The National Institute for Genealogical Studies

LEADERS IN ONLINE GENEALOGY EDUCATION

The National Institute for Genealogical Studies - LEADERS IN ONLINE GENEALOGY EDUCATION

July 2015 Virtual Meetings

Month by arztsamui/Courtesy of Freedigitalphotos.net

Month by arztsamui/Courtesy of Freedigitalphotos.net

Have questions about your courses or your research? Attend a Virtual Meeting applicable to your course/research to get answers. Below is the  meetings schedule for the month of July. Mark your calendars for sessions applicable to your area of studies or research!
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Times given are Eastern Daylight Time. To check the current time and date, Log In to your Student Briefcase and click on “Time at Home Office” near the top right of the page.

Tuesday, July 14th – All English Record courses with Kirsty Gray

Time zones: 5:00 PM Eastern; 4:00 PM Central; 2:00 PM Pacific; 10:00 PM in London, England;
Wednesday, July 15th7:00 AM in Sydney, Australia

MEETING LOCATION: http://genealogicalstudies.adobeconnect.com/english/
(NOTE: No user name or password required. Please type in your first and last name; then click “Enter as a Guest”.)

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Tuesday, July 14th – Lecturing Skills Student Presentation: Diane Barbour presents “Is Your GPS Working?”

Presenter: Diane Barbour, PLCGS, is active in volunteering for local societies, Denver Public Library and the National Archives. She attends conferences and Institutes and specializes in USA and Great Britain.

Presentation Description: Using a case study, we will see how the Genealogical Proof Standard (GPS) applies and helps your genealogical research.

Time zones: 7:00 PM Eastern; 6:00 PM Central; 4:00 PM Pacific;
Wednesday, July 15thmidnight in London, England; 9:00 AM in Sydney, Australia

MEETING LOCATION: http://genealogicalstudies.adobeconnect.com/lecturing/
(NOTE: No user name or password required. Please type in your first and last name; then click “Enter as a Guest”.)

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Thursday, July 16th – Lecturing Skills Student Presentation: Brenda Wheeler presents “Afraid of the Water?”

Presenter: Brenda Wheeler, PLCGS, researches Australian, English, Dutch and Irish records. An instructor for the National Institute for Genealogical Studies, she also mentors two genealogy study groups.

Presentation Description: Why do so many researchers stop at their migrants? Researching another country is possible when you know how to find information about the records and language aids which are available.

Time zones: 7:30 PM Eastern; 6:30 PM Central; 4:30 PM Pacific;
Friday, July 17th12:30 AM in London, England; 9:30 AM in Sydney, Australia

MEETING LOCATION: http://genealogicalstudies.adobeconnect.com/lecturing/
(NOTE: No user name or password required. Please type in your first and last name; then click “Enter as a Guest”.)

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Saturday, July 18th – All Canadian Record courses with Kathryn Lake Hogan
After answering any questions students may have regarding their courses, Kathryn will discuss researching Canadian cemeteries.

Time zones: 1:00 PM Eastern; noon Central; 10:00 AM Pacific; 6:00 PM in London, England;
Sunday, July 19th3:00 AM in Sydney, Australia

MEETING LOCATION: http://genealogicalstudies.adobeconnect.com/canadian/
(NOTE: No user name or password required. Please type in your first and last name; then click “Enter as a Guest”.)

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Saturday, July 18th – Analysis and Skills Mentoring Program-Part 3 – ARTICLE REVIEW with Brenda Wheeler
Note: This Virtual Meeting is more appropriate for students registered in this course. Please follow the directions found in your course material and read the article “Identification through Signatures: Using Complex Direct Evidence to Sort Colwills of Cornwall” by Ronald A. Hill (NGSQ Vol. 87, No. 3, September, 1999).

Time zones: 8:30 PM Eastern; 7:30 PM Central; 5:30 PM Pacific;
Sunday, July 19th1:30 AM in London, England; 10:30 AM in Sydney, Australia

MEETING LOCATION: http://genealogicalstudies.adobeconnect.com/asarticle3/
(NOTE: No user name or password required. Please type in your first and last name; then click “Enter as a Guest”.)

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Tuesday, July 21st – All Methodology courses with Brenda Wheeler
Note: This Virtual Meeting is available for the convenience of our Australasia students; however, everyone is welcome to participate! It is applicable to all students no matter what country you are researching in.

Time zones: Monday, July 20th10:00 PM Pacific;
Tuesday, July 21st1:00 AM Eastern; midnight Central; 6:00 AM in London, England;3:00 PM in Sydney, Australia

MEETING LOCATION: http://genealogicalstudies.adobeconnect.com/methodology/
(NOTE: No user name or password required. Please type in your first and last name; then click “Enter as a Guest”.)

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Thursday, July 23rd – All Australian courses with Kerry Farmer

Time zones: 6:00 AM Eastern; 5:00 AM Central; 3:00 AM Pacific; 11:00 AM in London, England; 8:00 PM in Sydney, Australia

MEETING LOCATION: http://genealogicalstudies.adobeconnect.com/australian/
(NOTE: No user name or password required. Please type in your first and last name; then click “Enter as a Guest”.)

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Wednesday, July 29th – All Methodology courses with Gena Philibert-Ortega
This Virtual Meeting is appropriate for ALL students no matter which country you are researching in. Join this session to ask questions or to discuss organizing, skill-building, strategies, effective searching and recording, proving it, transcribing, abstracting, extracting, copyright, and much more.

Time zones: 11:00 AM Eastern; 10:00 AM Central; 8:00 AM Pacific; 4:00 PM in London, England;
Thursday, July 30th1:00 AM in Sydney, Australia

MEETING LOCATION: http://genealogicalstudies.adobeconnect.com/methodology/
(NOTE: No user name or password required. Please type in your first and last name; then click “Enter as a Guest”.)

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Wednesday, July 29th – All American Records courses with Gena Philibert-Ortega

Time zones: 2:00 PM Eastern; 1:00 PM Central; 11:00 AM Pacific; 7:00 PM in London, England;
Thursday, July 30th4:00 AM in Sydney, Australia

MEETING LOCATION: http://genealogicalstudies.adobeconnect.com/american/
(NOTE: No user name or password required. Please type in your first and last name; then click “Enter as a Guest”.)

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Thursday, July 30th – Internet Tools with Gena Philibert-Ortega
This session is appropriate for students registered in/working on the Connecting Family: Online and Virtually, Google for the Wise Genealogist, and Social Media Tools for the Wise Genealogist courses, although all are welcome. Join Gena to ask questions about these courses and/or your Internet searches.

Time zones: 4:00 PM Eastern; 3:00 PM Central; 1:00 PM Pacific; 9:00 PM in London, England;
Friday, July 31st6:00 AM in Sydney, Australia

MEETING LOCATION: http://genealogicalstudies.adobeconnect.com/internettools/
(NOTE: No user name or password required. Please type in your first and last name; then click “Enter as a Guest”.)

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Friday, July 31st – All Analysis and Skills Mentoring Program – GENERAL with Gena Philibert-Ortega
Note: This Virtual Meeting is more appropriate for students registered in these courses, as well as the Skills: Transcribing, Abstracting & Extracting course. The instructor will be available to provide guidance and answer questions regarding any aspect of these courses.

Time zones: 9:00 AM Eastern; 8:00 AM Central; 6:00 AM Pacific; 2:00 PM in London, England; 11:00 PM in Sydney, Australia

MEETING LOCATION: http://genealogicalstudies.adobeconnect.com/asgeneral/
(NOTE: No user name or password required. Please type in your first and last name; then click “Enter as a Guest”.)

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Friday, July 31st – Analysis and Skills Mentoring Program-Part 1 – ARTICLE REVIEW with Gena Philibert-Ortega
Note: This Virtual Meeting is more appropriate for students registered in this course. Please follow the directions found in your course material and read the article “Heritage Books and Family Lore: A Jackson Test in Missouri and Idaho” by Connie Lenzen (NGSQ Vol. 86, No. 1, March, 1998).

Time zones: 11:00 AM Eastern; 10:00 AM Central; 8:00 AM Pacific; 4:00 PM in London, England;
Saturday, August 1st1:00 AM in Sydney, Australia

MEETING LOCATION: http://genealogicalstudies.adobeconnect.com/asarticle1/
(NOTE: No user name or password required. Please type in your first and last name; then click “Enter as a Guest”.)

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

LISTEN ON THE GO!

Want to listen to the student presentation but will not be at your computer? No problem! You can download the FREE Adobe Connect Mobile App from the iTunes App Store (for iPod/iPhone/iPad), from the Google Play Store (for Androids), or from Blackberry World (for Blackberry).

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

See the calendar of future Virtual Meetings sessions at www.genealogicalstudies.com; in the top menu choose INFORMATION and then VIRTUAL LEARNING ROOM in the drop-down menu.

If you have not attended a Virtual Meeting before, read the Instructions available at www.genealogicalstudies.com/instructions.pdf. If this URL does not open, please go to www.genealogicalstudies.com, click on Information in the top menu bar, and then Virtual Learning Room in the drop down menu. The link to the Instructions (in PDF format) will be at the top right of the page (you may need to scroll over to the right side of the page).

Leave a Reply