The National Institute for Genealogical Studies

LEADERS IN ONLINE GENEALOGY EDUCATION

The National Institute for Genealogical Studies - LEADERS IN ONLINE GENEALOGY EDUCATION

Genealogy This Weekend

Just a reminder … we have a few virtual meetings scheduled for this weekend. Hope you can join us for one or two sessions appropriate to your studies and/or research!

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

On Saturday, September 27th at 4:00 PM EDT Brenda Wheeler will be hosting the English Records virtual meeting. Join Brenda and your fellow students to ask questions about the English record courses and/or research.

Time zones: Saturday, September 27th – 4:00 PM Eastern; 3:00 PM Central; 1:00 PM Pacific; 9:00 PM in London, England; Sunday, September 28th – 6:00 AM in Sydney, Australia

MEETING LOCATION: http://genealogicalstudies.adobeconnect.com/english/
(NOTE: No user name or password required. Please type in your first and last name; then click “Enter as a Guest”.)

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Brenda Wheeler is back on Sunday, September 28th at 7:00 AM EDT to host the Methodology virtual meeting. Yes, the time is correct! This session is for the convenience of our students in Australia and New Zealand; however, everyone is welcome. Students registered in the Skills: Transcribing, Abstracting & Extracting, Demystifying Culture & Folklore, Lecturing Skills, and Creating Genealogy Programs courses are also welcome to join and ask questions.

Time zones: Sunday, September 28th – 7:00 AM Eastern; 6:00 AM Central; 4:00 AM Pacific; noon in London, England; 9:00 PM in Sydney, Australia

MEETING LOCATION: http://genealogicalstudies.adobeconnect.com/methodology/
(NOTE: No user name or password required. Please type in your first and last name; then click “Enter as a Guest”.)

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

On Sunday, September 28th at 9:00 AM EDT Gena Philibert-Ortega will be hosting the Analysis & Skills Mentoring-Part 1 – ARTICLE REVIEW virtual meeting. This session is more appropriate for students registered in this course. Please follow the directions in your course materials and read the article “Heritage Books and Family Lore: A Jackson Test in Missouri and Idaho” by Connie Lenzen (NGSQ Vol. 86, No. 1, March, 1998).

Time zones: Sunday, September 28th – 9:00 AM Eastern; 8:00 AM Central; 6:00 AM Pacific; 2:00 PM in London, England; 11:00 PM in Sydney, Australia

MEETING LOCATION: http://genealogicalstudies.adobeconnect.com/asarticle1/
(NOTE: No user name or password required. Please type in your first and last name; then click “Enter as a Guest”.)

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Gena Philibert-Ortega is back at 11:00 AM EDT on Sunday, September 28th to host the American Records virtual meeting. Join her and your fellow students to discuss and ask questions about these courses and/or your American research.

Time zones: Sunday, September 28th – 11:00 AM Eastern; 10:00 AM Central; 8:00 AM Pacific; 4:00 PM in London, England; Monday, September 29th – 1:00 AM in Sydney, Australia

MEETING LOCATION: http://genealogicalstudies.adobeconnect.com/american/
(NOTE: No user name or password required. Please type in your first and last name; then click “Enter as a Guest”.)

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

The last session for the weekend is on Sunday, September 28th at 1:00 PM EDT. This will be the Internet Tools virtual meeting hosted by Gena Philibert-Ortega. Students registered in the Connecting Family: Online and Virtually, Google for the Wise Genealogist and Social Media Tools for the Wise Genealogist will want to join this session to ask questions.

Time zones: Sunday, September 28th – 1:00 PM Eastern; noon Central; 10:00 AM Pacific; 6:00 PM in London, England; Monday, September 29th – 3:00 AM in Sydney, Australia

MEETING LOCATION: http://genealogicalstudies.adobeconnect.com/internettools/
(NOTE: No user name or password required. Please type in your first and last name; then click “Enter as a Guest”.)

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Remember, you do not have to be registered in these courses to join a Virtual Meeting … anyone can participate.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

If you have not attended a Virtual Meeting before, read the Instructions available at www.genealogicalstudies.com/instructions.pdf. If this URL does not open, please go to www.genealogicalstudies.com, click on Information in the top menu bar, and then Virtual Learning Room in the drop down menu. The link to the Instructions (in PDF format) will be at the top right of the page (you may need to scroll over to the right side of the page).

 

 

 

Leave a Reply