The National Institute for Genealogical Studies

LEADERS IN ONLINE GENEALOGY EDUCATION

The National Institute for Genealogical Studies - LEADERS IN ONLINE GENEALOGY EDUCATION

October 2015 Virtual Meetings

October by  arztsamui/Courtesy of Freedigitalphotos.net

October by arztsamui/Courtesy of Freedigitalphotos.net

We hope you are enjoying your courses! Have any questions about your courses or your research? Attend a virtual meeting applicable to your course/research to get answers. Below is the virtual meetings schedule for the month of October.

These Virtual Meetings are just one of a number of ways for you can communicate with an instructor and your fellow students.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Times given are Eastern Daylight Time.
Monday, October 12th at 8:00 PM EDT – All Methodology courses with Brenda Wheeler
This Virtual Meeting is appropriate for ALL students no matter which country you are researching in. Join this session to ask questions or to discuss organizing, skill-building, strategies, effective searching and recording, proving it, transcribing, abstracting, extracting, copyright, and much more.

Note: This Virtual Meeting is available for the convenience of our Australasia students; however, everyone is welcome to participate! It is applicable to all students no matter what country you are researching in.

Time zones:
Monday, October 12th – 8:00 PM Eastern; 7:00 PM Central; 5:00 PM Pacific;
Tuesday, October 13th – 1:00 AM in London, England; 11:00 AM in Sydney, Australia

MEETING LOCATION: http://genealogicalstudies.adobeconnect.com/methodology/
(NOTE: No user name or password required. Please type in your first and last name; then click “Enter as a Guest”.)

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Wednesday, October 14th at 5:00 PM EDT – All English courses with Kirsty Gray
Join Kirsty to ask questions about the English record courses and/or your research.

Time zones:
Wednesday, October 14th – 5:00 PM Eastern; 4:00 PM Central; 2:00 PM Pacific;
10:00 PM in London, England;
Thursday, October 15th – 8:00 AM in Sydney, Australia

MEETING LOCATION: http://genealogicalstudies.adobeconnect.com/english/
(NOTE: No user name or password required. Please type in your first and last name; then click “Enter as a Guest”.)

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Thursday, October 15th at 11:00 AM EDT – All Canadian courses with Kathryn Lake Hogan
Join Kathryn to ask questions about the Canadian record courses and/or your research.

Time zones:
Thursday, October 15th – 11:00 AM Eastern; 10:00 AM Central; 8:00 AM Pacific;
4:00 PM in London, England;
Friday, October 16th – 2:00 AM in Sydney, Australia

MEETING LOCATION: http://genealogicalstudies.adobeconnect.com/canadian/
(NOTE: No user name or password required. Please type in your first and last name; then click “Enter as a Guest”.)

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Monday, October 19th at 7:30 PM EDT – Analysis and Skills Mentoring Program-Part 2 – ARTICLE REVIEW with Brenda Wheeler
This Virtual Meeting is more appropriate for students registered in this course. Please follow the directions found in your course material and read the article “Organizing Meager Evidence to Reveal Lineages: An Irish Example-Geddes of Tyrone” by Thomas W. Jones (NGSQ Vol. 89, No.2, June, 2001).

Time zones:
Monday, October 19th – 7:30 PM Eastern; 6:30 PM Central; 4:30 PM Pacific;
Tuesday, October 20th – 12:30 AM in London, England; 10:30 AM in Sydney, Australia

MEETING LOCATION: http://genealogicalstudies.adobeconnect.com/asarticle2/
(NOTE: No user name or password required. Please type in your first and last name; then click “Enter as a Guest”.)

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Thursday, October 22nd at Noon EDT – All Analysis and Skills Mentoring Program – GENERAL with Gena Philibert-Ortega
This Virtual Meeting is appropriate for students registered in the Analysis and Skills Mentoring courses. Students registered in the Skills: Transcribing, Abstracting, Extracting, Skill-Building: Evidence Analysis, and Skill-Building: Nuts & Bolts of Reporting are also welcome to join. Topics for discussion include course procedure, evidence analysis, Genealogical Proof Standard (GPS), citations, ethics, timelines, transcriptions, abstractions, extractions, proof summaries and more.

Time zones:
Thursday, October 22nd – Noon Eastern; 11:00 AM Central; 9:00 AM Pacific;
5:00 PM in London, England;
Friday, October 23th – 3:00 AM in Sydney, Australia

MEETING LOCATION: http://genealogicalstudies.adobeconnect.com/asgeneral/
(NOTE: No user name or password required. Please type in your first and last name; then click “Enter as a Guest”.)

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Thursday, October 22nd at 2:00 PM EDT – Analysis and Skills Mentoring Program-Part 1 – ARTICLE REVIEW with Gena Philibert-Ortega
This Virtual Meeting is more appropriate for students registered in this course. Please follow the directions found in your course material and read the article “Heritage Books and Family Lore: A Jackson Test in Missouri and Idaho” by Connie Lenzen (NGSQ Vol. 86, No. 1, March, 1998).

Time zones:
Thursday, October 22nd – 2:00 PM Eastern; 1:00 PM Central; 11:00 AM Pacific; 7:00 PM in London, England;
Friday, October 23th – 5:00 AM in Sydney, Australia

MEETING LOCATION: http://genealogicalstudies.adobeconnect.com/asarticle1/
(NOTE: No user name or password required. Please type in your first and last name; then click “Enter as a Guest”.)

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Friday, October 23rd at 3:00 PM EDT – All Methodology courses with Gena Philibert-Ortega
This Virtual Meeting is appropriate for ALL students no matter which country you are researching in. Join this session to ask questions or to discuss organizing, skill-building, strategies, effective searching and recording, proving it, transcribing, abstracting, extracting, copyright, and much more.

Time zones:
Friday, October 23rd – 3:00 PM Eastern; 2:00 PM Central; Noon Pacific; 8:00 PM in London, England;
Saturday, October 24th – 6:00 AM in Sydney, Australia

MEETING LOCATION: http://genealogicalstudies.adobeconnect.com/methodology/
(NOTE: No user name or password required. Please type in your first and last name; then click “Enter as a Guest”.)

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Friday, October 23rd at 6:00 PM EDT – All Australian courses with Kerry Farmer
Join Kerry to ask questions about the Australian record courses and/or your research. Once everyone’s questions have been answered Kerry will present “‘Check out the neighbours’ – looking at local history as a way to learn more about your ancestors.”

Time zones:
Friday, October 23rd – 6:00 PM Eastern; 5:00 PM Central; 3:00 PM Pacific;
11:00 PM in London, England;
Saturday, October 24th – 9:00 AM in Sydney, Australia

MEETING LOCATION: http://genealogicalstudies.adobeconnect.com/australian/
(NOTE: No user name or password required. Please type in your first and last name; then click “Enter as a Guest”.)

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Monday, October 26th at 10:00 AM EDT – All American courses with Gena Philibert-Ortega
Join Gena to ask questions about the American record courses and/or your research.

Time zones:
Monday, October 26th – 10:00 AM Eastern; 9:00 AM Central; 7:00 AM Pacific; 2:00 PM in London, England;
Tuesday, October 27th – 1:00 AM in Sydney, Australia

MEETING LOCATION: http://genealogicalstudies.adobeconnect.com/american/
(NOTE: No user name or password required. Please type in your first and last name; then click “Enter as a Guest”.)

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Tuesday, October 27th at 3:00 PM EDT – Internet Tools with Gena Philibert-Ortega
This session is appropriate for students registered in/working on the Connecting Family: Online and Virtually, Google for the Wise Genealogist, and Social Media Tools for the Wise Genealogist courses, although all are welcome. Join Gena to ask questions about these courses and/or your Internet searches.

Time zones:
Tuesday, October 27th – 3:00 PM Eastern; 2:00 PM Central; Noon Pacific;
7:00 PM in London, England;
Wednesday, October 28th – 6:00 AM in Sydney, Australia

MEETING LOCATION: http://genealogicalstudies.adobeconnect.com/internettools/
(NOTE: No user name or password required. Please type in your first and last name; then click “Enter as a Guest”.)

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Thursday, October 29th at 1:00 PM EDT – US: Probate Records Student Discussion with Shannon Bennett and Gena Philibert-Ortega
Join Shannon and Gena to participate in a discussion on the US: Probate Records course. Ask Shannon about her experience with this course and what she learned.

Time zones:
Thursday, October 29th – 1:00 PM Eastern; Noon Central; 10:00 AM Pacific; 5:00 PM in London, England;
Friday, October 30th – 4:00 AM in Sydney, Australia

MEETING LOCATION: http://genealogicalstudies.adobeconnect.com/american/
(NOTE: No user name or password required. Please type in your first and last name; then click “Enter as a Guest”.)

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

LISTEN ON THE GO!

Want to listen to the student presentation but will not be at your computer? No problem! You can download the FREE Adobe Connect Mobile App from the iTunes App Store (for iPod/iPhone/iPad), from the Google Play Store (for Androids), or from Blackberry World (for Blackberry).

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

See the calendar of future Virtual Meetings sessions at www.genealogicalstudies.com; in the top menu choose INFORMATION and then VIRTUAL LEARNING ROOM in the drop-down menu.

If you have not attended a Virtual Meeting before, read the Instructions available at www.genealogicalstudies.com/instructions.pdf. If this URL does not open, please go to www.genealogicalstudies.com, click on Information in the top menu bar, and then Virtual Learning Room in the drop down menu. The link to the Instructions (in PDF format) will be at the top right of the page (you may need to scroll over to the right side of the page).

Leave a Reply