Sunday, June 16th – midnight in Sydney, Australia
MEETING LOCATION: http://genealogicalstudies.adobeconnect.com/american/
(Note: “Enter as a Guest”)

Saturday, June 15th at 11:30 AM EDT – Methodology courses with Gena Philibert-Ortega
Time zones:
Saturday, June 15th – 11:30 AM Eastern; 10:30 AM Central; 8:30 AM Pacific; 4:30 PM in London, England;
Sunday, June 16th – 1:30 AM in Sydney, Australia
MEETING LOCATION: http://genealogicalstudies.adobeconnect.com/methodology/
(Note: “Enter as a Guest”)

Sunday, June 16th at 8:00 PM EDT – English Records courses with Brenda Wheeler           Time zones:
Sunday, June 16th – 8:00 PM Eastern; 7:00 PM Central; 5:00 PM Pacific;
Monday, June 17th – 1:00 AM in London, England; 10:00 AM in Sydney, Australia
MEETING LOCATION: http://genealogicalstudies.adobeconnect.com/english/
(Note: “Enter as a Guest”)

Sunday, June 23rd at 7:00 PM EDT – Analysis and Skills Mentoring Program – GENERAL with Gena Philibert-Ortega  
Time zones:
Sunday, June 23rd – 7:00 PM Eastern; 6:00 PM Central; 4:00 PM Pacific;
Monday, June 17th – midnight in London, England; 9:00 AM in Sydney, Australia
MEETING LOCATION: http://genealogicalstudies.adobeconnect.com/asgeneral/
(Note: “Enter as a Guest”)

Sunday, June 23rd at 8:30 PM EDT – Internet Tools with Gena Philibert-Ortega
Time zones:
Sunday, June 23rd – 8:30 PM Eastern; 7:30 PM Central; 5:30 PM Pacific;
Monday, June 17th – 1:30 AM in London, England; 10:30 AM in Sydney, Australia
MEETING LOCATION: http://genealogicalstudies.adobeconnect.com/internettools/
(Note: “Enter as a Guest”)

Tuesday, June 25th at 6:30 PM EDT – Analysis and Skills Mentoring Program-Part 3 – ARTICLE REVIEW with Gena Philibert-Ortega   
Please follow the directions found in your course material and read the article.
Time zones:
Tuesday, June 25th – 6:30 PM Eastern; 5:30 PM Central; 3:30 PM Pacific; 11:30 PM in London, England;
Wednesday, June 26th – 8:30 AM in Sydney, Australia
MEETING LOCATION: http://genealogicalstudies.adobeconnect.com/asarticle3/
(Note: “Enter as a Guest”)

Wednesday June 26th at 8:00 PM EDT – Student Presentation with host Kathy Holland
Presenter: Bev MacCulloch; Topic: Ontario’s Township Papers

Time zones:
Wednesday June 26th – 8:00 PM Eastern; 7:00 PM Central; 5:00 PM Pacific;
Thursday, June 27th – 1:00 AM in London, England; 10:00 AM in Sydney, Australia
MEETING LOCATION: http://genealogicalstudies.adobeconnect.com/lecturing/
(Note: “Enter as a Guest”)

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Calendar of Virtual Meetings is at www.genealogicalstudies.com; top menu > INFORMATION > VIRTUAL LEARNING ROOM.

If you have not attended a Virtual Meeting before, read the Instructions at www.genealogicalstudies.com/instructions.pdf.

Keeping In Touch With The National Institute For Genealogical Studies

In the genealogy world we need to communicate with each other to keep abreast of the constantly evolving research methods and resources. The same is true within The National Institute for Genealogical Studies. As a student of the National Institute, there are various ways you can communicate with us and your fellow students. Here is how:

#1 By email to the National Institute

NOTE: When contacting us please include your FIRST & LAST NAME and the COURSE TITLE, including the COUNTRY the course applies to. It is also helpful if you include the module number and section title you are referring to.

i) admin@genealogicalstudies.com – for general questions;

ii) alert@genealogicalstudies.com – to advise us of broken links in your course materials and assignments–please be specific as to where problem is;

iii) exam@genealogicalstudies.com – questions pertaining to your course exam.

#2 By email to a fellow student

When you view a fellow student’s public assignment SUBMISSION/ANSWER and you would like to contact them about something in their posting, simply click on the envelope icon to the right of the student’s name. A new window will open where you can type your message. For privacy reasons, you will not see the recipient’s email address and they have the option to reply or not.

#3 Attend a Virtual Meeting

VIRTUAL MEETINGS ARE THE BEST PLACE TO COMMUNICATE with an instructor and fellow students. Anyone can participate! You do not have to be registered in the course to attend. When attending virtual meetings, please bring questions applicable to the topic being discussed.

Watch for our emails outlining upcoming virtual meetings dates and times. Or visit our website at www.genealogicalstudies.com, click on Information in the top menu bar, and then Virtual Learning Room for the full schedule.

#4 Follow the National Institute’s Blog

Go to http://blog.genealogicalstudies.com/ and scroll down. On the right hand side of the page you will see Subscribe to Blog via Email. In the text box, enter your email address and click on the Subscribe button. Once subscribed, you will receive an email each time we post an article. Each blog article includes a link to write a comment or share via social media. Look for these options at the end of each blog post.

#5 Follow us on Twitter

Once signed into your Twitter account, search for us on Twitter by our Twitter name @GeneaStudies. On our Twitter page, click on the Follow button to subscribe to our tweets. Not a member of Twitter? No problem, just go to Twitter www.twitter.com and join. Membership is free.

#6 Follow the National Institute on Facebook

To follow us on Facebook you must be a member. To join Facebook go to www.facebook.com and sign up. Find us on Facebook at https://www.facebook.com/geneastudies/ and click on the Like button on the top right of our page.

#7 Join a GenealogyWise group to communicate with your fellow students

Go to www.genealogywise.com/ and Sign Up. There are groups set up for each of the National Institute’s country streams; i.e. American, Australian, Canadian, English, German, Irish, and Scottish, as well as Methodology, Librarianship, Alumni, and First Timer FAQs.

#8 Follow GenealogyWise on Facebook

To follow us on Facebook you must be a member. To join Facebook go to www.facebook.com and sign up. Find us on Facebook at www.facebook.com/GenealogyWise and click on the Like button on the top right of our page.

#9 Consultation with an instructor ($)

If you want to have a one-on-one consultation with an instructor this can be arranged. Please email admin@genealogicalstudies.com to request an appointment. When emailing please provide some information as to what course and some background details you would like to discuss so we can recommend a consultation with an appropriate instructor. The consultation with an instructor is available for a modest fee.

 

Good luck with your studies and research!

%d bloggers like this: