The National Institute for Genealogical Studies

LEADERS IN ONLINE GENEALOGY EDUCATION

The National Institute for Genealogical Studies - LEADERS IN ONLINE GENEALOGY EDUCATION

Virtual Meetings September 2014

 

Summer Time by graur codrin/Courtesy of Freedigitalphotos.net

Summer Time by graur codrin/Courtesy of Freedigitalphotos.net

Summer is soon coming to an end for those of us in the northern hemisphere. It is a time when many of us plan to spend time working on courses and our genealogy research. We hope you set aside some time to attend a virtual meeting that is applicable to your studies and/or research. Below is the virtual meeting the line up for the month of September.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Here is the list of scheduled Virtual Meetings for the month of September. Mark your calendars for sessions applicable to your area of studies or research!

Times given are Eastern Daylight Time. To check the current time and date, Log In to your Student Briefcase and click on “Time at Home Office” near the top right of the page.

Friday, September 12th with Gena Philibert-Ortega
8:30 PM EDT All Methodology courses
(The next day at 1:30 AM in London, England; 10:30 AM in Sydney, Australia)
MEETING LOCATION: http://genealogicalstudies.adobeconnect.com/methodology/

Monday, September 15th with Gena Philibert-Ortega
11:30 AM EDT Analysis and Skills Mentoring Program-Part 3 – ARTICLE REVIEW
(4:30 PM in London, England; the next day at 1:30 AM in Sydney, Australia)
MEETING LOCATION: http://genealogicalstudies.adobeconnect.com/asarticle3/
Note: This Virtual Meeting is more appropriate for students registered in this course. Please follow the directions found in your course material and read the article “Identification through Signatures: Using Complex Direct Evidence to Sort Colwills of Cornwall” by Ronald A. Hill (NGSQ Vol. 87, No. 3, September, 1999).

Tuesday, September 16th with Ruth Blair
4:00 PM EDT All Irish Record courses
(9:00 PM in London, England; the next day at 6:00 AM in Sydney, Australia)
MEETING LOCATION: http://genealogicalstudies.adobeconnect.com/irish/

Tuesday, September 16th with Ruth Blair
5:00 PM EDT All Canadian Record courses
(10:00 PM in London, England; the next day at 7:00 AM in Sydney, Australia)
MEETING LOCATION: http://genealogicalstudies.adobeconnect.com/canadian/

Saturday, September 20th with Gena Philibert-Ortega
11:00 AM EDT All Analysis and Skills Mentoring Program – GENERAL
(4:00 PM in London, England; the next day at 1:00 AM in Sydney, Australia)
MEETING LOCATION: http://genealogicalstudies.adobeconnect.com/asgeneral/
Note: This Virtual Meeting is more appropriate for students registered in these courses, as well as the Skills: Transcribing, Abstracting & Extracting course. The instructor will be available to provide guidance and answer questions regarding any aspect of these courses.

Saturday, September 27 with Brenda Wheeler
4:00 PM EDT All English Record courses
(9:00 PM in London, England; the next day at 6:00 AM in Sydney, Australia)
MEETING LOCATION: http://genealogicalstudies.adobeconnect.com/english/

Sunday, September 28th with Brenda Wheeler
7:00 AM EDT All Methodology courses
(noon in London, England; 9:00 PM in Sydney, Australia)
MEETING LOCATION: http://genealogicalstudies.adobeconnect.com/methodology/
Note: This Virtual Meeting is available for the convenience of our Australian & New Zealand students; however, everyone is welcome to participate!

Sunday, September 28th with Gena Philibert-Ortega
9:00 AM EDT Analysis and Skills Mentoring Program-Part 1 – ARTICLE REVIEW
(2:00 PM in London, England; 11:00 PM in Sydney, Australia)
MEETING LOCATION: http://genealogicalstudies.adobeconnect.com/asarticle1/
Note: This Virtual Meeting is more appropriate for students registered in this course. Please follow the directions found in your course material and read the article “Heritage Books and Family Lore: A Jackson Test in Missouri and Idaho” by Connie Lenzen (NGSQ Vol. 86, No. 1, March, 1998).

Sunday, September 28th with Gena Philibert-Ortega
11:00 AM EDT All American Records courses
(4:00 PM in London, England; the next day at 1:00 AM in Sydney, Australia)
MEETING LOCATION: http://genealogicalstudies.adobeconnect.com/american/

Sunday, September 28th with Gena Philibert-Ortega
1:00 PM EDT Internet Tools (i.e. Connecting Family: Online & Virtually, Google for the Wise Genealogist, and Social Media Tools for the Wise Genealogist)
(6:00 PM in London, England; the next day at 3:00 AM in Sydney, Australia)
MEETING LOCATION: http://genealogicalstudies.adobeconnect.com/internettools/

Tuesday, September 30th with Brenda Wheeler
4:00 AM EDT Analysis and Skills Mentoring Program-Part 1 – ARTICLE REVIEW
(9:00 AM in London, England; 6:00 PM in Sydney, Australia)
MEETING LOCATION: http://genealogicalstudies.adobeconnect.com/asarticle1/
Note: This Virtual Meeting is more appropriate for students registered in this course. Please follow the directions found in your course material and read the article “Heritage Books and Family Lore: A Jackson Test in Missouri and Idaho” by Connie Lenzen (NGSQ Vol. 86, No. 1, March, 1998).
Note: This Virtual Meeting is available for the convenience of our Australian & New Zealand students; however, everyone is welcome to participate!

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

LISTEN ON THE GO!

Want to listen to the student presentation but will not be at your computer? No problem! You can download the FREE Adobe Connect Mobile App from the iTunes App Store (for iPod/iPhone/iPad), from the Google Play Store (for Androids), or from Blackberry World (for Blackberry).

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
See the calendar of future Virtual Meetings sessions at www.genealogicalstudies.com; in the top menu choose INFORMATION and then VIRTUAL LEARNING ROOM in the dropdown menu.

If you have not attended a Virtual Meeting before, read the Instructions available at www.genealogicalstudies.com/instructions.pdf. If this URL does not open, please go to www.genealogicalstudies.com, click on Information in the top menu bar, and then Virtual Learning Room in the drop down menu. The link to the Instructions (in PDF format) will be at the top right of the page (you may need to scroll over to the right side of the page).

Leave a Reply