The National Institute for Genealogical Studies

LEADERS IN ONLINE GENEALOGY EDUCATION

The National Institute for Genealogical Studies - LEADERS IN ONLINE GENEALOGY EDUCATION

November 2014 Virtual Meetings

We hope you are enjoying your courses and hope you can set aside some time to attend a virtual meeting that is applicable to your studies and/or research. Below is the virtual meetings schedule for the month of November.

These Virtual Meetings are one of a number of ways for you can communicate with an instructor and your fellow students. Remember, these Virtual Meetings are NOT mandatory. They are fun and interactive to ask questions about the courses and/or research at a relevant session.
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Here is the list of scheduled Virtual Meetings for the month of November. Mark your calendars for sessions applicable to your area of studies or research!

Times given are Eastern Standard Time. To check the current time and date, Log In to your Student Briefcase and click on “Time at Home Office” near the top right of the page.

Monday, November 10th with Gena Philibert-Ortega
7:30 PM EST Analysis and Skills Mentoring Program-Part 3 – ARTICLE REVIEW
(The next day at 12:30 AM in London, England; 11:30 AM in Sydney, Australia)
MEETING LOCATION: http://genealogicalstudies.adobeconnect.com/asarticle3/
Note: This Virtual Meeting is more appropriate for students registered in this course. Please follow the directions found in your course material and read the article “Identification through Signatures: Using Complex Direct Evidence to Sort Colwills of Cornwall” by Ronald A. Hill (NGSQ Vol. 87, No. 3, September, 1999).

Wednesday, November 12th with Gena Philibert-Ortega
8:30 PM EST All Methodology courses
(The next day at 1:30 AM in London, England; 12:30 PM in Sydney, Australia)
MEETING LOCATION: http://genealogicalstudies.adobeconnect.com/methodology/

Friday, November 14th with Gena Philibert-Ortega
11:00 AM EST All Analysis and Skills Mentoring Program – GENERAL
(4:00 PM in London, England; the next day at 3:00 AM in Sydney, Australia)
MEETING LOCATION: http://genealogicalstudies.adobeconnect.com/asgeneral/
Note: This Virtual Meeting is more appropriate for students registered in these courses, as well as the Skills: Transcribing, Abstracting & Extracting course. The instructor will be available to provide guidance and answer questions regarding any aspect of these courses.

Sunday, November 16th with Sheena Tait
4:00 PM EST All Scottish Record courses
(9:00 PM in London, England; the next day at 8:00 AM in Sydney, Australia)
MEETING LOCATION: http://genealogicalstudies.adobeconnect.com/scottish/

Monday, November 17th with Brenda Wheeler
4:00 AM EST All Methodology courses
(9:00 AM in London, England; 8:00 PM in Sydney, Australia)
MEETING LOCATION: http://genealogicalstudies.adobeconnect.com/methodology/
Note: This Virtual Meeting is available for the convenience of our Australian & New Zealand students; however, everyone is welcome to participate!

Monday, November 17th with Brenda Wheeler
7:30 PM EST All English Record courses
(The next day at 12:30 AM in London, England; 11:30 AM in Sydney, Australia)
MEETING LOCATION: http://genealogicalstudies.adobeconnect.com/english/

Tuesday, November 18th – Lecturing Student Presentation
****SPECIAL STUDENT PRESENTATION****
7:00 PM EST Shirley Sturdevant will be giving a 30-minute presentation entitled “Geography and Maps for Genealogy“.
(The next day at midnight in London, England; 11:00 AM in Sydney, Australia)
MEETING LOCATION: http://genealogicalstudies.adobeconnect.com/lecturing/

Wednesday, November 19th – Vital Records Trunk Show: US Vital Records
1:00 PM EST Shannon Bennett will be discussing the US Vital Records course. 
MEETING LOCATION:  http://genealogicalstudies.adobeconnect.com/american/


Thursday, November 20th with Ruth Blair
6:00 PM EST All Canadian Record courses
(11:00 PM in London, England; the next day at 10:00 AM in Sydney, Australia)
MEETING LOCATION: http://genealogicalstudies.adobeconnect.com/canadian/

Thursday, November 20th with Ruth Blair
7:00 PM EST All Irish Record courses
(The next day at midnight in London, England; 11:00 AM in Sydney, Australia)
MEETING LOCATION: http://genealogicalstudies.adobeconnect.com/canadian/

Friday, November 21st with Gena Philibert-Ortega
9:00 PM EST Analysis and Skills Mentoring Program-Part 1 – ARTICLE REVIEW
(The next day at 2:00 AM in London, England; 1:00 PM in Sydney, Australia)
MEETING LOCATION: http://genealogicalstudies.adobeconnect.com/asarticle1/
Note: This Virtual Meeting is more appropriate for students registered in this course. Please follow the directions found in your course material and read the article “Heritage Books and Family Lore: A Jackson Test in Missouri and Idaho” by Connie Lenzen (NGSQ Vol. 86, No. 1, March, 1998).

Friday, November 21st with Gena Philibert-Ortega
10:30 PM EST All American Records courses
(The next day at 3:30 AM in London, England; 2:30 PM in Sydney, Australia)
MEETING LOCATION: http://genealogicalstudies.adobeconnect.com/american/

Saturday, November 22nd with Gena Philibert-Ortega
9:00 AM EST Internet Tools (i.e. Connecting Family: Online & Virtually, Google for the Wise Genealogist, and Social Media Tools for the Wise Genealogist)
(2:00 PM in London, England; the next day at 1:00 AM in Sydney, Australia)
MEETING LOCATION: http://genealogicalstudies.adobeconnect.com/internettools/

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

LISTEN ON THE GO!

Want to listen to the student presentation but will not be at your computer? No problem! You can download the FREE Adobe Connect Mobile App from the iTunes App Store (for iPod/iPhone/iPad), from the Google Play Store (for Androids), or from Blackberry World (for Blackberry).

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

See the calendar of future Virtual Meetings sessions at www.genealogicalstudies.com; in the top menu choose INFORMATION and then VIRTUAL LEARNING ROOM in the drop-down menu.

If you have not attended a Virtual Meeting before, read the Instructions available at www.genealogicalstudies.com/instructions.pdf. If this URL does not open, please go to www.genealogicalstudies.com, click on Information in the top menu bar, and then Virtual Learning Room in the drop down menu. The link to the Instructions (in PDF format) will be at the top right of the page (you may need to scroll over to the right side of the page).

Leave a Reply