The National Institute for Genealogical Studies

LEADERS IN ONLINE GENEALOGY EDUCATION

The National Institute for Genealogical Studies - LEADERS IN ONLINE GENEALOGY EDUCATION

Join Us!: Virtual Meetings February 10-13, 2014

Courtesy of  jannoon028/freedigitalphotos.net

Laptop with white screen. Courtesy of jannoon028/freedigitalphotos.net

We have a few virtual meetings this week. Join us at an appropriate session to have questions answered about your courses and/or research.

We also have a special session on Tuesday, February 11th where you can ask fellow student, Shannon Bennett, about her experience taking the Lecturing Skills Including Preparation course. See below for further details.
Remember, you do not have to be registered in these courses to join a Virtual Meeting … anyone can participate. Hope to see you there!

To enter the Virtual Learning Room for the session you would like to attend, please click on the Location link or enter the Location URL into your browser. (No user name or password required; “Enter as a Guest”)

NOTE: Please sign in with your first AND last names when joining a Virtual Meeting. This will help the instructor know who is attending the session and help everyone differentiate between individuals with the same name. (No user name or password required. Please type in your first and last name; then click “Enter as a Guest”.)
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Ruth Blair starts off the week at 7:00 PM EST on Monday, February 10th with the Canadian Record virtual meeting. Join her to discuss these courses, as well as your research. Perhaps you have American ancestors that entered North America via one on Canada’s ports of entry! This would be the session you will want to attend!

Time zones: Monday, February 10th – 7:00 PM Eastern; 6:00 PM Central; 4:00 PM Pacific;Tuesday, February 11th – midnight in London, England; 11:00 AM in Sydney, Australia

MEETING LOCATION: http://genealogicalstudies.adobeconnect.com/canadian/
(NOTE: No user name or password required. Please type in your first and last name; then click “Enter as a Guest”.)
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Early on Tuesday, February 11th at 5:00 AM EST Brenda Wheeler will be hosting the Methodology virtual meeting. Please note this Virtual Meeting is available for the convenience of our Australian & New Zealand students; however, everyone is welcome to participate!

No matter which country your research is in, the methodology behind the research is necessary! Brenda will be discussing and answering questions about organizing, skill-building, transcribing, abstracting, extracting, research strategies, effective searching and recording, how to prove it, and much more.

Time zones: Tuesday, February 11th – 5:00 AM Eastern; 4:00 AM Central; 2:00 AM Pacific; -10:00 AM in London, England; 9:00 PM in Sydney, Australia

MEETING LOCATION: http://genealogicalstudies.adobeconnect.com/methodology/
(NOTE: No user name or password required. Please type in your first and last name; then click “Enter as a Guest”.)
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Have you been reading the National Institute’s blog posts and following along as Shannon Bennett takes the Lecturing Skills Including Preparation course? Think you may want to take this course but not sure what to expect?

On Tuesday, February 11th at 10:00 AM EST Gena Philibert-Ortega will be hosting this session with Shannon Bennett discussing and answering questions about her experiences with the Lecturing Skills Including Preparation course.

Time zones: Tuesday, February 11th – 10:00 AM Eastern; 9:00 AM Central; 7:00 AM Pacific; – 3:00 PM in London, England; Wednesday, February 12th – 2:00 AM in Sydney, Australia

MEETING LOCATION: http://genealogicalstudies.adobeconnect.com/lecturing/
(NOTE: No user name or password required. Please type in your first and last name; then click “Enter as a Guest”.)
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Gena Philibert-Ortega is back on Wednesday, February 12th to host two virtual meetings. The first session, American Records, starts at 8:30 PM EST. Gena will be available to answer your questions about these courses and/or your research.

Time zones: Wednesday, February 12th – 8:30 PM Eastern; 7:30 PM Central; 5:30 PMPacific; – Thursday, February 13th – 1:30 AM in London, England; 12:30 PM in Sydney, Australia

MEETING LOCATION: http://genealogicalstudies.adobeconnect.com/american/
(NOTE: No user name or password required. Please type in your first and last name; then click “Enter as a Guest”.)
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
At 10:00 PM EST on Wednesday, February 12th Gena Philibert-Ortega will be hosting the Analysis and Skills Mentoring Program-Part 1 – ARTICLE REVIEW. This particular session is more appropriate for students registered in this course. Please follow the directions found in your course materials and read the article “Heritage Books and Family Lore: A Jackson Test in Missouri and Idaho” by Connie Lenzen (NGSQ Vol. 86, No. 1, March, 1998).

Time zones: Wednesday, February 12th – 10:00 PM Eastern; 9:00 PM Central; 7:00 PMPacific; – Thursday, February 13th – 3:00 AM in London, England; 2:00 PM in Sydney, Australia

MEETING LOCATION: http://genealogicalstudies.adobeconnect.com/asarticle1/
(NOTE: No user name or password required. Please type in your first and last name; then click “Enter as a Guest”.)
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Then on Thursday, February 13th at 11:00 AM EST Beverly Rice will be hosting the Analysis and Skills Mentoring Program – GENERAL. At this session Beverly will be available to answer your questions about all three courses, as well as evidence analysis, the Genealogical Proof Standard, citations, ethics, timelines, transcribing, abstracting, extracting, proof summaries, and much more.

Time zones: Thursday, February 13th – 11:00 AM Eastern; 10:00 AM Central; 8:00 AMPacific; – 4:00 PM in London, England; Friday, February 14th – 3:00 AM in Sydney, Australia

MEETING LOCATION: http://genealogicalstudies.adobeconnect.com/asgeneral/
(NOTE: No user name or password required. Please type in your first and last name; then click “Enter as a Guest”.)
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

 

 

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Virtual Meeting sessions coming up…

Below is the list of the remaining  February sessions. Be sure to mark your calendars!

Times given are Eastern Standard Time. To check the current time and date, Log In to your Student Briefcase and click on “Time at Home Office” near the top right of the page.

 

Saturday, February 15th with Sheena Tait
4:00 PM All Scottish Record courses
(9:00 PM in London, England; 8:00 AM the next day in Sydney, Australia)
MEETING LOCATION: http://genealogicalstudies.adobeconnect.com/ scottish/

Monday, February 17th with Beverly Rice
11:00 AM Analysis and Skills Mentoring Program-Part 2 – ARTICLE REVIEW
(4:00 PM in London, England; 3:00 AM the next day in Sydney, Australia)
MEETING LOCATION: http://genealogicalstudies.adobeconnect.com/asarticle2/

Tuesday, February 18th with Brenda Wheeler
8:00 PM All English Record courses
(The next day at 1:00 AM in London, England; Noon in Sydney, Australia)
MEETING LOCATION: http://genealogicalstudies.adobeconnect.com/english/

Wednesday, February 19th with Gena Philibert-Ortega
10:00 PM Internet Tools (i.e. Connecting Family: Online & Virtually, Google for the Wise Genealogist, and Social Media Tools for the Wise Genealogist)
(The next day at 3:00 AM in London, England; 2:00 PM in Sydney, Australia)
MEETING LOCATION: http://genealogicalstudies.adobeconnect.com/internettools/

Thursday, February 27th with Beverly Rice
8:30 PM All Methodology courses
(The next day at 1:30 AM in London, England; 12:30 PM in Sydney, Australia)
MEETING LOCATION: http://genealogicalstudies.adobeconnect.com/methodology/
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

 

Leave a Reply