The National Institute for Genealogical Studies

LEADERS IN ONLINE GENEALOGY EDUCATION

The National Institute for Genealogical Studies - LEADERS IN ONLINE GENEALOGY EDUCATION

Student Presentation: Telling your Ancestor’s Story Using US Civil War Records

The National Institute for Genealogical Studies course, Lecturing Skills Including Preparation, teaches the skills needed to present genealogical-related lectures. It is a “hands on” course where the student presents a lecture via our Virtual Learning Room. We invite you to participate and hear your fellow student. This is a 30-minute lecture, followed by a 10-minute Question & Answer period and a short poll to provide the student with feedback on their skills. Please come and support your fellow student!

This is an excellent learning experience for all involved–the student presenter and the audience! We all can learn new and interesting tidbits, even from topics that are not in our area of research.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Join us on Friday, June 8th at 5:00 PM EDT when Albert Baines presents “Telling your Ancestor’s Story Using US Civil War Records.”

 

Albert Baines. Used with permission.

Presenter: Albert Baines, PLCGS has focused on the need to understand American and English records and history. He shares what he has learned to prevent others making the same mistakes.

Presentation Description: Civil War Military records can bring your ancestor to life by providing not only information concerning their military service but also details of their lives before and after the war.

Time zones:
Friday, June 8th – 5:00 PM Eastern; 4:00 PM Central; 2:00 PM Pacific; 10:00 PM in London, England;
Saturday, June 9th – 7:00 AM in Sydney, Australia

MEETING LOCATION: http://genealogicalstudies.adobeconnect.com/lecturing/
(NOTE: No user name or password required. Please type in your first and last name; then click “Enter as a Guest”.)

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

We would like to thank Kathy Holland for hosting this student presentation.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Remember, to join a Virtual Meeting … anyone can participate. Hope to see you there!

To enter the Virtual Learning Room for a session you would like to attend, please click on the Location link or enter the Location URL into your browser. (No user name or password required; “Enter as a Guest”)

NOTE: Please sign in with your first AND last names when joining a Virtual Meeting. This will help everyone differentiate between individuals with the same name. (No user name or password required. Please type in your first and last name; then click “Enter as a Guest”.)

Leave a Reply