The National Institute for Genealogical Studies

LEADERS IN ONLINE GENEALOGY EDUCATION

The National Institute for Genealogical Studies - LEADERS IN ONLINE GENEALOGY EDUCATION

Virtual Meetings This Week

Communicator Modern Electronic Device On Wood Background by blackzheep

Communicator Modern Electronic Device On Wood Background by blackzheep/Courtesy of Freedigitalphotos.net

We have a few virtual meetings scheduled this week. Hope you can join us if applicable to your studies and/or research!

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

On Tuesday, April 19th at 7:00 PM EDT Brenda Wheeler will host the Irish virtual meeting. Join Brenda to ask questions about the Irish record courses and/or your research.

Time zones:
Tuesday, April 19th7:00 PM Eastern; 6:00 PM Central; 4:00 PM Pacific;
Wednesday, April 20thmidnight in London, England; 9:00 AM in Sydney, Australia

MEETING LOCATION: http://genealogicalstudies.adobeconnect.com/irish/
(NOTE: No user name or password required. Please type in your first and last name; then click “Enter as a Guest”.)

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

On Thursday, April 21st at 1:00 PM EDT Gena Philibert-Ortega will be hosting the Internet Tools virtual meeting. This session is appropriate for students registered in/working on the Connecting Family: Online and Virtually, Google for the Wise Genealogist, and Social Media Tools for the Wise Genealogist courses, although all are welcome. Join Gena to ask questions about these courses and/or your Internet searches.

Time zones:
Thursday, April 21st1:00 PM Eastern; noon Central; 10:00 AM Pacific; 6:00 PM in London, England;
Friday, April 22nd3:00 AM in Sydney, Australia

MEETING LOCATION: http://genealogicalstudies.adobeconnect.com/internettools/
(NOTE: No user name or password required. Please type in your first and last name; then click “Enter as a Guest”.)

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Next on Thursday, April 21st at 2:30 PM EDT Gena Philibert-Ortega will host the Analysis and Skills Mentoring – GENERAL virtual meeting. This Virtual Meeting is appropriate for students registered in the Analysis and Skills Mentoring courses. Students registered in the Skills: Transcribing, Abstracting, Extracting, Skill-Building: Breaking Down Brick Walls, Skill-Building: Evidence Analysis and Evaluation Using Case Studies, and Skill-Building: Nuts & Bolts of Reporting are also welcome to join. Topics for discussion include course procedure, evidence analysis, Genealogical Proof Standard (GPS), citations, ethics, timelines, transcriptions, abstractions, extractions, proof summaries and more.

Time zones:
Thursday, April 21st2:30 PM Eastern; 1:30 PM Central; 11:30 AM Pacific; 7:30 PM in London, England;
Friday, April 22nd4:30 AM in Sydney, Australia

MEETING LOCATION: http://genealogicalstudies.adobeconnect.com/asgeneral/
(NOTE: No user name or password required. Please type in your first and last name; then click “Enter as a Guest”.)

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Then at 7:00 PM EDT on Thursday, April 21st Kirsty Gray will host the English virtual meeting. Join Kirsty to ask questions about the English record courses and/or your research.

Time zones:
Thursday, April 21st7:00 PM Eastern; 6:00 PM Central; 4:00 PM Pacific;
Friday, April 22ndmidnight in London, England; 9:00 AM in Sydney, Australia

MEETING LOCATION: http://genealogicalstudies.adobeconnect.com/english/
(NOTE: No user name or password required. Please type in your first and last name; then click “Enter as a Guest”.)

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

The final session for Thursday, April 21st is at 8:30 PM EDT with Brenda Wheeler hosting the Analysis and Skills Mentoring-Part 2 – ARTICLE REVIEW virtual meeting. This Virtual Meeting is more appropriate for students registered in this course. Please follow the directions found in your course material and read the article “Organizing Meager Evidence to Reveal Lineages: An Irish Example—Geddes of Tyrone” by Thomas W. Jones (NGSQ Vol. 89, No.2, June, 2001).

Time zones:
Thursday, April 21st8:30 PM Eastern; 7:30 PM Central; 5:30 PM Pacific;
Friday, April 22nd1:30 AM in London, England; 10:30 AM in Sydney, Australia

MEETING LOCATION: http://genealogicalstudies.adobeconnect.com/asarticle2/
(NOTE: No user name or password required. Please type in your first and last name; then click “Enter as a Guest”.)

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

LISTEN ON THE GO!
Want to listen to the student presentation but will not be at your computer? No problem! You can download the FREE Adobe Connect Mobile App from the iTunes App Store (for iPod/iPhone/iPad), from the Google Play Store (for Androids), or from Blackberry World (for Blackberry).

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

See the calendar of future Virtual Meetings sessions at www.genealogicalstudies.com; in the top menu choose INFORMATION and then VIRTUAL LEARNING ROOM in the drop-down menu.

If you have not attended a Virtual Meeting before, read the Instructions available atwww.genealogicalstudies.com/instructions.pdf. If this URL does not open, please go towww.genealogicalstudies.com, click on Information in the top menu bar, and then Virtual Learning Room in the drop down menu. The link to the Instructions (in PDF format) will be at the top right of the page (you may need to scroll over to the right side of the page).

Leave a Reply