The National Institute for Genealogical Studies

LEADERS IN ONLINE GENEALOGY EDUCATION

The National Institute for Genealogical Studies - LEADERS IN ONLINE GENEALOGY EDUCATION

March 2015 Virtual Meetings

March Month Art Grunge Design by fotographic1980/ Courtesy of Freedigitalphotos.net

March Month Art Grunge Design by fotographic1980/ Courtesy of Freedigitalphotos.net

Here is the list of scheduled Virtual Meetings for the month of March. Mark your calendars for sessions applicable to your area of studies or research!

Times given are Eastern Daylight Time. To check the current time and date, Log In to your Student Briefcase and click on “Time at Home Office” near the top right of the page.

Tuesday, March 10th with Gena Philibert-Ortega
1:00 PM EDT Student Discussion with Shannon Bennett about the Analysis and Skills Mentoring courses
(5:00 PM in London, England; the next day at 4:00 AM in Sydney, Australia)
MEETING LOCATION: http://genealogicalstudies.adobeconnect.com/asgeneral/
This is a great opportunity to discuss these courses with your fellow student, Shannon Bennett.

Wednesday, March 11th with Gena Philibert-Ortega
3:00 PM EDT Analysis and Skills Mentoring Program-Part 3 – ARTICLE REVIEW
(7:00 PM in London, England; the next day at 6:00 AM in Sydney, Australia)
MEETING LOCATION: http://genealogicalstudies.adobeconnect.com/asarticle3/
Note: This Virtual Meeting is more appropriate for students registered in this course. Please follow the directions found in your course material and read the article “Identification through Signatures: Using Complex Direct Evidence to Sort Colwills of Cornwall” by Ronald A. Hill (NGSQ Vol. 87, No. 3, September, 1999).

Thursday, March 12th with Kathryn Lake Hogan
12:00 PM (noon) EDT All Canadian Record courses
(4:00 PM in London, England; the next day at 3:00 AM in Sydney, Australia)  MEETING LOCATION: http://genealogicalstudies.adobeconnect.com/canadian/

Saturday, March 14th with Kirsty Gray
4:00 PM EDT All English Record courses
(8:00 PM in London, England; the next day at 7:00 AM in Sydney, Australia)
MEETING LOCATION: http://genealogicalstudies.adobeconnect.com/english/

Saturday, March 14th with Gena Philibert-Ortega
7:00 PM EDT All American Records courses
(11:00 PM in London, England; the next day at 10:00 AM in Sydney, Australia)    MEETING LOCATION: http://genealogicalstudies.adobeconnect.com/american/

Saturday, March 14th with Gena Philibert-Ortega
9:00 PM EDT Internet Tools (i.e. Connecting Family: Online & Virtually, Google for the Wise Genealogist, and Social Media Tools for the Wise Genealogist)
(The next day at 1:00 AM in London, England; noon in Sydney, Australia)
MEETING LOCATION: http://genealogicalstudies.adobeconnect.com/internettools/

Saturday, March 21st with Gena Philibert-Ortega
9:00 AM EDT All Methodology courses
(1:00 PM in London, England; the next day at midnight in Sydney, Australia)    MEETING LOCATION: http://genealogicalstudies.adobeconnect.com/methodology/

Sunday, March 22nd with Kathy Holland
2:00 PM EDT Lecturing Skills student presentation
(6:00 PM in London, England; the next day at 5:00 AM in Sydney, Australia)
MEETING LOCATION: http://genealogicalstudies.adobeconnect.com/lecturing/
Lecturing Skills student presentation by: Seema Kenney
Topic: Researching at an Historical Society – Genealogical Research away from the computer.  Looking at the real items of an Historical Society and the story they can help create about your ancestors’ lives.

Sunday, March 22nd with Gena Philibert-Ortega
8:00 PM EDT All Analysis and Skills Mentoring Program – GENERAL
(The next day at midnight in London, England; 11:00 AM in Sydney, Australia)
MEETING LOCATION: http://genealogicalstudies.adobeconnect.com/asgeneral/
Note: This Virtual Meeting is more appropriate for students registered in these courses, as well as the Skills: Transcribing, Abstracting & Extracting course. The instructor will be available to provide guidance and answer questions regarding any aspect of these courses.

Sunday, March 22nd with Gena Philibert-Ortega
9:00 PM EDT Analysis and Skills Mentoring Program-Part 1 – ARTICLE REVIEW
(The next day at 1:00 AM in London, England; noon in Sydney, Australia)
MEETING LOCATION: http://genealogicalstudies.adobeconnect.com/asarticle1/
Note: This Virtual Meeting is more appropriate for students registered in this course. Please follow the directions found in your course material and read the article “Heritage Books and Family Lore: A Jackson Test in Missouri and Idaho” by Connie Lenzen (NGSQ Vol. 86, No. 1, March, 1998).

Sunday, March 29th with Brenda Wheeler
6:00 AM EDT All Methodology courses
(11:00 AM in London, England; 9:00 PM in Sydney, Australia)
MEETING LOCATION: http://genealogicalstudies.adobeconnect.com/methodology/
Note: This Virtual Meeting is available for the convenience of our Australasia students; however, everyone is welcome to participate! It is applicable to all students no matter what country you are researching in.

Monday, March 30th with Brenda Wheeler
6:00 AM EDT Analysis and Skills Mentoring Program-Part 1 – ARTICLE REVIEW
(11:00 AM in London, England; 9:00 PM in Sydney, Australia)
MEETING LOCATION: http://genealogicalstudies.adobeconnect.com/asarticle1/
Note: This Virtual Meeting is more appropriate for students registered in this course. Please follow the directions found in your course material and read the article “Heritage Books and Family Lore: A Jackson Test in Missouri and Idaho” by Connie Lenzen (NGSQ Vol. 86, No. 1, March, 1998).

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

LISTEN ON THE GO!

Want to listen to the student presentation but will not be at your computer? No problem! You can download the FREE Adobe Connect Mobile App from the iTunes App Store (for iPod/iPhone/iPad), from the Google Play Store (for Androids), or from Blackberry World (for Blackberry).

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

See the calendar of future Virtual Meetings sessions at www.genealogicalstudies.com; in the top menu choose INFORMATION and then VIRTUAL LEARNING ROOM in the dropdown menu.

If you have not attended a Virtual Meeting before, read the Instructions available atwww.genealogicalstudies.com/instructions.pdf. If this URL does not open, please go towww.genealogicalstudies.com, click on Information in the top menu bar, and then Virtual Learning Room in the drop down menu. The link to the Instructions (in PDF format) will be at the top right of the page (you may need to scroll over to the right side of the page).

Leave a Reply