The National Institute for Genealogical Studies

LEADERS IN ONLINE GENEALOGY EDUCATION

The National Institute for Genealogical Studies - LEADERS IN ONLINE GENEALOGY EDUCATION

Virtual Meetings This Week

Courtesy of  jannoon028/freedigitalphotos.net

Courtesy of jannoon028/freedigitalphotos.net

 

We have three Virtual Meetings schedules for Sunday and Monday. Hope you can join us for one. Remember, these Virtual Meetings are NOT mandatory. They are a fun and interactive way for our students to have an opportunity to ask our instructors questions about the courses and/or research at an applicable session.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Brenda Wheeler will start off early on Sunday, March 16th at 6:00 AM EDT with the Methodology Virtual Meeting. Yes, the time is correct! Please note that this session has been made available for the convenience of our Australian & New Zealand students; however, everyone is welcome to participate!

Brenda will be available to answer your questions about the Methodology courses, organizing your research, skill-building, research strategies, effective searching & recording, proving it, copyright, folklore, planning a research trip, transcribing, abstracting, extracting and much more.

Time zones: Sunday, March 16th – 6:00 AM Eastern; 5:00 AM Central; 3:00 AM Pacific;10:00 AM in London, England; 9:00 PM in Sydney, Australia

MEETING LOCATION: http://genealogicalstudies.adobeconnect.com/methodology/
(NOTE: No user name or password required. Please type in your first and last name; then click “Enter as a Guest”.)

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Brenda Wheeler is back at 7:00 PM EDT on Sunday, March 16th for the English Records Virtual Meeting. Join her to ask questions and discuss these courses and/or your research.

Time zones: Sunday, March 16th – 7:00 PM Eastern; 6:00 PM Central; 4:00 PM Pacific;11:00 PM in London, England; Monday, March 17th – 10:00 AM in Sydney, Australia

MEETING LOCATION: http://genealogicalstudies.adobeconnect.com/english/
(NOTE: No user name or password required. Please type in your first and last name; then click “Enter as a Guest”.)

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Then Brenda Wheeler is back once more on Monday, March 17th at 5:00 AM for the Analysis and Skills Mentoring Program-Part 1 – ARTICLE REVIEW. Yes, the time is correct again. This is another session that has been made available for the convenience of our Australian & New Zealand students; however, everyone is welcome to participate!

Please note that this particular session is more appropriate for students registered in the Analysis and Skills Mentoring Program-Part 1 course. Please follow the directions found in your course material and read the article “Heritage Books and Family Lore: A Jackson Test in Missouri and Idaho” by Connie Lenzen (NGSQ Vol. 86, No. 1, March, 1998).

Time zones: Monday, March 17th – 5:00 AM Eastern; 4:00 AM Central; 2:00 AM Pacific; 9:00 AM in London, England; 8:00 PM in Sydney, Australia

MEETING LOCATION: http://genealogicalstudies.adobeconnect.com/asarticle1/
(NOTE: No user name or password required. Please type in your first and last name; then click “Enter as a Guest”.)

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

NOTE REGARDING THE CANADIAN & IRISH VIRTUAL MEETINGS IN MARCH:
Please note there has been a date change. These two sessions are now scheduled forThursday, March 27th at the same time as initially scheduled.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Remember, you do not have to be registered in these courses to join a Virtual Meeting … anyone can participate. Hope to see you there!

To enter the Virtual Learning Room for the session you would like to attend, please click on the Location link or enter the Location URL into your browser. (No user name or password required; “Enter as a Guest”)

NOTE: Please sign in with your first AND last names when joining a Virtual Meeting. This will help the instructor know who is attending the session and help everyone differentiate between individuals with the same name. (No user name or password required. Please type in your first and last name; then click “Enter as a Guest”.)

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Virtual Meeting sessions coming up…

Below is the list of the March sessions. Be sure to mark your calendars!

Times given are Eastern Daylight Time. To check the current time and date, Log In to your Student Briefcase and click on “Time at Home Office” near the top right of the page.

Sunday, March 16th with Brenda Wheeler
6:00 AM All Methodology courses
(10:00 AM in London, England; 9:00 PM in Sydney, Australia)
Note: This Virtual Meeting is available for the convenience of our Australian & New Zealand students; however, everyone is welcome to participate!
MEETING LOCATION: http://genealogicalstudies.adobeconnect.com/methodology/
7:00 PM All English Record courses
(11:00 PM in London, England; 10:00 AM the next day in Sydney, Australia)
MEETING LOCATION: http://genealogicalstudies.adobeconnect.com/english/

Monday, March 17th with Brenda Wheeler
5:00 AM Analysis and Skills Mentoring Program-Part 1 – ARTICLE REVIEW
(9:00 AM in London, England; 8:00 PM in Sydney, Australia)
Note: This Virtual Meeting is available for the convenience of our Australian & New Zealand students; however, everyone is welcome to participate!
MEETING LOCATION: http://genealogicalstudies.adobeconnect.com/asarticle1/

Sunday, March 23rd with Gena Philibert-Ortega
3:00 PM Analysis and Skills Mentoring Program-Part 1 – ARTICLE REVIEW
(7:00 PM in London, England; 6:00 AM the next day in Sydney, Australia)
MEETING LOCATION: http://genealogicalstudies.adobeconnect.com/asarticle1/
5:00 PM All American Records courses
(9:00 PM in London, England; 8:00 AM the next day in Sydney, Australia)
MEETING LOCATION: http://genealogicalstudies.adobeconnect.com/american/

Tuesday, March 25th with Gena Philibert-Ortega
7:00 PM Internet Tools (i.e. Connecting Family: Online & Virtually, Google for the Wise Genealogist, and Social Media Tools for the Wise Genealogist)
(11:00 PM in London, England; 10:00 AM the next day in Sydney, Australia)
MEETING LOCATION: http://genealogicalstudies.adobeconnect.com/internettools/

Wednesday, March 26th with Beverly Rice
11:00 AM All Methodology courses
(3:00 PM in London, England; 2:00 AM the next day in Sydney, Australia)
MEETING LOCATION: http://genealogicalstudies.adobeconnect.com/methodology/

Thursday, March 27th with Ruth Blair
***** PLEASE NOTE THE DATE CHANGE *****
4:00 PM All Canadian Record courses
(8:00 PM in London, England; 7:00 AM the next day in Sydney, Australia)
MEETING LOCATION: http://genealogicalstudies.adobeconnect.com/canadian/
5:00 PM All Irish Record courses
(9:00 PM in London, England; 8:00 AM the next day in Sydney, Australia)
MEETING LOCATION: http://genealogicalstudies.adobeconnect.com/irish/

Friday, March 28th with Beverly Rice
11:00 AM Analysis and Skills Mentoring Program-Part 3 – ARTICLE REVIEW
(3:00 PM in London, England; 2:00 AM the next day in Sydney, Australia)
MEETING LOCATION: http://genealogicalstudies.adobeconnect.com/asarticle3/

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

See the calendar of future Virtual Meetings sessions at www.genealogicalstudies.com; in the top menu choose INFORMATION and then VIRTUAL LEARNING ROOM in the dropdown menu.

If you have not attended a Virtual Meeting before, read the Instructions available atwww.genealogicalstudies.com/instructions.pdf. If this URL does not open, please go towww.genealogicalstudies.com, click on Information in the top menu bar, and then Virtual Learning Room in the drop down menu. The link to the Instructions (in PDF format) will be at the top right of the page (you may need to scroll over to the right side of the page).

Leave a Reply