The National Institute for Genealogical Studies

LEADERS IN ONLINE GENEALOGY EDUCATION

The National Institute for Genealogical Studies - LEADERS IN ONLINE GENEALOGY EDUCATION

Student Presentations for July

Laptop With Tablet And Smart Phone On Table by jannoon028/Courtesy of Freedigitalphotos.net

Laptop With Tablet And Smart Phone On Table by jannoon028/Courtesy of Freedigitalphotos.net

We have a couple of student presentations coming up in mid-July. Join us to show your fellow students support!

The National Institute for Genealogical Studies course, Lecturing Skills Including Preparation, teaches the skills needed to present genealogical-related lectures. It is a “hands on” course where the student presents a lecture via our Virtual Learning Room. We invite you to participate and hear your fellow student. This is a 30-minute lectures, followed by a 10-minute Question & Answer period and a short poll to provide the student with feedback on their skills. Please come and support your fellow students!

This is an excellent learning experience for all involved–the student presenter and the audience! We all can learn new and interesting tidbits, even from topics that are not in our area of research.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Join us on Tuesday, July 14th at 7:00 PM EDT when Diane Barbour presents “Is Your GPS Working?”

Presenter: Diane Barbour, PLCGS, is active in volunteering for local societies, Denver Public Library and the National Archives. She attends conferences and Institutes and specializes in USA and Great Britain.

Presentation Description: Using a case study, we will see how the Genealogical Proof Standard (GPS) applies and helps your genealogical research.

Time zones: Tuesday, July 14th7:00 PM Eastern; 6:00 PM Central; 4:00 AM Pacific;Wednesday, July 15thmidnight in London, England; 9:00 AM in Sydney, Australia

MEETING LOCATION: http://genealogicalstudies.adobeconnect.com/lecturing/
(NOTE: No user name or password required. Please type in your first and last name; then click “Enter as a Guest”.)

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Join us on Thursday, July 16th at 7:30 PM EDT when Brenda Wheeler presents “Afraid of the Water?”

Presenter: Brenda Wheeler, PLCGS, researches Australian, English, Dutch and Irish records. An instructor for the National Institute for Genealogical Studies, she also mentors two genealogy study groups.

Presentation Description: Why do so many researchers stop at their migrants? Researching another country is possible when you know how to find information about the records and language aids which are available.

Time zones: Thursday, July 16th7:30 PM Eastern; 6:30 PM Central; 4:30 AM Pacific;Friday, July 17th12:30 AM in London, England; 9:30 AM in Sydney, Australia

MEETING LOCATION: http://genealogicalstudies.adobeconnect.com/lecturing/
(NOTE: No user name or password required. Please type in your first and last name; then click “Enter as a Guest”.)

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

We would like to thank Kathy Holland for hosting these student presentation.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Remember, to join a Virtual Meeting … anyone can participate. Hope to see you there!

To enter the Virtual Learning Room for a session you would like to attend, please click on the Location link or enter the Location URL into your browser. (No user name or password required; “Enter as a Guest”)

NOTE: Please sign in with your first AND last names when joining a Virtual Meeting. This will help everyone differentiate between individuals with the same name. (No user name or password required. Please type in your first and last name; then click “Enter as a Guest”.)

Leave a Reply