The National Institute for Genealogical Studies

LEADERS IN ONLINE GENEALOGY EDUCATION

The National Institute for Genealogical Studies - LEADERS IN ONLINE GENEALOGY EDUCATION

February 2017 Virtual Meetings

Month by arztsamui /Courtesy Freedigitalphotos.net

Month by arztsamui /Courtesy Freedigitalphotos.net

Do you have questions about your courses or genealogy research? Join us for a virtual meeting applicable to your question during February. Even if you don’t have questions you are welcome to just listen and learn! We don’t mind in the least.

EXCITING NEWS! We have added a new Virtual Meeting to our lineup…Shannon Combs-Bennett will be hosting the DNA virtual meetings. Shannon will be available to answer you DNA questions starting later this month (see below).

Below is the virtual meetings schedule for the month of February. Mark your calendars for sessions applicable to your area of studies or research. Please note that times given are Eastern Standard Time.

These Virtual Meetings are just one of a number of ways for you can communicate with an instructor and your fellow students.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Wednesday, February 15th at 8:00 PM EST – All Canadian courses with Kathryn Lake Hogan
Join Kathryn to ask questions about the Canadian record courses and/or your research.

Time zones:
Wednesday, February 15th – 8:00 PM Eastern; 7:00 PM Central; 5:00 PM Pacific;
Thursday, February 16th – 1:00 AM in London, England; Noon in Sydney, Australia

MEETING LOCATION: http://genealogicalstudies.adobeconnect.com/canadian/
(NOTE: No user name or password required. Please type in your first and last name; then click “Enter as a Guest”.)

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Thursday, February 16th at 4:00 PM EST – Analysis and Skills Mentoring Program-Part 2 – ARTICLE REVIEW with Gena Philibert-Ortega
This Virtual Meeting is more appropriate for students registered in this course. Please follow the directions found in your course material and read the article “Organizing Meager Evidence to Reveal Lineages: An Irish Example—Geddes of Tyrone” by Thomas W. Jones (NGSQ Vol. 89, No.2, June, 2001).

Time zones:
Thursday, February 16th – 4:00 PM Eastern; 3:00 PM Central; 1:00 PM Pacific; 9:00 PM in London, England;
Friday, February 17th – 8:00 AM in Sydney, Australia

MEETING LOCATION: http://genealogicalstudies.adobeconnect.com/asarticle2/
(NOTE: No user name or password required. Please type in your first and last name; then click “Enter as a Guest”.)

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Thursday, February 16th at 6:30 PM EST – All American courses with Gena Philibert-Ortega
Join Gena to ask questions about the American record courses and/or your research.

Time zones:
Thursday, February 16th – 6:30 PM Eastern; 5:30 PM Central; 3:30 PM Pacific; 11:30 PM in London, England;
Friday, February 17th – 10:30 AM in Sydney, Australia

MEETING LOCATION: http://genealogicalstudies.adobeconnect.com/american/
(NOTE: No user name or password required. Please type in your first and last name; then click “Enter as a Guest”.)

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Thursday, February 16th at 8:00 PM EST – Internet Tools with Gena Philibert-Ortega
This session is appropriate for students registered in/working on the Connecting Family: Online and Virtually, Google for the Wise Genealogist, and Social Media Tools for the Wise Genealogist courses, although all are welcome. Join Gena to ask questions about these courses and/or your Internet searches.

Time zones:
Thursday, February 16th – 8:00 PM Eastern; 7:00 PM Central; 5:00 PM Pacific;
Friday, February 17th – 1:00 AM in London, England; Noon in Sydney, Australia

MEETING LOCATION: http://genealogicalstudies.adobeconnect.com/internettools/
(NOTE: No user name or password required. Please type in your first and last name; then click “Enter as a Guest”.)

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Monday, February 20th at 3:00 PM EST – All English courses with Brenda Wheeler
Join Brenda to ask questions about the English record courses and/or your research.

Time zones:
Monday, February 20th – 3:00 PM Eastern; 2:00 PM Central; Noon Pacific; 8:00 PM in London, England;
Tuesday, February 21st – 7:00 AM in Sydney, Australia

MEETING LOCATION: http://genealogicalstudies.adobeconnect.com/english/
(NOTE: No user name or password required. Please type in your first and last name; then click “Enter as a Guest”.)

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Monday, February 20th at 4:30 PM EST – All Methodology courses with Brenda Wheeler
This session is appropriate for ALL students no matter which country you are researching in. Join us to ask questions or to discuss organizing, skill-building, strategies, effective searching and recording, proving it, transcribing, abstracting, extracting, copyright, and much more.

This Virtual Meeting is available for the convenience of our Australasia students; however, everyone is welcome to participate! It is applicable to all students no matter what country you are researching in.

Time zones:
Monday, February 20th – 4:30 PM Eastern; 3:30 PM Central; 1:30 PM Pacific; 9:30 PM in London, England;
Tuesday, February 21st – 8:30 AM in Sydney, Australia

MEETING LOCATION: http://genealogicalstudies.adobeconnect.com/methodology/
(NOTE: No user name or password required. Please type in your first and last name; then click “Enter as a Guest”.)

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Tuesday, February 21st at 6:30 PM EST – All Methodology courses with Gena Philibert-Ortega
This session is appropriate for ALL students no matter which country you are researching in. Join us to ask questions or to discuss organizing, skill-building, strategies, effective searching and recording, proving it, transcribing, abstracting, extracting, copyright, and much more.

Time zones:
Tuesday, February 21st – 6:30 PM Eastern; 5:30 PM Central; 3:30 PM Pacific; 11:30 PM in London, England;
Wednesday, February 22nd – 10:30 AM in Sydney, Australia

MEETING LOCATION: http://genealogicalstudies.adobeconnect.com/methodology/
(NOTE: No user name or password required. Please type in your first and last name; then click “Enter as a Guest”.)

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Tuesday, February 21st at 8:00 PM EST – All Analysis and Skills Mentoring Program – GENERAL with Gena Philibert-Ortega
This Virtual Meeting is appropriate for students registered in the Analysis and Skills Mentoring courses. Students registered in the Skills: Transcribing, Abstracting, Extracting, Skill-Building: Breaking Down Brick Walls, Skill-Building: Evidence Analysis, and Skill-Building: Nuts & Bolts of Reporting are also welcome to join. Topics for discussion include course procedure, evidence analysis, Genealogical Proof Standard (GPS), citations, ethics, timelines, transcriptions, abstractions, extractions, proof summaries and more.

Time zones:
Tuesday, February 21st – 8:00 PM Eastern; 7:00 PM Central; 5:00 PM Pacific;
Wednesday, February 22nd – 1:00 AM in London, England; Noon in Sydney, Australia

MEETING LOCATION: http://genealogicalstudies.adobeconnect.com/asgeneral/
(NOTE: No user name or password required. Please type in your first and last name; then click “Enter as a Guest”.)

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Saturday, February 25th at 3:30 PM EST – All Irish courses with Brenda Wheeler
Join Brenda to ask questions about the Irish record courses and/or your research.

Time zones:
Saturday, February 25th – 3:30 PM Eastern; 2:30 PM Central; 12:30 PM Pacific; 8:30 PM in London, England;
Sunday, February 26th – 7:30 AM in Sydney, Australia

MEETING LOCATION: http://genealogicalstudies.adobeconnect.com/irish/
(NOTE: No user name or password required. Please type in your first and last name; then click “Enter as a Guest”.)

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Tuesday, February 28th at 3:00 PM EST – Student discussion with Shannon Bennett about the US: Newspaper Records course; hosted by Gena Philibert-Ortega
Join Shannon and Gena to ask questions about this course and researching US newspapers.

Time zones:
Tuesday, February 28th – 3:00 PM Eastern; 2:00 PM Central; Noon PM Pacific; 8:00 PM in London, England;
Wednesday, March 1st – 7:00 AM in Sydney, Australia

MEETING LOCATION: http://genealogicalstudies.adobeconnect.com/american/
(NOTE: No user name or password required. Please type in your first and last name; then click “Enter as a Guest”.)

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Tuesday, February 28th at 7:00 PM EST – All DNA courses with Shannon Bennett
This session is appropriate for students registered in/working on the DNA stream, Forensic Genealogy, Genetics & Medical Family History, Organising a One-Name Study, and Organising a One-Place Study courses, although all are welcome. The focus of this Virtual Meeting is the DNA testing process and how DNA can be use in genealogy research. Join Shannon to ask questions about these courses and/or your DNA research.

Time zones:
Tuesday, February 28th – 7:00 PM Eastern; 6:00 PM Central; 4:00 PM Pacific;
Wednesday, March 1st – Midnight in London, England; 11:00 AM in Sydney, Australia

MEETING LOCATION: http://genealogicalstudies.adobeconnect.com/dna/
(NOTE: No user name or password required. Please type in your first and last name; then click “Enter as a Guest”.)

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

LISTEN ON THE GO!
Want to listen to the student presentation but will not be at your computer? No problem! You can download the FREE Adobe Connect Mobile App from the iTunes App Store (for iPod/iPhone/iPad), from Google Play (for Androids), or from Blackberry World (for Blackberry).

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

See the calendar of future Virtual Meetings sessions at www.genealogicalstudies.com; in the top menu choose INFORMATION and then VIRTUAL LEARNING ROOM in the drop-down menu.

If you have not attended a Virtual Meeting before, read the Instructions available at www.genealogicalstudies.com/instructions.pdf. If this URL does not open, please go to www.genealogicalstudies.com, click on Information in the top menu bar, and then Virtual Learning Room in the drop down menu. The link to the Instructions (in PDF format) will be at the top right of the page (you may need to scroll over to the right side of the page).

Leave a Reply