The National Institute for Genealogical Studies

LEADERS IN ONLINE GENEALOGY EDUCATION

The National Institute for Genealogical Studies - LEADERS IN ONLINE GENEALOGY EDUCATION

Fall for Some Virtual Meetings in October

Pathway In Colorful Autumn Arboretum Park by Serge Bertasius Photography/Courtesy of Freedigitalphotos.net

Pathway In Colorful Autumn Arboretum Park by Serge Bertasius Photography/Courtesy of Freedigitalphotos.net

The seasons have changed and for those of us in the northern hemisphere we tend to spend more time at our computers working on our courses and searching for information about our ancestors. We hope you can set aside some time to attend a virtual meeting that is applicable to your studies and/or research. Below is the virtual meeting the line up for the month of October.

Remember, these Virtual Meetings are NOT mandatory. They are a fun and interactive way for our students to have an opportunity to ask our instructors and fellow students questions about the courses and/or research at a relevant session.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Here is the list of scheduled Virtual Meetings for the month of October. Mark your calendars for sessions applicable to your area of studies or research!

Times given are Eastern Daylight Time. To check the current time and date, Log In to your Student Briefcase and click on “Time at Home Office” near the top right of the page.

Wednesday, October 15th with Gena Philibert-Ortega
3:00 PM EDT Internet Tools (i.e. Connecting Family: Online & Virtually, Google for the Wise Genealogist, and Social Media Tools for the Wise Genealogist)

PLEASE NOTE THE TIME CHANGE–sorry for any inconvenience this may have caused.
(8:00 PM in London, England; the next day at 6:00 AM in Sydney, Australia)
MEETING LOCATION: http://genealogicalstudies.adobeconnect.com/internettools/

Friday, October 17th with Kerry Farmer
6:00 PM EDT All Australian Record courses
(11:00 PM in London, England; the next day at 9:00 AM in Sydney, Australia)
MEETING LOCATION: http://genealogicalstudies.adobeconnect.com/australian/

Saturday, October 18th with Ruth Blair
3:00 PM EDT All Canadian Record courses
(8:00 PM in London, England; the next day at 6:00 AM in Sydney, Australia)
MEETING LOCATION: http://genealogicalstudies.adobeconnect.com/canadian/

Thursday, October 23rd with Brenda Wheeler
1:00 AM EDT All Methodology courses
(6:00 AM in London, England; 4:00 PM in Sydney, Australia)
MEETING LOCATION: http://genealogicalstudies.adobeconnect.com/methodology/
Note: This Virtual Meeting is available for the convenience of our Australian & New Zealand students; however, everyone is welcome to participate!

Thursday, October 23rd with Brenda Wheeler
2:00 PM EDT All English Record courses
(7:00 PM in London, England; the next day at 5:00 AM in Sydney, Australia)
MEETING LOCATION: http://genealogicalstudies.adobeconnect.com/english/

Saturday, October 25th with Gena Philibert-Ortega
9:00 AM EDT Analysis and Skills Mentoring Program-Part 1 – ARTICLE REVIEW
(2:00 PM in London, England; the next day at midnight in Sydney, Australia)
MEETING LOCATION: http://genealogicalstudies.adobeconnect.com/asarticle1/
Note: This Virtual Meeting is more appropriate for students registered in this course. Please follow the directions found in your course material and read the article “Heritage Books and Family Lore: A Jackson Test in Missouri and Idaho” by Connie Lenzen (NGSQ Vol. 86, No. 1, March, 1998).

Saturday, October 25th with Gena Philibert-Ortega
10:00 AM EDT All American Records courses
(3:00 PM in London, England; the next day at 1:00 AM in Sydney, Australia)
MEETING LOCATION: http://genealogicalstudies.adobeconnect.com/american/

Monday, October 27th with Gena Philibert-Ortega
11:00 AM EDT All Analysis and Skills Mentoring Program – GENERAL
(3:00 PM in London, England; the next day at 2:00 AM in Sydney, Australia)
MEETING LOCATION: http://genealogicalstudies.adobeconnect.com/asgeneral/
Note: This Virtual Meeting is more appropriate for students registered in these courses, as well as the Skills: Transcribing, Abstracting & Extracting course. The instructor will be available to provide guidance and answer questions regarding any aspect of these courses.

Monday, October 27th with Gena Philibert-Ortega
***SPECIAL STUDENT DISCUSSION***
Shannon Bennett speaks with Gena about her experiences with the English: Occupations – Professions and Trades course.
1:00 PM EDT All Analysis and Skills Mentoring Program – GENERAL
(5:00 PM in London, England; the next day at 4:00 AM in Sydney, Australia)
MEETING LOCATION: http://genealogicalstudies.adobeconnect.com/english/

Wednesday, October 29th with Gena Philibert-Ortega
8:30 PM EDT Analysis and Skills Mentoring Program-Part 2 – ARTICLE REVIEW
(The next day at 12:30 AM in London, England; 11:30 PM in Sydney, Australia)
MEETING LOCATION: http://genealogicalstudies.adobeconnect.com/asarticle2/
Note: This Virtual Meeting is more appropriate for students registered in this course. Please follow the directions found in your course material and read the article “Organizing Meager Evidence to Reveal Lineages: An Irish Example-Geddes of Tyrone” by Thomas W. Jones (NGSQ Vol. 89, No.2, June, 2001).

Thursday, October 30th with Gena Philibert-Ortega
11:00 AM EDT All Methodology courses
(3:00 PM in London, England; the next day at 2:00 AM in Sydney, Australia)
MEETING LOCATION: http://genealogicalstudies.adobeconnect.com/methodology/

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

LISTEN ON THE GO!

Want to listen to the student presentation but will not be at your computer? No problem! You can download the FREE Adobe Connect Mobile App from the iTunes App Store (for iPod/iPhone/iPad), from the Google Play Store (for Androids), or from Blackberry World (for Blackberry).

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

See the calendar of future Virtual Meetings sessions at www.genealogicalstudies.com; in the top menu choose INFORMATION and then VIRTUAL LEARNING ROOM in the dropdown menu.

If you have not attended a Virtual Meeting before, read the Instructions available at www.genealogicalstudies.com/instructions.pdf. If this URL does not open, please go to www.genealogicalstudies.com, click on Information in the top menu bar, and then Virtual Learning Room in the drop down menu. The link to the Instructions (in PDF format) will be at the top right of the page (you may need to scroll over to the right side of the page).

Leave a Reply