The National Institute for Genealogical Studies

LEADERS IN ONLINE GENEALOGY EDUCATION

The National Institute for Genealogical Studies - LEADERS IN ONLINE GENEALOGY EDUCATION

Makes Some Genealogy Plans This Weekend

We have full schedule of virtual meetings over the next five days. A couple of country specific, methodology, Internet tools and a few Analysis & Skills Mentoring virtual meetings. Do you have questions about your courses? Do you need help with your research? Hope you can join us for a virtual meeting that is relevant to your studies or research!

On Friday, July 25th at 11:00 AM EDT Gena Philibert-Ortega will be hosting the Methodology virtual meeting. This session is also applicable to students working on the Skills: Transcribing, Abstracting, and Extracting course.

Time zones: Friday, July 25th – 11:00 AM Eastern; 10:00 AM Central; 8:00 AM Pacific; 4:00 PM in London, England; Saturday, July 26th – 1:00 AM in Sydney, Australia

MEETING LOCATION: http://genealogicalstudies.adobeconnect.com/methodology/
(NOTE: No user name or password required. Please type in your first and last name; then click “Enter as a Guest”.)

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Then on Saturday, July 26th at 11:00 AM EDT Gena Philibert-Ortega will be hosting the Analysis & Skills Mentoring-GENERAL virtual meeting. This session is appropriate to all student registered in all three levels of the Analysis & Skills Mentoring courses. It is also applicable to students working on the Skills: Transcribing, Abstracting, and Extracting course.

Time zones: Saturday, July 26th – 11:00 AM Eastern; 10:00 AM Central; 8:00 AM Pacific;4:00 PM in London, England; Sunday, July 27th – 1:00 AM in Sydney, Australia

MEETING LOCATION: http://genealogicalstudies.adobeconnect.com/asgeneral/
(NOTE: No user name or password required. Please type in your first and last name; then click “Enter as a Guest”.)

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Next on Saturday, July 26th at noon EDT Gena Philibert-Ortega will be hosting the Analysis & Skills Mentoring-Part 3 ARTICLE REVIEW session. This one is more appropriate for student registered in this course. Please follow the directions found in your course material and read the article “Identification through Signatures: Using Complex Direct Evidence to Sort Colwills of Cornwall” by Ronald A. Hill (NGSQ Vol. 87, No. 3, September, 1999).

Time zones: Saturday, July 26th – noon Eastern; 11:00 AM Central; 9:00 AM Pacific; 5:00 PM in London, England; Sunday, July 27th – 2:00 AM in Sydney, Australia

MEETING LOCATION: http://genealogicalstudies.adobeconnect.com/asarticle3/
(NOTE: No user name or password required. Please type in your first and last name; then click “Enter as a Guest”.)

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Next up on Sunday, July 27th at noon EDT Gena Philibert-Ortega will be hosting the American Records virtual meeting. Join her to ask questions about your American courses and/or research.

Time zones: Sunday, July 27th – noon Eastern; 11:00 AM Central; 9:00 AM Pacific; 5:00 PM in London, England; Monday, July 28th – 2:00 AM in Sydney, Australia

MEETING LOCATION: http://genealogicalstudies.adobeconnect.com/american/
(NOTE: No user name or password required. Please type in your first and last name; then click “Enter as a Guest”.)

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Later on Sunday, July 27th at 2:00 PM EDT Gena Philibert-Ortega will be hosting the Analysis & Skills Mentoring-Part 1 ARTICLE REVIEW session. This is another one of those sessions that is more appropriate for student registered in this particular course. Please follow the directions found in your course material and read the article “Heritage Books and Family Lore: A Jackson Test in Missouri and Idaho” by Connie Lenzen (NGSQ Vol. 86, No. 1, March, 1998).

Time zones: Sunday, July 27th – 2:00 PM Eastern; 1:00 PM Central; 11:00 AM Pacific; 7:00 PM in London, England; Monday, July 28th – 4:00 AM in Sydney, Australia

MEETING LOCATION: http://genealogicalstudies.adobeconnect.com/asarticle1/
(NOTE: No user name or password required. Please type in your first and last name; then click “Enter as a Guest”.)

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Then at 3:30 PM EDT on Sunday, July 27th Gena Philibert-Ortega returns to host the Internet Tools session. This session is good for students registered in the Connecting Family: Online and Virtually, Google for the Wise Genealogist, and/or Social Media Tools for the Wise Genealogist courses, although all are welcome.

Time zones: Sunday, July 27th – 3:30 PM Eastern; 2:30 PM Central; 12:30 PM Pacific; 8:30 PM in London, England; Monday, July 28th – 5:30 AM in Sydney, Australia

MEETING LOCATION: http://genealogicalstudies.adobeconnect.com/internettools/
(NOTE: No user name or password required. Please type in your first and last name; then click “Enter as a Guest”.)

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

On Monday, July 28th at 8:00 PM EDT Brenda Wheeler will be hosting the Methodology virtual meeting. This session is also applicable to students working on the Skills: Transcribing, Abstracting, and Extracting course.

Time zones: Monday, July 28th – 8:00 PM Eastern; 7:00 PM Central; 5:00 PM Pacific;Tuesday, July 29th – 1:00 AM in London, England; 10:00 AM in Sydney, Australia

MEETING LOCATION: http://genealogicalstudies.adobeconnect.com/methodology/
(NOTE: No user name or password required. Please type in your first and last name; then click “Enter as a Guest”.)

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

The last session for the month of July will be the English Records virtual meeting on Tuesday, July 29th at 10:00 AM EDT and hosted by Brenda Wheeler. Join Brenda to ask questions about these record courses and/or your research.

Time zones: Tuesday, July 29th – 10:00 AM Eastern; 9:00 AM Central; 7:00 AM Pacific; 3:00 PM in London, England; Wednesday, July 30th – midnight in Sydney, Australia

MEETING LOCATION: http://genealogicalstudies.adobeconnect.com/english/
(NOTE: No user name or password required. Please type in your first and last name; then click “Enter as a Guest”.)

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Remember, you do not have to be registered in these courses to join a Virtual Meeting … anyone can participate.
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

If you have not attended a Virtual Meeting before, read the Instructions available at www.genealogicalstudies.com/instructions.pdf. If this URL does not open, please go to www.genealogicalstudies.com, click on Information in the top menu bar, and then Virtual Learning Room in the drop down menu. The link to the Instructions (in PDF format) will be at the top right of the page (you may need to scroll over to the right side of the page).

Leave a Reply