The National Institute for Genealogical Studies

LEADERS IN ONLINE GENEALOGY EDUCATION

The National Institute for Genealogical Studies - LEADERS IN ONLINE GENEALOGY EDUCATION

July 2014 Virtual Meetings

Headset Computer Key by Stuart Miles/ Image courtesy of freedigitalphotos.net

Headset Computer Key by Stuart Miles/ Image courtesy of freedigitalphotos.net

 

Here is the list of July’s Virtual Meetings. Mark your calendars for sessions applicable to your area of studies or research!

If you have not attended a Virtual Meeting before, read the Instructions available at www.genealogicalstudies.com/instructions.pdf. If this URL does not open, please go to www.genealogicalstudies.com, click on Information in the top menu bar, and then Virtual Learning Room in the drop down menu. The link to the Instructions (in PDF format) will be at the top right of the page (you may need to scroll over to the right side of the page).

Times given are Eastern Daylight Time. To check the current time and date, Log In to your Student Briefcase and click on “Time at Home Office” near the top right of the page.

Saturday, July 19th with Ruth Blair
1:00 PM EDT All Canadian Record courses
(6:00 PM in London, England; the next day at 3:00 AM in Sydney, Australia)
MEETING LOCATION: http://genealogicalstudies.adobeconnect.com/canadian/
2:00 PM EDT All Irish Record courses
(7:00 PM in London, England; the next day at 4:00 AM in Sydney, Australia)
MEETING LOCATION: http://genealogicalstudies.adobeconnect.com/irish/

Friday, July 25th with Gena Philibert-Ortega
11:00 AM EDT All Methodology courses
(4:00 PM in London, England; the next day at 1:00 AM in Sydney, Australia)
MEETING LOCATION: http://genealogicalstudies.adobeconnect.com/methodology/

Saturday, July 26th with Gena Philibert-Ortega
11:00 AM EDT All Analysis and Skills Mentoring Program – GENERAL
(4:00 PM in London, England; the next day at 1:00 AM in Sydney, Australia)
MEETING LOCATION: http://genealogicalstudies.adobeconnect.com/asgeneral/
Note: This Virtual Meeting is more appropriate for students registered in these courses, as well as the Skills: Transcribing, Abstracting & Extracting course. The instructor will be available to provide guidance and answer questions regarding any aspect of these courses.

12:00 NOON EDT Analysis and Skills Mentoring Program-Part 3 – ARTICLE REVIEW
(5:00 PM in London, England; the next day at 2:00 AM in Sydney, Australia)
MEETING LOCATION: http://genealogicalstudies.adobeconnect.com/asarticle3/
Note: This Virtual Meeting is more appropriate for students registered in this course. Please follow the directions found in your course material and read the article “Identification through Signatures: Using Complex Direct Evidence to Sort Colwills of Cornwall” by Ronald A. Hill (NGSQ Vol. 87, No. 3, September, 1999).

Sunday, July 27th with Gena Philibert-Ortega
12:00 NOON EDT All American Records courses
(5:00 PM in London, England; the next day at 2:00 AM in Sydney, Australia)
MEETING LOCATION: http://genealogicalstudies.adobeconnect.com/american/


2:00 PM EDT Analysis and Skills Mentoring Program-Part 1 – ARTICLE REVIEW
(7:00 PM in London, England; the next day at 4:00 AM in Sydney, Australia)
MEETING LOCATION: http://genealogicalstudies.adobeconnect.com/asarticle1/
Note: This Virtual Meeting is more appropriate for students registered in this course. Please follow the directions found in your course material and read the article “Heritage Books and Family Lore: A Jackson Test in Missouri and Idaho” by Connie Lenzen (NGSQ Vol. 86, No. 1, March, 1998).


3:30 PM EDT Internet Tools (i.e. Connecting Family: Online & Virtually, Google for the Wise Genealogist, and Social Media Tools for the Wise Genealogist)
(8:30 PM in London, England; the next day at 5:30 AM in Sydney, Australia)
MEETING LOCATION: http://genealogicalstudies.adobeconnect.com/internettools/

Monday, July 28th with Brenda Wheeler
8:00 PM EDT All Methodology courses
(The next day at 1:00 AM in London, England; 10:00 AM in Sydney, Australia)
MEETING LOCATION: http://genealogicalstudies.adobeconnect.com/methodology/
Note: This Virtual Meeting is available for the convenience of our Australian & New Zealand students; however, everyone is welcome to participate!

Tuesday, July 29th with Brenda Wheeler
10:00 AM EDT All English Record courses
(3:00 PM in London, England; the next day at midnight in Sydney, Australia)
MEETING LOCATION: http://genealogicalstudies.adobeconnect.com/english/

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

LISTEN ON THE GO!

Want to listen to the student presentation but will not be at your computer? No problem! You can download the FREE Adobe Connect Mobile App from the iTunes App Store (for iPod/iPhone/iPad), from the Google Play Store (for Androids), or from Blackberry World (for Blackberry).

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

See the calendar of future Virtual Meetings sessions at www.genealogicalstudies.com; in the top menu choose INFORMATION and then VIRTUAL LEARNING ROOM in the dropdown menu.

Leave a Reply