The National Institute for Genealogical Studies

LEADERS IN ONLINE GENEALOGY EDUCATION

The National Institute for Genealogical Studies - LEADERS IN ONLINE GENEALOGY EDUCATION

December 2014 Virtual Meetings

Red Christmas  by Idea go/Courtesy of freedigitalphotos.net

Red Christmas by Idea go/Courtesy of freedigitalphotos.net

The holidays will soon be upon us. It is a busy time of year, but we hope you will be able to set aside some time to attend a virtual meeting that is applicable to your studies and/or research. Below is the virtual meetings schedule for the month of December.

These Virtual Meetings are one of a number of ways for you can communicate with an instructor and your fellow students. They are fun and interactive to ask questions about the courses and/or research at a relevant session.
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Here is the list of scheduled Virtual Meetings for the month of December. Mark your calendars for sessions applicable to your area of studies or research!

Times given are Eastern Standard Time. To check the current time and date, Log In to your Student Briefcase and click on “Time at Home Office” near the top right of the page.

Monday, December 8th with Brenda Wheeler
7:00 PM EST All English Record courses
(The next day at midnight in London, England; 11:00 AM in Sydney, Australia)
MEETING LOCATION: http://genealogicalstudies.adobeconnect.com/english/

Tuesday, December 9th with Ruth Blair
3:00 PM EST All Canadian Record courses
(8:00 PM in London, England; the next day at 7:00 AM in Sydney, Australia)
MEETING LOCATION: http://genealogicalstudies.adobeconnect.com/canadian/

Wednesday, December 10th with Brenda Wheeler
4:00 AM EST Analysis and Skills Mentoring Program-Part 1 – ARTICLE REVIEW
(9:00 AM in London, England; 8:00 PM in Sydney, Australia)
MEETING LOCATION: http://genealogicalstudies.adobeconnect.com/asarticle1/
Note: This Virtual Meeting is available for the convenience of our Australasia students; however, everyone is welcome to participate!
Note: This Virtual Meeting is more appropriate for students registered in this course. Please follow the directions found in your course material and read the article “Heritage Books and Family Lore: A Jackson Test in Missouri and Idaho” by Connie Lenzen (NGSQ Vol. 86, No. 1, March, 1998).

Friday, December 12th with Brenda Wheeler
6:00 PM EST All Methodology courses
(11:00 PM in London, England; the next day at 10:00 AM in Sydney, Australia)
MEETING LOCATION: http://genealogicalstudies.adobeconnect.com/methodology/
Note: This Virtual Meeting is available for the convenience of our Australasia students; however, everyone is welcome to participate!

Monday, December 15th with Gena Philibert-Ortega
8:30 PM EST All Analysis and Skills Mentoring Program – GENERAL
(The next day at 1:30 AM in London, England; 12:30 PM in Sydney, Australia)
MEETING LOCATION: http://genealogicalstudies.adobeconnect.com/asgeneral/
Note: This Virtual Meeting is more appropriate for students registered in these courses, as well as the Skills: Transcribing, Abstracting & Extracting course. The instructor will be available to provide guidance and answer questions regarding any aspect of these courses.

Tuesday, December 16th with Gena Philibert-Ortega
11:00 AM EST Analysis and Skills Mentoring Program-Part 2 – ARTICLE REVIEW
(4:00 PM in London, England; the next day at 3:00 AM in Sydney, Australia)
MEETING LOCATION: http://genealogicalstudies.adobeconnect.com/asarticle2/
Note: This Virtual Meeting is more appropriate for students registered in this course. Please follow the directions found in your course material and read the article “Organizing Meager Evidence to Reveal Lineages: An Irish Example-Geddes of Tyrone” by Thomas W. Jones (NGSQ Vol. 89, No.2, June, 2001).

Wednesday, December 17th with Gena Philibert-Ortega
11:00 AM EST All Methodology courses
(4:00 PM in London, England; the next day at 3:00 AM in Sydney, Australia)
MEETING LOCATION: http://genealogicalstudies.adobeconnect.com/methodology/

Saturday, December 20th with Gena Philibert-Ortega
9:00 AM EST Analysis and Skills Mentoring Program-Part 1 – ARTICLE REVIEW
(2:00 PM in London, England; the next day at 1:00 AM in Sydney, Australia)
MEETING LOCATION: http://genealogicalstudies.adobeconnect.com/asarticle1/
Note: This Virtual Meeting is more appropriate for students registered in this course. Please follow the directions found in your course material and read the article “Heritage Books and Family Lore: A Jackson Test in Missouri and Idaho” by Connie Lenzen (NGSQ Vol. 86, No. 1, March, 1998).

Saturday, December 20th with Gena Philibert-Ortega
10:30 AM EST All American Records courses
(3:30 PM in London, England; the next day at 2:30 AM in Sydney, Australia)
MEETING LOCATION: http://genealogicalstudies.adobeconnect.com/american/

Saturday, December 20th with Gena Philibert-Ortega
Noon EST Internet Tools (i.e. Connecting Family: Online & Virtually, Google for the Wise Genealogist, and Social Media Tools for the Wise Genealogist)
(5:00 PM in London, England; the next day at 4:00 AM in Sydney, Australia)
MEETING LOCATION: http://genealogicalstudies.adobeconnect.com/internettools/
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
LISTEN ON THE GO!

Want to listen to the student presentation but will not be at your computer? No problem! You can download the FREE Adobe Connect Mobile App from the iTunes App Store (for iPod/iPhone/iPad), from the Google Play Store (for Androids), or from Blackberry World (for Blackberry).
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
See the calendar of future Virtual Meetings sessions at www.genealogicalstudies.com; in the top menu choose INFORMATION and then VIRTUAL LEARNING ROOM in the dropdown menu.

If you have not attended a Virtual Meeting before, read the Instructions available at www.genealogicalstudies.com/instructions.pdf. If this URL does not open, please go to www.genealogicalstudies.com, click on Information in the top menu bar, and then Virtual Learning Room in the drop down menu. The link to the Instructions (in PDF format) will be at the top right of the page (you may need to scroll over to the right side of the page).

Leave a Reply