The National Institute for Genealogical Studies

LEADERS IN ONLINE GENEALOGY EDUCATION

The National Institute for Genealogical Studies - LEADERS IN ONLINE GENEALOGY EDUCATION

June Virtual Meetings

Are you struggling with your family history research? Do you want to learn more about the research process to find your ancestors? Your questions can be answered at Virtual Meeting relevant to your studies or area of research! See the schedule below for the month of June.

Simple Blue Laptop With Mouse by cuteimage/Image courtesy of FreeDigitalPhotos.net

Simple Blue Laptop With Mouse by cuteimage/Image courtesy of FreeDigitalPhotos.net

Our first virtual meeting for June is this Saturday, June 7th at 11:00 AM EDT where Beverly Rice will hosting the Methodology session. (See details below.) This virtual meeting is appropriate for all student no matter what country you are researching!

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Here is the list of June’s Virtual Meetings. Mark your calendars for sessions applicable to your area of studies or research!

Times given are Eastern Daylight Time. To check the current time and date, Log In to your Student Briefcase and click on “Time at Home Office” near the top right of the page.

Saturday, June 7th with Beverly Rice
11:00 AM EDT All Methodology courses
(4:00 PM in London, England; the next day at 1:00 AM in Sydney, Australia)
MEETING LOCATION: http://genealogicalstudies.adobeconnect.com/methodology/

Monday, June 9th with Gena Philibert-Ortega
3:00 PM EDT Analysis and Skills Mentoring Program-Part 1 – ARTICLE REVIEW
(8:00 PM in London, England; the next day at 5:00 AM in Sydney, Australia)
MEETING LOCATION: http://genealogicalstudies.adobeconnect.com/asarticle1/
Note: This Virtual Meeting is more appropriate for students registered in this course. Please follow the directions found in your course material and read the article “Heritage Books and Family Lore: A Jackson Test in Missouri and Idaho” by Connie Lenzen (NGSQ Vol. 86, No. 1, March, 1998).

Monday, June 9th with Gena Philibert-Ortega
4:00 PM EDT All American Records courses
(9:00 PM in London, England; the next day at 6:00 AM in Sydney, Australia)
MEETING LOCATION: http://genealogicalstudies.adobeconnect.com/american/

Tuesday, June 10th with Gena Philibert-Ortega
3:00 PM EDT Internet Tools (i.e. Connecting Family: Online & Virtually, Google for the Wise Genealogist, and Social Media Tools for the Wise Genealogist)
(8:00 PM in London, England; the next day at 5:00 AM in Sydney, Australia)
MEETING LOCATION: http://genealogicalstudies.adobeconnect.com/internettools/

Sunday, June 15th with Brenda Wheeler
6:00 AM EDT All Methodology courses
(11:00 AM in London, England; 8:00 PM in Sydney, Australia)
MEETING LOCATION: http://genealogicalstudies.adobeconnect.com/methodology/
Note: This Virtual Meeting is available for the convenience of our Australian & New Zealand students; however, everyone is welcome to participate!

Sunday, June 15th with Brenda Wheeler
7:30 AM EDT Analysis and Skills Mentoring Program-Part 1 – ARTICLE REVIEW
(12:30 PM in London, England; 9:30 PM in Sydney, Australia)
MEETING LOCATION: http://genealogicalstudies.adobeconnect.com/asarticle1/
Note: This Virtual Meeting is more appropriate for students registered in this course. Please follow the directions found in your course material and read the article “Heritage Books and Family Lore: A Jackson Test in Missouri and Idaho” by Connie Lenzen (NGSQ Vol. 86, No. 1, March, 1998).

Sunday, June 15th with Brenda Wheeler
8:00 PM EDT All English Record courses
(The next day at 1:00 AM in London, England; 10:00 AM in Sydney, Australia)
MEETING LOCATION: http://genealogicalstudies.adobeconnect.com/english/

Monday, June 16th with Ruth Blair
3:00 PM EDT All Canadian Record courses
(8:00 PM in London, England; the next day at 5:00 AM in Sydney, Australia)
MEETING LOCATION: http://genealogicalstudies.adobeconnect.com/canadian/

Saturday, June 21st with Beverly Rice
11:00 AM EDT All Analysis and Skills Mentoring Program – GENERAL
(4:00 PM in London, England; the next day at 1:00 AM in Sydney, Australia)
MEETING LOCATION: http://genealogicalstudies.adobeconnect.com/asgeneral/
Note: This Virtual Meeting is more appropriate for students registered in these courses, as well as the Skills: Transcribing, Abstracting & Extracting course. The instructor will be available to provide guidance and answer questions regarding any aspect of these courses.

Saturday, June 28th with Beverly Rice
8:30 PM EDT Analysis and Skills Mentoring Program-Part 2 – ARTICLE REVIEW
(The next day at 1:30 AM in London, England; 10:30 AM in Sydney, Australia)
MEETING LOCATION: http://genealogicalstudies.adobeconnect.com/asarticle2/
Note: This Virtual Meeting is more appropriate for students registered in this course. Please follow the directions found in your course material and read the article “Identification through Signatures: Using Complex Direct Evidence to Sort Colwills of Cornwall” by Ronald A. Hill (NGSQ Vol. 87, No. 3, September, 1999).

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

LISTEN ON THE GO!

Want to listen to the student presentation but will not be at your computer? No problem! You can download the FREE Adobe Connect Mobile App from the iTunes App Store (for iPod/iPhone/iPad), from the Google Play Store (for Androids), or from Blackberry World (for Blackberry).

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

See the calendar of future Virtual Meetings sessions at www.genealogicalstudies.com; in the top menu choose INFORMATION and then VIRTUAL LEARNING ROOM in the dropdown menu.

If you have not attended a Virtual Meeting before, read the Instructions available atwww.genealogicalstudies.com/instructions.pdf. If this URL does not open, please go towww.genealogicalstudies.com, click on Information in the top menu bar, and then Virtual Learning Room in the drop down menu. The link to the Instructions (in PDF format) will be at the top right of the page (you may need to scroll over to the right side of the page).

Leave a Reply