The National Institute for Genealogical Studies

LEADERS IN ONLINE GENEALOGY EDUCATION

The National Institute for Genealogical Studies - LEADERS IN ONLINE GENEALOGY EDUCATION

March 2016 Virtual Meetings

March by arztsamui/Courtesy of Freedigitalphotos.net

March by arztsamui/Courtesy of Freedigitalphotos.net

Most of us in North America are moving into Daylight Saving Time this coming weekend! Please remember to set your clock ahead one hour, if applicable to your geographical area.

We hope you are enjoying your courses and learning a lot of techniques to search for your family history. Do you have any questions about your courses or research? Join us for a virtual meeting applicable to your course/research to get answers. Below is the virtual meetings schedule for the month of March.

These Virtual Meetings are just one of a number of ways for you can communicate with an instructor and your fellow students.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Here is the list of scheduled Virtual Meetings for the month of March. Mark your calendars for sessions applicable to your area of studies or research!

Times given are Eastern Daylight Saving Time.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Sunday, March 13th at 7:00 PM EDT – All English courses with Brenda Wheeler
Join Brenda to ask questions about the English record courses and/or your research.

Time zones:
Sunday, March 13th – 7:00 PM Eastern; 6:00 PM Central; 4:00 PM Pacific; 11:00 PM in London, England;
Monday, March 14th – 10:00 AM in Sydney, Australia

MEETING LOCATION: http://genealogicalstudies.adobeconnect.com/english/
(NOTE: No user name or password required. Please type in your first and last name; then click “Enter as a Guest”.)

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Tuesday, March 15th at 4:00 AM EDT – All Methodology courses with Brenda Wheeler
Yes, the time is correct! This Virtual Meeting is available for the convenience of our Australasia students; however, everyone is welcome to participate! It is applicable to all students no matter what country you are researching in. Join this session to ask questions or to discuss organizing, skill-building, strategies, effective searching and recording, proving it, transcribing, abstracting, extracting, copyright, and much more.

Time zones:
Tuesday, March 15th – 4:00 AM Eastern; 3:00 AM Central; 1:00 AM Pacific; 8:00 AM in London, England; 7:00 PM in Sydney, Australia

MEETING LOCATION: http://genealogicalstudies.adobeconnect.com/methodology/
(NOTE: No user name or password required. Please type in your first and last name; then click “Enter as a Guest”.)

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Saturday, March 19th at 9:00 AM EDT – All Analysis and Skills Mentoring Program – GENERAL with Gena Philibert-Ortega
This Virtual Meeting is appropriate for students registered in the Analysis and Skills Mentoring courses. Students registered in the Skills: Transcribing, Abstracting, Extracting, Skill-Building: Breaking Down Brick Walls, Skill-Building: Evidence Analysis, and Skill-Building: Nuts & Bolts of Reporting are also welcome to join. Topics for discussion include course procedure, evidence analysis, Genealogical Proof Standard (GPS), citations, ethics, timelines, transcriptions, abstractions, extractions, proof summaries and more.

Time zones:
Saturday, March 19th – 9:00 AM Eastern; 8:00 AM Central; 6:00 AM Pacific;
1:00 PM in London, England;
Sunday, March 20th – Midnight in Sydney, Australia

MEETING LOCATION: http://genealogicalstudies.adobeconnect.com/asgeneral/
(NOTE: No user name or password required. Please type in your first and last name; then click “Enter as a Guest”.)

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Saturday, March 19th at 10:30 AM EDT – All American courses with Gena Philibert-Ortega
Join Gena to ask questions about the American record courses and/or your research.

Time zones:
Saturday, March 19th – 10:30 AM Eastern; 9:30 AM Central; 7:30 AM Pacific;
2:30 PM in London, England;
Sunday, March 20th – 1:30 AM in Sydney, Australia

MEETING LOCATION: http://genealogicalstudies.adobeconnect.com/american/
(NOTE: No user name or password required. Please type in your first and last name; then click “Enter as a Guest”.)

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Sunday, March 20th at 2:00 PM EDT – All Methodology courses with Gena Philibert-Ortega
This Virtual Meeting is appropriate for ALL students no matter which country you are researching in. Join this session to ask questions or to discuss organizing, skill-building, strategies, effective searching and recording, proving it, transcribing, abstracting, extracting, copyright, and much more.

Time zones:
Sunday, March 20th – 2:00 PM Eastern; 1:00 PM Central; 11:00 AM Pacific;
6:00 PM in London, England;
Monday, March 21st – 5:00 AM in Sydney, Australia

MEETING LOCATION: http://genealogicalstudies.adobeconnect.com/methodology/
(NOTE: No user name or password required. Please type in your first and last name; then click “Enter as a Guest”.)

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Sunday, March 20th at 3:30 PM EDT – Internet Tools with Gena Philibert-Ortega
This session is appropriate for students registered in/working on the Connecting Family: Online and Virtually, Google for the Wise Genealogist, and Social Media Tools for the Wise Genealogist courses, although all are welcome. Join Gena to ask questions about these courses and/or your Internet searches.

Time zones:
Sunday, March 20th – 3:30 PM Eastern; 2:30 PM Central; 12:30 PM Pacific;
7:30 PM in London, England;
Monday, March 21st – 6:30 AM in Sydney, Australia

MEETING LOCATION: http://genealogicalstudies.adobeconnect.com/internettools/
(NOTE: No user name or password required. Please type in your first and last name; then click “Enter as a Guest”.)

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Wednesday, March 23rd at 10:00 AM EDT – All Canadian courses with Kathryn Lake Hogan
Join Kathryn to ask questions about the Canadian record courses and/or your research.

Time zones:
Wednesday, March 23rd – 10:00 AM Eastern; 9:00 AM Central; 7:00 AM Pacific;
2:00 PM in London, England;
Thursday, March 24th – 1:00 AM in Sydney, Australia

MEETING LOCATION: http://genealogicalstudies.adobeconnect.com/canadian/
(NOTE: No user name or password required. Please type in your first and last name; then click “Enter as a Guest”.)

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Wednesday, March 23rd at 4:00 PM EDT – Analysis and Skills Mentoring Program-Part 3 – ARTICLE REVIEW with Gena Philibert-Ortega
This Virtual Meeting is more appropriate for students registered in this course. Please follow the directions found in your course material and read the article “Identification through Signatures: Using Complex Direct Evidence to Sort Colwills of Cornwall” by Ronald A. Hill (NGSQ Vol. 87, No. 3, September, 1999).

Time zones:
Wednesday, March 23rd – 4:00 PM Eastern; 3:00 PM Central; 1:00 PM Pacific; 8:00 PM in London, England;
Thursday, March 24th – 7:00 AM in Sydney, Australia

MEETING LOCATION: http://genealogicalstudies.adobeconnect.com/asarticle3/
(NOTE: No user name or password required. Please type in your first and last name; then click “Enter as a Guest”.)

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Wednesday, March 23rd at 6:30 PM EDT – Analysis and Skills Mentoring Program-Part 1 – ARTICLE REVIEW with Gena Philibert-Ortega
This Virtual Meeting is more appropriate for students registered in this course. Please follow the directions found in your course material and read the article “Heritage Books and Family Lore: A Jackson Test in Missouri and Idaho” by Connie Lenzen (NGSQ Vol. 86, No. 1, March, 1998).

Time zones:
Wednesday, March 23rd – 6:30 PM Eastern; 5:30 PM Central; 3:30 PM Pacific; 10:30 PM in London, England;
Thursday, March 24th – 9:30 AM in Sydney, Australia

MEETING LOCATION: http://genealogicalstudies.adobeconnect.com/asarticle1/
(NOTE: No user name or password required. Please type in your first and last name; then click “Enter as a Guest”.)

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Wednesday, March 30th at 7:00 PM EDT – Lecturing Skills Student Presentation hosted by Kathy Holland

Join this session to hear Spencer Linington present “Medals in the Attic – What story do they tell?” Learn where you can discover the day to day details of your ancestors time during World War I and how to interpret what you find.

Presenter: Spencer Linington is a professional genealogist with 15 years of experience in family history research specializing in Canadian Military and Ontario research.

Time zones:
Wednesday, March 30th – 7:00 PM Eastern; 6:00 PM Central; 4:00 PM Pacific;
Thursday, March 31st – Midnight in London, England; 10:00 AM in Sydney, Australia

MEETING LOCATION: http://genealogicalstudies.adobeconnect.com/lecturing/
(NOTE: No user name or password required. Please type in your first and last name; then click “Enter as a Guest”.)

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Thursday, March 31st at 7:00 PM EDT – Lecturing Skills Student Presentation hosted by Kathy Holland

Join this session to hear Cheryl Levy, PLCGS, present “Using Census Clues: Building a Blended Family.” Learn to glean the clues necessary to search for the documents needed to identify members in a census household, using a case study to build blended family relationships.

Presenter: Cheryl Levy, PLCGS, completed the Canadian Records Certificate and is currently pursuing Professional Development courses. She is Webmaster/Social Media Coordinator for Quinte Branch, OGS.

Time zones:
Thursday, March 31st – 7:00 PM Eastern; 6:00 PM Central; 4:00 PM Pacific;
Friday, April 1st – Midnight in London, England; 10:00 AM in Sydney, Australia

MEETING LOCATION: http://genealogicalstudies.adobeconnect.com/lecturing/
(NOTE: No user name or password required. Please type in your first and last name; then click “Enter as a Guest”.)

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

LISTEN ON THE GO!
Want to listen to the student presentation but will not be at your computer? No problem! You can download the FREE Adobe Connect Mobile App from the iTunes App Store (for iPod/iPhone/iPad), from the Google Play Store (for Androids), or from Blackberry World (for Blackberry).

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

See the calendar of future Virtual Meetings sessions at www.genealogicalstudies.com; in the top menu choose INFORMATION and then VIRTUAL LEARNING ROOM in the drop-down menu.

If you have not attended a Virtual Meeting before, read the Instructions available at www.genealogicalstudies.com/instructions.pdf. If this URL does not open, please go to www.genealogicalstudies.com, click on Information in the top menu bar, and then Virtual Learning Room in the drop down menu. The link to the Instructions (in PDF format) will be at the top right of the page (you may need to scroll over to the right side of the page).

Leave a Reply