The National Institute for Genealogical Studies

LEADERS IN ONLINE GENEALOGY EDUCATION

The National Institute for Genealogical Studies - LEADERS IN ONLINE GENEALOGY EDUCATION

An Invitation to Our Student Lounge

We are all experiencing uncertain times and many of us are practicing social distancing and self-isolation. Many genealogists, as well as our students, are taking advantage of this extra time to work on family history and the National Institute’s online courses.

To help you at this time, we have decided to open our Student Lounge to a broader audience to give you the ability to communicate with those that have like-minded interests… family history and especially our National Institute’s courses. During your time spent in the Student Lounge, we ask that you PLEASE KEEP THE DISCUSSION ABOUT GENEALOGY AND THE ONLINE COURSES ONLY. We are all dealing with enough stress and do not want to add to it. This is a time to enjoy your family history, courses, and learn genealogy from others.

The sessions will be monitored during the Student Lounge hours. Please note that this is an opportunity for attendees to interact. As time permits, monitors will pop into the Virtual Learning Room to answer questions. There will be a Question of the Day posted to encourage conversation, PLUS note the information for a Special Discussion Session each day at 2 PM EDT.

Please join us in the Student Lounge. When signing in, select “Enter as a Guest” and enter your first name along with your geographical location. See you there!

Student Lounge hours for this week are:
Tuesday, March 31st
Time zones: Eastern – 9 AM to 6 PM; Central – 8 AM to 5 PM; Mountain – 7 AM to 4 PM; Pacific – 6 AM to 3 PM; London, England – 2 PM to 11 PM; Sydney, Australia – Midnight to 9 AM on Wednesday, April 1st

Wednesday, April 1st
Time zones: Eastern – 9 AM to 6 PM; Central – 8 AM to 5 PM; Mountain – 7 AM to 4 PM; Pacific – 6 AM to 3 PM; London, England – 2 PM to 11 PM; Sydney, Australia – Midnight to 9 AM on Thursday, April 2nd

Thursday, April 2nd
Time zones: Eastern – 9 AM to 4:30 PM; Central – 8 AM to 3:30 PM; Mountain – 7 AM to 2:30 PM; Pacific – 6 AM to 1:30 PM; London, England – 2 PM to 8:30 PM; Sydney, Australia – Midnight to 7:30 AM on Friday, April 3rd

Topics of Special Discussion Sessions:
Tips for Navigating your Student Briefcase with Sue de Groot 
Tuesday, March 31st – Time zones: Eastern – 2 PM; Central – 1 PM; Mountain – Noon; Pacific – 11 AM; London, England – 7 PM; Sydney, AU Wednesday, April 1st – 5 AM

Fun & Games with Sue & Gena
Wednesday, April 1st – Time zones: Eastern – 2 PM; Central – 1 PM; Mountain – Noon; Pacific – 11 AM; London, England – 7 PM; Sydney, AU Thursday, April 2nd – 5 AM

Methodology Tips with Gena Philbert-Ortega
Thursday, April 2nd – Time zones: Eastern – 2 PM; Central – 1 PM; Mountain – Noon; Pacific – 11 AM; London, England – 7 PM; Sydney, AU Friday, April 3rd – 5 AM

We hope you will join the discussion with our students. Please keep yourself and your family safe — follow the recommendations of your country’s government. Happy Researching!

Note: Facebook Event here 

See complete list of Virtual Meetings here.

Leave a Reply