The National Institute for Genealogical Studies

LEADERS IN ONLINE GENEALOGY EDUCATION

The National Institute for Genealogical Studies - LEADERS IN ONLINE GENEALOGY EDUCATION

May 2015 Virtual Meetings

Calendar May 2014 by KROMKRATHOG/Courtesy of Freedigitalphotos.net

Calendar May 2014 by KROMKRATHOG/Courtesy of Freedigitalphotos.net

Below is the virtual meetings schedule for the month of May.

These Virtual Meetings are just one of a number of ways for you can communicate with an instructor and your fellow students. They are fun and interactive to ask questions about the courses and/or research at a relevant session.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Here is the list of scheduled Virtual Meetings for the month of May. Mark your calendars for sessions applicable to your area of studies or research!

Times given are Eastern Daylight Time. To check the current time and date, Log In to your Student Briefcase and click on “Time at Home Office” near the top right of the page.

Monday, May 11th with Kathryn Lake Hogan
7:00 PM EDT All Canadian Record courses
(the next day at midnight in London, England; 9:00 AM in Sydney, Australia)
MEETING LOCATION: http://genealogicalstudies.adobeconnect.com/canadian/

Tuesday, May 12th with Brenda Wheeler
5:00 AM EDT All Methodology courses
(10:00 AM in London, England; 7:00 PM in Sydney, Australia)
MEETING LOCATION: http://genealogicalstudies.adobeconnect.com/methodology/
Note: This Virtual Meeting is available for the convenience of our Australasia students; however, everyone is welcome to participate! It is applicable to all students no matter what country you are researching in.

Wednesday, May 13th with Sheena Tait
5:00 PM EDT All Scottish Record courses
(10:00 PM in London, England; the next day at 7:00 AM in Sydney, Australia)
MEETING LOCATION: http://genealogicalstudies.adobeconnect.com/scottish/

Thursday, May 14th with Kirsty Gray
5:00 PM EDT All English Record courses
(10:00 PM in London, England; the next day at 7:00 AM in Sydney, Australia)
MEETING LOCATION: http://genealogicalstudies.adobeconnect.com/english/

Thursday, May 14th with Gena Philibert-Ortega
8:00 PM EDT All Analysis and Skills Mentoring Program – GENERAL
(the next day at 1:00 AM in London, England; 10:00 AM in Sydney, Australia)
MEETING LOCATION: http://genealogicalstudies.adobeconnect.com/asgeneral/
Note: This Virtual Meeting is more appropriate for students registered in these courses, as well as the Skills: Transcribing, Abstracting & Extracting course. The instructor will be available to provide guidance and answer questions regarding any aspect of these courses.

Monday, May 18th with Gena Philibert-Ortega
7:00 PM EDT Analysis and Skills Mentoring Program-Part 1 – ARTICLE REVIEW
(the next day at midnight in London, England; 9:00 AM in Sydney, Australia)
MEETING LOCATION: http://genealogicalstudies.adobeconnect.com/asarticle1/
Note: This Virtual Meeting is more appropriate for students registered in this course. Please follow the directions found in your course material and read the article “Heritage Books and Family Lore: A Jackson Test in Missouri and Idaho” by Connie Lenzen (NGSQ Vol. 86, No. 1, March, 1998).

Monday, May 18th with Gena Philibert-Ortega
8:30 PM EDT Analysis and Skills Mentoring Program-Part 3 – ARTICLE REVIEW
(the next day at 1:30 AM in London, England; 10:30 AM in Sydney, Australia)
MEETING LOCATION: http://genealogicalstudies.adobeconnect.com/asarticle3/
Note: This Virtual Meeting is more appropriate for students registered in this course. Please follow the directions found in your course material and read the article “Identification through Signatures: Using Complex Direct Evidence to Sort Colwills of Cornwall” by Ronald A. Hill (NGSQ Vol. 87, No. 3, September, 1999).

Tuesday, May 19th with Gena Philibert-Ortega
9:00 PM EDT All Methodology courses
(the next day at 2:00 AM in London, England; 11:00 AM in Sydney, Australia)
MEETING LOCATION: http://genealogicalstudies.adobeconnect.com/methodology/

Friday, May 29th with Gena Philibert-Ortega
7:00 PM EDT Internet Tools (i.e. Connecting Family: Online & Virtually, Google for the Wise Genealogist, and Social Media Tools for the Wise Genealogist)
(11:00 PM in London, England; the next day at 8:00 AM in Sydney, Australia)
MEETING LOCATION: http://genealogicalstudies.adobeconnect.com/internettools/

Friday, May 29th with Gena Philibert-Ortega
8:00 PM EDT All American Records courses
(the next day at 1:00 AM in London, England; 10:00 AM in Sydney, Australia)
MEETING LOCATION: http://genealogicalstudies.adobeconnect.com/american/

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

LISTEN ON THE GO!

Want to listen to the student presentation but will not be at your computer? No problem! You can download the FREE Adobe Connect Mobile App from the iTunes App Store (for iPod/iPhone/iPad), from the Google Play Store (for Androids), or from Blackberry World (for Blackberry).

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

See the calendar of future Virtual Meetings sessions at www.genealogicalstudies.com; in the top menu choose INFORMATION and then VIRTUAL LEARNING ROOM in the dropdown menu.

If you have not attended a Virtual Meeting before, read the Instructions available at www.genealogicalstudies.com/instructions.pdf. If this URL does not open, please go to www.genealogicalstudies.com, click on Information in the top menu bar, and then Virtual Learning Room in the drop down menu. The link to the Instructions (in PDF format) will be at the top right of the page (you may need to scroll over to the right side of the page).

Leave a Reply