The National Institute for Genealogical Studies

LEADERS IN ONLINE GENEALOGY EDUCATION

The National Institute for Genealogical Studies - LEADERS IN ONLINE GENEALOGY EDUCATION

Shannon Talks US Land Records

fsa 8c51450 http://hdl.loc.gov/loc.pnp/fsa.8c51450Library of Congress Prints and Photographs Division Washington, DC 20540 USA http://hdl.loc.gov/loc.pnp/pp.print

fsa 8c51450 http://hdl.loc.gov/loc.pnp/fsa.8c51450Library of Congress Prints and Photographs Division Washington, DC 20540 USA http://hdl.loc.gov/loc.pnp/pp.print

Are you interested in taking the US: Land Records course but not sure what to expect?  Join Gena and Shannon for a special student discussion on Monday, April 27th at 2:00 PM EDT. You will have the opportunity to ask Shannon Bennett about her experience with this course.

Time zones: Monday, April 27th2:00 PM Eastern; 1:00 PM Central; 11:00 AM Pacific;7:00 PM in London, England; Tuesday, April 28th4:00 AM in Sydney, Australia

MEETING LOCATION: http://genealogicalstudies.adobeconnect.com/american/
(NOTE: No user name or password required. Please type in your first and last name; then click “Enter as a Guest”.)

COURSE DESCRIPTION: This course has been designed to accomplish several objectives. We will provide a brief overview of the history and types of land documents in the United States, and we will begin with considering Colonial Records (English, French, Mexican, Spanish).

Next we will examine land grants, and the interesting history of homestead records and the development bounty lands will be discussed. Deeds and maps, naturally an important part of any search into land records, will also be examined.

We will conclude by providing a lengthy overview of the availability of state wide and Internet land record sources and resources; where they are located and how you can contact the appropriate repository.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

If you have not attended a Virtual Meeting before, read the Instructions available at www.genealogicalstudies.com/instructions.pdf. If this URL does not open, please go to www.genealogicalstudies.com, click on Information in the top menu bar, and then Virtual Learning Room in the drop down menu. The link to the Instructions (in PDF format) will be at the top right of the page (you may need to scroll over to the right side of the page).

Leave a Reply