The National Institute for Genealogical Studies

LEADERS IN ONLINE GENEALOGY EDUCATION

The National Institute for Genealogical Studies - LEADERS IN ONLINE GENEALOGY EDUCATION

Upcoming Virtual Meetings

This past week Brenda Wheeler experienced some audio issues when conducting the English Records virtual meeting. We are very sorry for any inconvenience this may have caused. Brenda has rescheduled the session for Tuesday, August 25th at 8:00 PM EDT. Join Brenda to ask questions about the English record courses and/or your research.

Time zones:
Tuesday, August 25th8:00 PM Eastern; 7:00 PM Central; 5:00 PM Pacific;
Wednesday, August 26th1:00 AM in London, England; 10:00 AM in Sydney, Australia

MEETING LOCATION: http://genealogicalstudies.adobeconnect.com/english/
(NOTE: No user name or password required. Please type in your first and last name; then click “Enter as a Guest”.)

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

On Wednesday, August 26th at 5:00 PM EDT Gena Philibert-Ortega will be hosting the Methodology virtual meeting. This Virtual Meeting is appropriate for ALL students no matter which country you are researching in. Join this session to ask questions or to discuss organizing, skill-building, strategies, effective searching and recording, proving it, transcribing, abstracting, extracting, copyright, and much more.

Time zones:
Wednesday, August 26th5:00 PM Eastern; 4:00 PM Central; 2:00 PM Pacific; 10:00 PMin London, England
Thursday, August 27th7:00 AM in Sydney, Australia

MEETING LOCATION: http://genealogicalstudies.adobeconnect.com/methodology/
(NOTE: No user name or password required. Please type in your first and last name; then click “Enter as a Guest”.)

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Then at 6:30 PM on Wednesday, August 26th Gena Philibert-Ortega will be back to host the American Records virtual meeting. Join Gena to ask questions about these courses and/or your American research.

Time zones:
Wednesday, August 26th6:30 PM Eastern; 5:30 PM Central; 3:30 PM Pacific; 11:30 PMin London, England
Thursday, August 27th8:30 AM in Sydney, Australia

MEETING LOCATION: http://genealogicalstudies.adobeconnect.com/american/
(NOTE: No user name or password required. Please type in your first and last name; then click “Enter as a Guest”.)

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

On Thursday, August 27th at 6:00 PM EDT Gena Philibert-Ortega will be hosting the Analysis and Skills Mentoring Program-Part 1 – ARTICLE REVIEW. This Virtual Meeting is more appropriate for students registered in this course. Please follow the directions found in your course material and read the article “Heritage Books and Family Lore: A Jackson Test in Missouri and Idaho” by Connie Lenzen (NGSQ Vol. 86, No. 1, March, 1998).

Time zones:
Thursday, August 27th6:00 PM Eastern; 5:00 PM Central; 3:00 PM Pacific; 11:00 PM in London, England
Friday, August 28th8:00 AM in Sydney, Australia

MEETING LOCATION: http://genealogicalstudies.adobeconnect.com/asarticle1/
(NOTE: No user name or password required. Please type in your first and last name; then click “Enter as a Guest”.)

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Later on Thursday, August 27th at 8:00 PM EDT Gena Philibert-Ortega will be hosting Analysis and Skills Mentoring Program – GENERAL session. This Virtual Meeting is appropriate for students registered in the Analysis and Skills Mentoring courses. Students registered in the Skills: Transcribing, Abstracting, Extracting, Skill-Building: Evidence Analysis, and Skill-Building: Nuts & Bolts of Reporting are also welcome to join. Topics for discussion include course procedure, evidence analysis, Genealogical Proof Standard (GPS), citations, ethics, timelines, transcriptions, abstractions, extractions, proof summaries and more.

Time zones:
Thursday, August 27th8:00 PM Eastern; 7:00 PM Central; 5:00 PM Pacific;
Friday, August 28th1:00 AM in London, England; 10:00 AM in Sydney, Australia

MEETING LOCATION: http://genealogicalstudies.adobeconnect.com/asgeneral/
(NOTE: No user name or password required. Please type in your first and last name; then click “Enter as a Guest”.)

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Remember, you do not have to be registered in these courses to join a Virtual Meeting … anyone can participate.
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

If you have not attended a Virtual Meeting before, read the Instructions available at www.genealogicalstudies.com/instructions.pdf. If this URL does not open, please go to www.genealogicalstudies.com, click on Information in the top menu bar, and then Virtual Learning Room in the drop down menu. The link to the Instructions (in PDF format) will be at the top right of the page (you may need to scroll over to the right side of the page).

Leave a Reply