The National Institute for Genealogical Studies

LEADERS IN ONLINE GENEALOGY EDUCATION

The National Institute for Genealogical Studies - LEADERS IN ONLINE GENEALOGY EDUCATION

Your Ancestor’s Locations

Your Ancestor’s Locations 

It is extremely important to learn about the location(s) our ancestors lived. We need to be aware of when certain jurisdictions were formed, what records were kept and when, which jurisdictions were responsible for keeping specific records, and what records are currently accessible.

via Canva.com

Keep in mind that jurisdictional boundaries may have changed over time, so it is important to keep track of what jurisdictions a location was a part of during the time the family resided there. Therefore, the use of historical and modern-day maps is essential. For example, the area now known as the City of Auburn in New York was a part of Onondaga County until 1799 when Cayuga County was formed.

Another problem we run into is location name changes. Consider the city of Auburn, New York as an example. It was originally known as Hardenberg’s Corners situated in the town of Aurelius. In 1805, it became the Cayuga County seat and was renamed. We also need to learn about the history of the location. In the United States, local histories can provide a wealth of information. We can often learn about what types of groups settled in a location, where they came from, and if they later dispersed, giving us wonderful clues for further research. There are a variety of recourses available to help us learn about different locations.

Finally, we need to understand the laws that were in place for the time period and location we are studying. This includes such things as the minimum age for marriage and if parental consent was allowed for those underage. Of course, keep in mind that the law is always changing; what may have been the legal age for marriage at one time, maybe different fifty years later.

What do you need to know about your ancestor’s location? To find out, check out the course Skill-Building: Breaking Down Brick Walls which offers tips and techniques you need for researching your ancestors.

Time is Ticking Away

 

 

 

 

 

Our Seasonal Surprise isn’t forever. It will be over soon. Make sure you don’t miss out.

  •  25% off 1 course package (maximum savings $862.50) with  code: p2018xx at checkout.

Or

  • 50% off 1 course (maximum savings $80.00) with code: c2018xx at checkout.

Problems registering for a course or a course package? We’re here to help!  Give us a call at   1-800-580-0165 ext 1 or ext 3. You may even email us at admin@genealogicalstudies.com (Any voicemail or email received from midnight to midnight will qualify for the discount.)

Please note: Once you register and pay for the course, it will show up in the future course area of your student briefcase immediately after the payment is processed. The same is true for the course package. If they do not show up, please call or email us right away.

If finances are a little tight, call at the number above and ask about The National Institute payment plan. The Institute does not charge interest, nor service fees, and you can spread the payments over several months.

Remember! This offer is for 24 hours only and expires at midnight!

Your Surprise Has Arrived!

 

A surprise gift just for you. For one day only (24 hours) you can save:

 25% off 1 course package (maximum savings $862.50) with code: p2018xx at checkout.

Or
50% off 1 course (maximum savings $80.00) with code: c2018xx at checkout.

Problems registering for a course or a course package? We’re here to help!  Give us a call at   1-800-580-0165 ext 1 or ext 3. You may also email us at admin@genealogicalstudies.com and media@genealogicalstudies.com (Any voicemail or email received from midnight to midnight will qualify for the discount.)

Please note: Once you register and pay for the course, it will show up in the future course area of your student briefcase immediately after the payment is processed. The same is true for the course package. If they do not show up, please call or email us right away.

If finances are a little tight, call the number above and ask about The National Institute payment plan. The Institute does not charge interest, nor service fees, and you can spread the payments over several months.

Remember! This offer is for 24 hours only.

Happy Holidays!

Tomorrow’s the BIG Day!!

 


 

 

 

 

Are you ready?  

Tomorrow we reveal your surprise!

Mapping Your Ancestors

 Mapping Your Ancestors 

Geography is an important element in your family history research. Did your ancestor contend with mountains, valleys, or waterways? The best way to answer these questions and potentially uncover new research avenues is to take a look at maps, particularly those contemporary to the time periods with which you are researching.

via Canva.com

  • Physical maps are most helpful in determining a person’s location relative to their surroundings, including boundaries, roadways, railways, waterways, and sometimes places of interest, such as churches and schools.
  • Political maps can help determine neighboring jurisdictions and that may contain records about your ancestors.
  • Plat maps, in most cases, are sketches that depict property boundaries of a particular area. Many of these maps also include a variety of physical features, such as roadways, railways, waterways, schools, churches, cemeteries and landscape elements. Plat maps may also indicate the landowner for each parcel.
  • Topographic maps are helpful for learning the details of a location’s landscape. These maps are helpful for determining if land features such as waterways, mountains, or valleys may have influenced your ancestor’s decision to attend a church or register a birth in a different place than you would have expected.

As with many resources, there are various ways to find and access maps. With our Skill Building: Breaking Brick Walls Course you will learn more ways to use these maps.

Have You Heard?

A Surprise Savings you won’t want to miss!

 


 

 

 

 

The big reveal happens November 14th at midnight!

November 2018 Virtual Meetings

Month by arztsamui/Courtesy of Freedigitalphotos.net

Have any questions about your courses or your research? Virtual Meetings are a way for you to communicate with an instructor. Below are our scheduled sessions for the month of November.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Tuesday, November 13th at 7:00 PM EST – Methodology courses with Gena Philibert-Ortega
Time zones:
Tuesday, November 13th – 7:00 PM Eastern; 6:00 PM Central; 4:00 PM Pacific; Wednesday, November 14th – Midnight in London, England; 11:00 AM in Sydney, Australia
MEETING LOCATION: http://genealogicalstudies.adobeconnect.com/methodology/
(Note: “Enter as a Guest”)

Tuesday, November 13th at 8:30 PM EST – American Record courses with Gena Philibert-Ortega
Time zones:
Tuesday, November 13th – 8:30 PM Eastern; 7:30 PM Central; 5:30 PM Pacific;
Wednesday, November 14th – 1:30 AM in London, England; 12:30 PM in Sydney, Australia
MEETING LOCATION: http://genealogicalstudies.adobeconnect.com/american/
(Note: “Enter as a Guest”)

Wednesday, November 14th at 7:00 PM EST – Analysis and Skills Mentoring Program – GENERAL with Gena Philibert-Ortega
Time zones:
Wednesday, November 14th – 7:00 PM Eastern; 6:00 PM Central; 4:00 PM Pacific;
Thursday, November 15th – Midnight in London, England; 11:00 AM in Sydney, Australia
MEETING LOCATION: http://genealogicalstudies.adobeconnect.com/asgeneral/
(Note: “Enter as a Guest”)

Wednesday, November 14th at 8:30 PM EST – Internet Tools with Gena Philibert-Ortega
Time zones:
Wednesday, November 14th – 8:30 PM Eastern; 7:30 PM Central; 5:30 PM Pacific;
Thursday, November 15th – 1:30 AM in London, England; 12:30 PM in Sydney, Australia
MEETING LOCATION: http://genealogicalstudies.adobeconnect.com/internettools/
(Note: “Enter as a Guest”)

Thursday, November 15th at 6:30 PM EST – Analysis and Skills Mentoring Program-Part 3 – ARTICLE REVIEW with Gena Philibert-Ortega
Time zones:
Thursday, November 15th – 6:30 PM Eastern; 5:30 PM Central; 3:30 PM Pacific; 11:30 PM in London, England;
Friday, November 16th – 10:30 AM in Sydney, Australia
MEETING LOCATION: http://genealogicalstudies.adobeconnect.com/asarticle3/

(Note: “Enter as a Guest”)

Saturday, November 17th at 10:00 AM EST – DNA Records courses with Shannon Combs-Bennett
Time zones:
Saturday, November 17th – 10:00 AM Eastern; 9:00 AM Central; 7:00 AM Pacific; 3:00 PM in London, England;
Sunday, November 18th – 2:00 AM in Sydney, Australia
MEETING LOCATION: http://genealogicalstudies.adobeconnect.com/dna/
(Note: “Enter as a Guest”)

Sunday, November 18th at 1:30 PM EST – Scottish Records courses with Sheena Tait
Time zones:
Sunday, November 18th – 1:30 PM Eastern; 12:30 PM Central; 10:30 AM Pacific; 6:30 PM in London, England;
Monday, November 19th – 5:30 AM in Sydney, Australia
MEETING LOCATION: http://genealogicalstudies.adobeconnect.com/scottish/ (Note: “Enter as a Guest”)

Sunday, November 18th at 3:30 PM EST – Analysis and Skills Mentoring Program-Part 1 – ARTICLE REVIEW with Gena Philibert-Ortega
Time zones:
Sunday, November 18th – 3:30 PM Eastern; 2:30 PM Central; 12:30 PM Pacific; 8:30 PM in London, England;
Monday, November 19th – 7:30 AM in Sydney, Australia
MEETING LOCATION: http://genealogicalstudies.adobeconnect.com/asarticle1/ (Note: “Enter as a Guest”)

Tuesday, November 20th at 4:00 PM EST – Student Presentation with host Kathy Holland
Presenter: Rebecca Novy; Topic: “Digitizing Your Genealogy Research”
Time zones:
Tuesday, November 20th – 4:00 PM Eastern; 3:00 PM Central; 1:00 PM Pacific; 9:00 PM in London, England;
Wednesday, November 21st – 8:00 AM in Sydney, Australia
MEETING LOCATION: http://genealogicalstudies.adobeconnect.com/lecturing/
(Note: “Enter as a Guest”)

Wednesday, November 21st at 8:00 PM EST – Canadian courses with Kathryn Lake Hogan
Time zones:
Wednesday, November 21st – 8:00 PM Eastern; 7:00 PM Central; 5:00 PM Pacific;
Thursday, November 22nd – 1:00 AM in London, England; Noon in Sydney, Australia
MEETING LOCATION: http://genealogicalstudies.adobeconnect.com/canadian/ (Note: “Enter as a Guest”)

Tuesday, November 27th at 7:00 PM EST – Methodology courses with Brenda Wheeler
Note: For the convenience of Australasia students; however, all welcome.
Time zones:
Tuesday, November 27th – 7:00 PM Eastern; 6:00 PM Central; 4:00 PM Pacific;
Wednesday, November 28th – Midnight in London, England; 11:00 AM in Sydney, Australia
MEETING LOCATION: http://genealogicalstudies.adobeconnect.com/methodology/
(Note: “Enter as a Guest”)

Wednesday, November 28th at 7:00 PM EST – English Record courses with Brenda Wheeler
Time zones:
Wednesday, November 28th – 7:00 PM Eastern; 6:00 PM Central; 4:00 PM Pacific;
Thursday, November 29th – Midnight in London, England; 11:00 AM in Sydney, Australia
MEETING LOCATION: http://genealogicalstudies.adobeconnect.com/english/
(Note: “Enter as a Guest”)

Thursday, November 29th at 7:00 PM EST – Irish Record courses with Brenda Wheeler
Time zones:
Thursday, November 29th – 7:00 PM Eastern; 6:00 PM Central; 4:00 PM Pacific;
Friday, November 30th – Midnight in London, England; 11:00 AM in Sydney, Australia
MEETING LOCATION: http://genealogicalstudies.adobeconnect.com/irish/
(Note: “Enter as a Guest”)

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Calendar of Virtual Meetings is at www.genealogicalstudies.com; top menu > INFORMATION > VIRTUAL LEARNING ROOM.

If you have not attended a Virtual Meeting before, read the Instructions at www.genealogicalstudies.com/instructions.pdf.

Join Us For Digitizing Your Genealogy Research

The National Institute for Genealogical Studies course, Lecturing Skills Including Preparation, teaches the skills needed to present genealogical-related lectures. It is a “hands on” course where the student presents a lecture via our Virtual Learning Room. We invite you to participate and hear your fellow student. This is a 30-minute lecture, followed by a 10-minute Question & Answer period and a short poll to provide the student with feedback on her skills. Please come and support your fellow students!

This is an excellent learning experience for all involved–the student presenter and the audience! We all can learn new and interesting tidbits, even from topics that are not in our area of research.

Join us on November 20, 2018 at 4:00pm EST for Digitizing Your Genealogy Research.

Many genealogists are turning to digitization to preserve and share their research. Learn reasons for digitizing, how to implement a digitization project and what to do when digitization is complete.

Rebecca Novy. Used with permission.

Presenter: Rebecca Novy is a genealogy professional specializing in helping others achieve their genealogy goals through research, teaching classes, coaching, and participating in local transcription projects.

This presentation will be held in the Virtual Meeting room.

A Surprise Just for You!

 

 

 

 

 

We have a surprise for you! Watch this space for the reveal on November 14th.

Understanding Newspapers

 Do You Understand What You are Reading?

As you begin searching for mentions of your ancestor in the newspaper, you may begin to wonder if you are reading a foreign language. The vernacular or abbreviations that you are reading are the result of the newspaper world, or the general colloquialism of the time.

via Canva.com

 Abbreviations may be a little more prevalent than you anticipated as a result of the limited typeface of the publisher. Some of these abbreviations may have been encountered in other records including census, vital, land, or probate. Some of the abbreviations were used when there was limited space, perhaps where the vital records announcements might have been included, for instance.  

  • Inst. – is the abbreviation for instant and means that the event took place in that month. 
  • Ult. – is the abbreviation for Ultimo, a Latin word that refers to the past month.  
  • Esq. – which actually comes at the end of the name and is the abbreviation for Esquire.  

Remember that as you are working in older newspapers that the terms are not always the same in meaning as they are now. So, you may find that reading through certain news stories can take a little more time than reading a news story in today’s papers. With our United States: Newspaper Records course, you will learn more research techniques when using these records in your research.

%d bloggers like this: