The National Institute for Genealogical Studies

LEADERS IN ONLINE GENEALOGY EDUCATION

The National Institute for Genealogical Studies - LEADERS IN ONLINE GENEALOGY EDUCATION

Virtual Meetings This Week

Have you been making note of any questions you may have about your courses and/or research? We have a number of Virtual Meetings scheduled for this week where you have an opportunity to discuss them with an instructor.

Remember, you do not have to be registered in these courses to join a Virtual Meeting … anyone can participate. Hope to see you there!

 

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Gena Philibert-Ortega will start this week off with the Internet Tools Virtual Meeting on Tuesday, March 25th at 7:00 PM EDT. This session will cover the Connecting Family: Online and Virtually, Google for the Wise Genealogist, and Social Media Tools for the Wise Genealogist courses and much more! This is a great session if you want to ask questions about or learning more on using the Internet for your genealogical research.

Time zones: Tuesday, March 25th – 7:00 PM Eastern; 6:00 PM Central; 4:00 PM Pacific; 11:00 PM in London, England; Wednesday, March 26th – 10:00 AM in Sydney, Australia

MEETING LOCATION: http://genealogicalstudies.adobeconnect.com/internettools/
(NOTE: No user name or password required. Please type in your first and last name; then click “Enter as a Guest”.)


~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
On Wednesday, March 26th at 11:00 AM EDT Beverly Rice will be hosting the Methodology Virtual Meeting. Join her to ask questions about these courses, organizing, skill-building, strategies, proving it, transcribing, abstracting, extracting, culture, folklore, writing your family history, and so much more. This session is appropriate for all students, no matter what country you are researching in.

Time zones: Wednesday, March 26th – 11:00 AM Eastern; 10:00 AM Central; 8:00 AM Pacific; 3:00 PM in London, England; Thursday, March 27th – 2:00 AM in Sydney, Australia

MEETING LOCATION: http://genealogicalstudies.adobeconnect.com/methodology/
(NOTE: No user name or password required. Please type in your first and last name; then click “Enter as a Guest”.)
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
On Thursday, March 27th at 4:00 PM EDT Ruth Blair will be hosting the Canadian Record Virtual Meeting. Do you have questions about these courses or your Canadian research? Do you have ancestors who lived in border states and then disappeared? Perhaps they were in Canada! Join this session to discuss the possibility with Ruth and your fellow students.

Time zones: Thursday, March 27th – 4:00 PM Eastern; 3:00 PM Central; 1:00 PM Pacific; 8:00 PM in London, England; Friday, March 28th – 7:00 AM in Sydney, Australia

MEETING LOCATION: http://genealogicalstudies.adobeconnect.com/canadian/
(NOTE: No user name or password required. Please type in your first and last name; then click “Enter as a Guest”.)
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Then at 5:00 PM EDT on Thursday, March 27th Ruth Blair will be hosting the Irish Records Virtual Meeting. Join her to ask questions about these courses and/or your hard to find Irish ancestors.

Time zones: Thursday, March 27th – 5:00 PM Eastern; 4:00 PM Central; 2:00 PM Pacific; 9:00 PM in London, England; Friday, March 28th – 8:00 AM in Sydney, Australia

MEETING LOCATION: http://genealogicalstudies.adobeconnect.com/irish/
(NOTE: No user name or password required. Please type in your first and last name; then click “Enter as a Guest”.)
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
And, finally our last session for the month will be on Friday, March 28th at 11:00 AM EDT when Beverly Rice will be hosting the Analysis & Skills Mentoring Program-Part 3 – ARTICLE REVIEW.

Please note that this session is more appropriate for students registered in this course. Please follow the directions found in your course material and read the article “Identification through Signatures: Using Complex Direct Evidence to Sort Colwills of Cornwall” by Ronald A. Hill (NGSQ Vol. 87, No. 3, September, 1999). To get the most out of this session, you would have read this article more than once!

Time zones: Friday, March 28th – 11:00 AM Eastern; 10:00 AM Central; 8:00 AM Pacific; 3:00 PM in London, England; Saturday, March 29th – 2:00 AM in Sydney, Australia

MEETING LOCATION: http://genealogicalstudies.adobeconnect.com/asarticle3/
(NOTE: No user name or password required. Please type in your first and last name; then click “Enter as a Guest”.)

 
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
See the calendar of future Virtual Meetings sessions at www.genealogicalstudies.com; in the top menu choose INFORMATION and then VIRTUAL LEARNING ROOM in the dropdown menu.

If you have not attended a Virtual Meeting before, read the Instructions available at www.genealogicalstudies.com/instructions.pdf. If this URL does not open, please go to www.genealogicalstudies.com, click on Information in the top menu bar, and then Virtual Learning Room in the drop down menu. The link to the Instructions (in PDF format) will be at the top right of the page (you may need to scroll over to the right side of the page).

Leave a Reply