The National Institute for Genealogical Studies

LEADERS IN ONLINE GENEALOGY EDUCATION

The National Institute for Genealogical Studies - LEADERS IN ONLINE GENEALOGY EDUCATION

Join us for a Presentation on Virginia Chancery Records

The National Institute for Genealogical Studies course, Lecturing Skills Including Preparation, teaches the skills needed to present genealogically related lectures. It is a “hands on” course where the student presents a lecture via our Virtual Learning Room. We have a few student presentations coming up in the next week and a half. We invite you to participate and hear your fellow students. These are 30-minute lectures, followed by a 10-minute Question & Answer period and a short poll to provide the student with feedback on their skills. Please come and support your fellow students!

Shannon Bennett. Used with permission.

Shannon Bennett. Used with permission.

Come out and support Shannon Bennett who will give the presentation, “Overview of Virginia Chancery Records” on Thursday, January 9th at 8:30 PM EST.

Chancery Records are an excellent resource for Virginia research. Cases involve the division of items equally. You will learn how they could be the key to finding your Virginia ancestors.
Presenter: Shannon DC Bennett speaks and writes on various topics. Her blog, Trials and Tribulations of a Self-Taught Family Historian, discusses her research and interesting genealogical tid-bits. You can follow Shannon on Twitter @tntfamhist.

Time zones: Thursday, January 9th – 8:30 PM Eastern; 7:30 PM Central; 5:30 PM Pacific;Friday, January 10th – 1:30 AM in London, England; 12:30 PM in Sydney, Australia

MEETING LOCATION: http://genealogicalstudies.adobeconnect.com/lecturing/
(NOTE: No user name or password required. Please type in your first and last name; then click “Enter as a Guest”.)

This is an excellent learning experience for all involved–the student presenter and the audience! We all can learn new and interesting tidbits, even from topics that are not in our area of research.

GSG banner
We would like to thank Diana Crisman Smith of the Genealogical Speakers Guild for being actively involved in our student presentations. Learn more about the Genealogical Speakers Guild at their website.

Leave a Reply