The National Institute for Genealogical Studies

LEADERS IN ONLINE GENEALOGY EDUCATION

The National Institute for Genealogical Studies - LEADERS IN ONLINE GENEALOGY EDUCATION

February 2015 Virtual Meetings

Month by arztsamui/Courtesy of Freedigitalphotos.net

Month by arztsamui/Courtesy of Freedigitalphotos.net

 

We would like to welcome all our new students to the National Institute. We hope everyone is enjoying their courses.

Below is the virtual meetings schedule for the month of February. Notice our first session for the month is coming up early on Monday (February 9th) morning.

These Virtual Meetings are just one of a number of ways for you can communicate with an instructor and your fellow students.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Mark your calendars for sessions applicable to your area of studies or research!

Times given are Eastern Standard Time. To check the current time and date, Log In to your Student Briefcase and click on “Time at Home Office” near the top right of the page.

Monday, February 9th with Brenda Wheeler
5:00 AM EST All Methodology courses
(10:00 AM in London, England; 9:00 PM in Sydney, Australia)
MEETING LOCATION: http://genealogicalstudies.adobeconnect.com/methodology/
Note: This Virtual Meeting is available for the convenience of our Australasia students; however, everyone is welcome to participate! It is applicable to all students no matter what country you are researching in.

Wednesday, February 11th with Gena Philibert-Ortega
3:00 PM EST Analysis and Skills Mentoring Program-Part 2 – ARTICLE REVIEW
(8:00 PM in London, England; the next day at 7:00 AM in Sydney, Australia)
MEETING LOCATION: http://genealogicalstudies.adobeconnect.com/asarticle2/
Note: This Virtual Meeting is more appropriate for students registered in this course. Please follow the directions found in your course material and read the article “Organizing Meager Evidence to Reveal Lineages: An Irish Example-Geddes of Tyrone” by Thomas W. Jones (NGSQ Vol. 89, No.2, June, 2001).

Wednesday, February 11th with Kirsty Gray
5:00 PM EST All English Record courses
(10:00 PM in London, England; the next day at 7:00 AM in Sydney, Australia)
MEETING LOCATION: http://genealogicalstudies.adobeconnect.com/english/

Wednesday, February 18th with Gena Philibert-Ortega
8:00 PM EST All Methodology courses
(The next day at 1:00 AM in London, England; noon in Sydney, Australia)
MEETING LOCATION: http://genealogicalstudies.adobeconnect.com/methodology/

Thursday, February 19th with Kathryn Lake Hogan
7:00 PM EST All Canadian Record courses
(The next day at midnight in London, England; 11:00 AM in Sydney, Australia)
MEETING LOCATION: http://genealogicalstudies.adobeconnect.com/canadian/

Saturday, February 21st with Sheena Tait
4:00 PM EST All Scottish Record courses
(9:00 PM in London, England; the next day at 8:00 AM in Sydney, Australia)
MEETING LOCATION: http://genealogicalstudies.adobeconnect.com/scottish/

Sunday, February 22nd with Gena Philibert-Ortega
9:00 PM EST Internet Tools (i.e. Connecting Family: Online & Virtually, Google for the Wise Genealogist, and Social Media Tools for the Wise Genealogist)
(The next day at 2:00 AM in London, England; 1:00 PM in Sydney, Australia)
MEETING LOCATION: http://genealogicalstudies.adobeconnect.com/internettools/

Tuesday, February 24th with Gena Philibert-Ortega
8:00 PM EST All American Records courses
(The next day at 1:00 AM in London, England; noon in Sydney, Australia)
MEETING LOCATION: http://genealogicalstudies.adobeconnect.com/american/

Tuesday, February 24th with Gena Philibert-Ortega
9:00 PM EST Analysis and Skills Mentoring Program-Part 1 – ARTICLE REVIEW
(The next day at 2:00 AM in London, England; 1:00 PM in Sydney, Australia)
MEETING LOCATION: http://genealogicalstudies.adobeconnect.com/asarticle1/
Note: This Virtual Meeting is more appropriate for students registered in this course. Please follow the directions found in your course material and read the article “Heritage Books and Family Lore: A Jackson Test in Missouri and Idaho” by Connie Lenzen (NGSQ Vol. 86, No. 1, March, 1998).

Thursday, February 26th with Gena Philibert-Ortega
9:00 PM EST All Analysis and Skills Mentoring Program – GENERAL
(The next day at 2:00 AM in London, England; 1:00 PM in Sydney, Australia)
MEETING LOCATION: http://genealogicalstudies.adobeconnect.com/asgeneral/
Note: This Virtual Meeting is more appropriate for students registered in these courses, as well as the Skills: Transcribing, Abstracting & Extracting course. The instructor will be available to provide guidance and answer questions regarding any aspect of these courses.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

LISTEN ON THE GO!

Want to listen to the student presentation but will not be at your computer? No problem! You can download the FREE Adobe Connect Mobile App from the iTunes App Store (for iPod/iPhone/iPad), from the Google Play Store (for Androids), or from Blackberry World (for Blackberry).

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

See the calendar of future Virtual Meetings sessions at www.genealogicalstudies.com; in the top menu choose INFORMATION and then VIRTUAL LEARNING ROOM in the dropdown menu.

If you have not attended a Virtual Meeting before, read the Instructions available at www.genealogicalstudies.com/instructions.pdf. If this URL does not open, please go to www.genealogicalstudies.com, click on Information in the top menu bar, and then Virtual Learning Room in the drop down menu. The link to the Instructions (in PDF format) will be at the top right of the page (you may need to scroll over to the right side of the page).

Leave a Reply